The Watch Thread - Part 3

balzebub

Hi Everyone

Any idea if there are ADs still carrying the 2254.50?

Looking at Omega and their current PO but still prefer the sword hands on the 2254.50..

Any help is much appreciated, have a good start to the week!
Sword hands Omega Seamasters have gone the way of the dinosaur many years ago already. The current generation of Seamaster pro 300m with ceramic bezel and non-wave dial is the latest version with 2500d movments.

So the 2254.50 with sword hands confirmed cannot be found BNIB in stores here liao lah. Can only hunt for used ones for around 2k to 2k plus i guess

balzebub

Anyone here owned russian watches? Is the quality good? Found very little info on it..

u can go red army watches and molest them lor, they got vostok, poljot etc most of them are very nice; price wise i got no comments; just do your homework and consider all channels for purchase as well as warranty servicing issues before buying.

Seannie

Quartz watches are powered by batteries and they rely on the vibrations of a quartz crystal to keep time. Quartz watches are normally very accurate in that they hardly gain or lose any seconds over a period of time. Quartz watches are quite a recent innovation, only appearing in the last 40+ years.

Mechanical watches are typically more expensive than quartz watches due in part to the greater complexity and craftsmanship of the movement. The most expensive watches are almost always mechanical ones. So why would anyone pay so much more money for a (mechanical) watch that is less accurate (than a quartz watch) ?

It all depends on what you want out of that device on your wrist :D

I prefer quartz watches as i need time accuracy, else i wouldnt be able to leave my office on the dot. My boss installed cctvs all over. If my watch happened to be faster than it should be, i will be in real trouble captured on cctv. :s13:

messi7

Is ball watch worth to get?

I'm aiming the trainmaster 60 seconds ii:
ovz2.jpg

angzhenhan

Go the quartz way if you want to save money. Automatic needs servicing every ~5 years.
If you want a maintenance free and highly accurate timepiece, quartz is your choice. I would pick a Grand Seiko quartz if I need a quartz watch but now, I am happy with my automatic.
Thanks!:) What do you bros think of luminox watches? Are they worth the price?

SpOrTsTeR79

For ball watch, I prefer the trainmaster roman.

Worthy or not is subjective, but its definitely a good watch maker. Heard lotsa god reviews ant their customer service.

pathfinder6

Sword hands Omega Seamasters have gone the way of the dinosaur many years ago already. The current generation of Seamaster pro 300m with ceramic bezel and non-wave dial is the latest version with 2500d movments.

So the 2254.50 with sword hands confirmed cannot be found BNIB in stores here liao lah. Can only hunt for used ones for around 2k to 2k plus i guess

Thanks for sharing, been looking at pre-owned market and it seems to be going around 2.6k but hoping to land something below 2k.

The search continues ;-)

Velton

I prefer quartz watches as i need time accuracy, else i wouldnt be able to leave my office on the dot. My boss installed cctvs all over. If my watch happened to be faster than it should be, i will be in real trouble captured on cctv. :s13:

got access to the cctvs? change the cctvs time? :D

Henabi

Thanks for sharing, been looking at pre-owned market and it seems to be going around 2.6k but hoping to land something below 2k.

The search continues ;-)

try sg-roc market? private owners maybe able to nego a bit more if they see that you're a sincere buyer

whiteblackred

if u got an IWC and u try to sell it, the price is really bad, in relation to the "demand" of the IWC branding.

fabiaN__

Hi Everyone

Any idea if there are ADs still carrying the 2254.50?

Looking at Omega and their current PO but still prefer the sword hands on the 2254.50..

Any help is much appreciated, have a good start to the week!

Discontinued for a few years liao.

Can be found pre-owned for around $2.3k to $2.6k though.

sHaDy69

Hope some experts can help out here kinda confused.
IWC very chui meh?wanted to get a IWC but my friends keep telling me don't waste $$$ rolex better value...but i buy to wear not for resell...is the resale value that important?

Samfreak

Hope some experts can help out here kinda confused.
IWC very chui meh?wanted to get a IWC but my friends keep telling me don't waste $$$ rolex better value...but i buy to wear not for resell...is the resale value that important?

You're right. Just buy and wear whichever you're happy with. Don't buy something with 'resale value' and end up unhappy with it. The watch with the best 'resale value' are the $2 ones from Daiso. Change a new one every month and you 'lose' just $24 per year. The watch will tell time as good if not better than the Rolex.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.