The Watch Thread - Part 4

yattokame

Haolian pic by the brand ***** in me.

Tonnes of work. Dont think I can go home until at least 9pm.

TeenTitan01

Nope.. not much talk on breitling in this thread so far.. I heard they have been hitting hard at the China market and pretty popular there so prices are going up it seems.

Thought they were more of an aviation brand and they have that famous model that has the function to send out distress signal. The superocean is pretty "famous" too though.. Did they sponsor some deepsea diving record-setting/expedition or was that the IWC aquatimer

yep. breitling's 3 iconic watches:

1. the navitimer (with logarithmic, double rotating slide rule scale, with which fuel consumption, rate of climbing or sinking and average speeds can be calculated quickly on the outside the watch's chapter ring - a useful feature/function for aviators in the days before digital electronic instruments). Breitling Navitimer - A brief history of the most famous Breitling of all

2. the superocean.

3. the emergency (a watch with quartz movement, especially developed for adventurers and researchers. a built-in miniature transmitter when activated can establish contact with the outside world on the aviation emergency frequency 121.5 MHz. in flat terrain or at quiet sea a person can be located from a rescue plane, flying at 6,000 m, up to a distance of 167 km,

yattokame

The navitimer is quite nice actually. Had wanted to get the white navitimer world time or something but decided it will end up as a safe queen, so didn't.

TeenTitan01

I think deep down in your heart you already have your answer.

It's at itch that will not go away until you scratch it. :s13:

I know.. cause I had that itch with my sub and no matter which other watch I bought to soothe the itch it never went away until the sub was mine. Now i feel at peace. lol.

the watch dr says: "that's because right now, only the symptoms are treated & soothed. in time to come, it'll resurface because that is not a cure. once you meet the watch you must have, the onset and severity could even be swifter and more acute. i'm afraid there's no cure for watch addiction, unless you go cold turkey - and even then, success isn't certain."

you'll tell youself: "it's time for another watch". roflmao. :D

rayong

Nope.. not much talk on breitling in this thread so far.. I heard they have been hitting hard at the China market and pretty popular there so prices are going up it seems.

Thought they were more of an aviation brand and they have that famous model that has the function to send out distress signal. The superocean is pretty "famous" too though.. Did they sponsor some deepsea diving record-setting/expedition or was that the IWC aquatimer

I like the Breitling B1. Find it a very attractive alternative to the Omega Speedmaster x33.

techead

Buy the watch you like best; dont consider buying two and u can swap here and there - u will end up wearing just one most of the time.

I have bought and sold several watches before; total waste of time and money. Just get the best u can afford and like. For now. Next time got more money then talk about the next watch.

But got to admit buying process is quite enjoyable, no?

TeenTitan01

ok leh - the staff are really very nice and patient. I asked for recommendation and the guy showed me almost the entire collection.

I had different experience at the RWS watch shop. First time the SA was very very nice, even took out the watches for me to try. Recently when I went again, I was thinking of buying something for VDay for the wife and I saw a watch she has been eyeing, but a different SA - a guy - had an attitude that totally pissed me off. EVen quoted me the wrong and much higher price for a watch I know very well - can't he just bloody take out the watch to confirm the price?!? That is a sign he is not keen to do my business. So bought something else somewhere else instead.

Staff at IWC also very nice. Panerai very stuck up - luckily I don't like panerai. Atelier very nice.

I'm in the service industry so I ALWAYS treat service staff with respect and kindness - I have even lost count of the letters of compliments for staff who provide good service to me, even if it's the first time I meet them.

sorry for long post. uncle very lor sor again. :s13:

so is the rule:
1. male customers should approach female SAs?
2. female customers should approach male SAs?

TeenTitan01

Haha by default asians will always lose out to caucasians. They tend to have sharper features and bigger eyes. But I guess asian women have their own charm too. Each to their own :o

rubbish! i prefer asian to ang mo.

ang mo by 30 look middle aged liao. asian 50 can still look 30.

hardtruth.

yattokame

But got to admit buying process is quite enjoyable, no?

very true.
after that the watch was always in the winder/box. really really waste of time and money.

honestly now with the PP I hardly wear my other watches; thats why I suggested buyong one good one and look around for others.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.