The Watch Thread - Part 4

rayong

Hoping everyone to be healthy.

Wanna spend more time and go on vacation with the family. will be going to Japan twice - each time with different side of our family. March trip with my folks and our kids, June trip with my in-laws and our kids. Also to catch up with my japanese friends and ex-working partners...... maybe can sneak out and go watch an AKB48 theatre performance :D

My parents prefer I give them cash than buy a watch for them, and also need to replace my parents' car. COE expiring early next year. Most probably looking at an MPV for them - toyota wish or honda stream.

Finally, really to free up time for my family. Gonna go at a slower pace for my career now - the kids' growing years do not wait, my parents' aging process also do not wait. They want our time more than our money - that's the truth.

As for watches.......can't seem to find anything that I definitely want to buy (except the IWC perpetual calendar but kena flamed here a lot:s22:), so will still look around for something affordable....honestly I don't really like the PP dress watches. Will see how it goes.

sorry ah uncle very lor sor.

Very good logic there. I think once you've got a family, everything falls into perspective.

I say go for the IWC then. If you desire it so much, it's better than anything even PP can offer. Wear it in good health

TeenTitan01

Hoping everyone to be healthy.

Wanna spend more time and go on vacation with the family. will be going to Japan twice - each time with different side of our family. March trip with my folks and our kids, June trip with my in-laws and our kids. Also to catch up with my japanese friends and ex-working partners...... maybe can sneak out and go watch an AKB48 theatre performance :D

My parents prefer I give them cash than buy a watch for them, and also need to replace my parents' car. COE expiring early next year. Most probably looking at an MPV for them - toyota wish or honda stream.

Finally, really to free up time for my family. Gonna go at a slower pace for my career now - the kids' growing years do not wait, my parents' aging process also do not wait. They want our time more than our money - that's the truth.

As for watches.......can't seem to find anything that I definitely want to buy (except the IWC perpetual calendar but kena flamed here a lot:s22:), so will still look around for something affordable....honestly I don't really like the PP dress watches. Will see how it goes.

sorry ah uncle very lor sor.

good on you! you've settled on your priorities that allows you to meet your own goals & happiness.

yes, i did speak up against the iwc portugese perpetual calender from my pov & justified it as being too big, too thick, dial too busy with multi-hands in the subdials.

on the other hand, for eg, the jlc master ultra thin perpetual calender has all the key properties of a dress watch: right size (39mm), thin, low profile & sleek enough to slip under those french cuffs & not to shout, and a classier, well-proportioned, cleaner dial.

it happens to have a 4-digit year as well, so their comparison is inevitable.

from a brand pov jlc already >> iwc.

it's for the above points that i am not in favour of the iwc, or even the new mont blanc meisterstuck heritage perpetual calender.

perpetual calenders are meant to be show off pieces of horological achievement and are costly. it's really important to get the right one which means branding is even more important, with you being a self-proclaimed brand hor & all.

just my considered opinion.

certainly if the iwc speaks to you, go right ahead. it's always your watch, and wearing it has to put a smile on your face.

just get out there and see how each look on your wrist before deciding.

happy hunting! :D

ps. see i told everyone so, right? what eat grass for 3 yrs? less than 3 months liao, yattokame kor kor's hands itching for another watch already. roflmao! :D

ComicBoy

good on you! you've settled on your priorities that allows you to meet your own goals & happiness.

yes, i did speak up against the iwc portugese perpetual calender from my pov & justified it as being too big, too thick, dial too busy with multi-hands in the subdials.

on the other hand, for eg, the jlc master ultra thin perpetual calender has all the key properties of a dress watch: right size (39mm), thin, low profile & sleek enough to slip under those french cuffs & not to shout, and a classier, well-proportioned, cleaner dial.

it's for the above points that i am not in favour of the iwc, or even the new mont blanc meisterstuck heritage perpetual calender.

perpetual calenders are meant to be show off pieces of horological achievement and are costly. it's really important to get the right one which means branding is even more important, with you being a self-proclaimed brand hor & all.

certainly if the iwc speaks to you, go right ahead. it's always your watch, and wearing it has to put a smile on your face.

ps. see i told everyone so, right? what eat grass for 3 yrs? less than 3 months liao, yattokame kor kor's hands itching for another watch already. roflmao! :D

Hi Bro TT01

Thanks for sharing your frank opinion. This is precisely what I like about this forum .... we all agree to disagree.

Like Bro yattokame, I am also biased towards to IWC PC, in particular the IWC Petit Prince PC.

IWC Schaffhausen | Fine Timepieces From Switzerland | Collection | Pilot

IWC-Big-Pilot-Perpetual-Petit-Prince-IW502802-01.jpg

Will share with all bros here when I make my decision!

yattokame

might get from grey dealer or preowned.......
Found several websites that sell it for 37k, while AD quote me 47k (unlike the PP's >45k versus 40k).
Still wanna look around. The PP is serving me very well. Honestly unlikely to buy so soon lah. gotta pay for the family vacations (paying for everyone) which is better than spending on a watch :)

oh yes, hoping to self-initiate a few more charity stuff of my own. Last year I exchanged a brand new Boxy winder for 10 packets of adult diapers; am thinking of exchanging my current 6-winders for milk powder and diapers for needy children, then I go buy new one or just stack many boxy winders (max is 24 issit?). but then it's like wasting money eh? boxy winders aint cheap.

yattokame

Pagani_Z0nda

Don't blame yatto lah... It the poison, sooo lethal .... sooo incontrollable.... :s8:

The antidote to cure this irresistible urge is to buy and curb it for awhile. Next thing you know, the poison relapses and you'd have too seacrh for "antidote" again..... :s12::o

Hais we live in a world full of different "poisons" :s22:

TeenTitan01

Hi Bro TT01

Thanks for sharing your frank opinion. This is precisely what I like about this forum .... we all agree to disagree.

Like Bro yattokame, I am also biased towards to IWC PC, in particular the IWC Petit Prince PC.

IWC Schaffhausen | Fine Timepieces From Switzerland | Collection | Pilot

IWC-Big-Pilot-Perpetual-Petit-Prince-IW502802-01.jpg

Will share with all bros here when I make my decision!

it's your $$$ and the most important thing is wearing your watch must make YOU happy.

personal items must elicit good emotional feelings/response.

taste evolve, and mine surely will, so never say never, but not at this point in time.

at the risk of sounding dogmatic or overly prescriptive, i have to add that a dress watch should eschew arabic numerals and have baton/stick markers instead. slim, tall numerals are still acceptable, from an aesthetic pov.

reason: i associate arabic numeral dials with tool/pilot/military/task oriented watches.

again just my pov. ymmv.

Vanilla Way

might get from grey dealer or preowned.......
Found several websites that sell it for 37k, while AD quote me 47k (unlike the PP's >45k versus 40k).
Still wanna look around. The PP is serving me very well. Honestly unlikely to buy so soon lah. gotta pay for the family vacations (paying for everyone) which is better than spending on a watch :)

oh yes, hoping to self-initiate a few more charity stuff of my own. Last year I exchanged a brand new Boxy winder for 10 packets of adult diapers; am thinking of exchanging my current 6-winders for milk powder and diapers for needy children, then I go buy new one or just stack many boxy winders (max is 24 issit?). but then it's like wasting money eh? boxy winders aint cheap.

It's really nice of you to give back to the community. thumbs up! speaking of winders..which winders are good?Thinking of purchasing haha.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.