The Watch Thread - Part 3

This Is Fate

hi guys! currently have a flieger with cosc 40mm. was looking to get something new this time. what do you guys think? something casual would be great but im also leaning towards their handwound 6498 with small second displayed.
any recommendations?

i have ordered a stowa 6498 flieger with small seconds...

Flieger_Unitas6498_oldstyle.jpg

balzebub

Never look at Rolex much, but how much is this piece:
20C97AAB-DA42-4857-B459-AB13BBADCE14-928-00000047343621BD_zpsbfcb9a03.jpg

And which is a better buy compared to this one from Cartier that retails for $7,200 with 5% discount (bracelet version):
6FEB3F74-4E21-461D-B9EB-F092BB086CB6-936-0000004AA194BA02_zpsa1d6b3ff.jpg

fabiaN__

Guys ah... where to polish off scratches ah? Yesterday accidentally bump my new watch, got hairline scratch :sad:

can get cape cod cloth... but, no point... the scratches will be back in no time!

just get the watch polished when you send it in for servicing N years down the road. BUT.. maybe by then, you already hoot new watches liao...

conclusion: just wear first lah. haha :)

Outliers

Hey, do you think it feel good to be admitting that i cant afford a few thousand dollars of watch here? That is why i provided a long winded description in my much earlier post of what i am looking for, hoping to get some helpful info, but looks like im only being shot with loads of yellowish sarcasm here. If really read my post, would have known what im toking.

If cant understand my posts, then just forget about the whole damned thing. Im better off without a watch.

I have been reading the first half of the pages of this thread and can't help but find your posts rather impolite. I feel that the way you ask for help is not really appropriate. The pros here are nice enough to recommend us (noobs) watches so I usually very polite and ask them nicely and appreciate their help too.. You make it sound like you are paying the people here to recommend you a watch. I think those who were willing to help you, really have big hearts.

Outliers

Seiko Quartz Mens Watch SGEF87P2 SGEF87P SGEF87

sgef87p2_1.jpg

ALBA Prestige Mens Watch AS9293X1 AS9293X
as9293x1.jpg

Casio Mens Quartz Analog Dress Watch MTP-1274D-7A MTP1274D
mtp-1274d-7a.gif

Thank you. May I know if Orient is a good brand for a budget of 100 - 150? I am looking for a classy and simple watch that looks decent.

Should I stick to a good brand or buy an unknown brand that looks good.

Thanks for your help people..

ahboy82

Thank you. May I know if Orient is a good brand for a budget of 100 - 150? I am looking for a classy and simple watch that looks decent.

this u have to think abt the person u buying for, is he or she a brand conscious person? that would give u the answer isnt it?

Paladium

Yes for your budget can get a decent Orient watch, up your budget by $50 and you can get the bambino series which is as classy and simple as you can get.

Important thing is you liking the look of the watch cause you will be looking at it most of the time. If you don't like the design then it doesn't matter how good the brand is.

heynewoet

Hi guys, is there a strict price control for Tissot watches now?:s11: I was quoted abt 15% off from AD for Tissot Visodate. or maybe ish time to touch up my negotiating skills :D

Henabi

Orient is pretty well known in the States, Europe and Japan. I see them as the Asian version of "Germany Maunfacturers".
Producing high quality watches at very affordable pricings, which i feel is even lower than seiko.
And the build, imo, i feel is much better than seiko.

In Singapore, there is a niche group of Orient lovers. Some of them are right here in this thread :)
Including my dad as well... recently bought him an Orient Star and he loved it.

If you cant decide...head down to mustafa and line up the watches in front of you and try them 1-by-1... that was what i did at mustafa when i wanna buy a watch for my younger sister a few months back...settled for a classy A|X dress watch.

balzebub

Orient is pretty well known in the States, Europe and Japan. I see them as the Asian version of "Germany Maunfacturers".
Producing high quality watches at very affordable pricings, which i feel is even lower than seiko.

In Singapore, there is a niche group of Orient lovers. Some of them are right here in this thread :)

If you cant decide...head down to mustafa and line up the watches in front of you and try them 1-by-1... that was what i did at mustafa when i wanna buy a watch for my younger sister a few months back...settled for a classy A|X dress watch.
Yup Orient is good value for money my gripe is their entry level pieces all use non handwind and hacking movements

Outliers

Yes for your budget can get a decent Orient watch, up your budget by $50 and you can get the bambino series which is as classy and simple as you can get.

Important thing is you liking the look of the watch cause you will be looking at it most of the time. If you don't like the design then it doesn't matter how good the brand is.

glad to hear that! well... where should I get Orient watches? a place with more selection that i can try..

Outliers

yeap. Awesome. Their watches fit my budget and my preference which is fantastic. Mustafa ar? is it cheaper there? or fake one.... sorry but my impression of mustafa is like that..=:p

Outliers

Bambino series got import to SG? I seen some of the websites they don have leh...

hwaa

yeap. Awesome. Their watches fit my budget and my preference which is fantastic. Mustafa ar? is it cheaper there? or fake one.... sorry but my impression of mustafa is like that..=:p

then your impression is really wrong. u should go walk around more often... =:p

Outliers

then your impression is really wrong. u should go walk around more often... =:p

how to know if the watches are real or fake ar? is there any shops in mustafa that you recommend? since so many counters there.. haha

hwaa

how to know if the watches are real or fake ar? is there any shops in mustafa that you recommend? since so many counters there.. haha

there is no shops in mustafa, all housed under one roof. theres a orient counter there, watches are from them itself putting there to sell, if not just head to big time at geylang there.. they are the main orient watch distributor.

how to know if they are fake? good question, they offer warranty.. so as far as i know... they are warrantied products by agent itself.

and then, mustafa is sooooooooooooooooooooo damnnn rich that i doubt they will sell fake products.

hwaa

i've bought many things from mustafa before from tv to bluray to watches to gps to soundbar to fans to printers. so far all are warranty from agent.

my printer recently got problem and the canon peeps came up and rectify.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.