The Watch Thread - Part 4

iceflight

by the time one is loaded enough to afford super-complications, presbyopia gets in the way. !@#$%^&*()_+!

still say you're not elite? maybe you're a humble foreign elite (for not trumpeting that you're an elite) cos you can flash your passport...

:D

老花眼 you are absolutely spot on... Haha

This topic is very very sensitive. I no FT, AT, PIE, ECP, AYE ETC....

It's an open secret that when u buy big tickets items like this, there are ways to export your goods, after all I have companies out of Singapore to facilitate.

TeenTitan01

Hmmm.. 6100 USD, on the ex side for NOMOS right..

But it's so swee..

Get this later this year or save til next year for El Primero 410?!?! HALP

no fight here. el primero wins hands down as an iconic chrono.

there's no iconic world timer that i know of... yet.

Azrielsc

wah! how's the poisoning progress? :D

1st trip to italy? what's your focus? food, wine, culture, history...?

Actually it is our honeymoon trip. Been putting it off for my career and after 7 years of marriage, I think its time to scratch the 7 year itch and celebrate it with a nice trip with the missus to a romantic location. :)

I have been to Italy when I was a kid but I guess now that I am older, I can appreciate the place more. Extended my tour to 3 free & easy days at Milan to splurge on my wife, for all the tough times that she has endured whilst I was chasing the 5Cs.

Looking at a Pam for myself (haven't decided what model yet, maybe a Radiomir Pam 512) and if possible a Birkin for the wifey.

Free & easy, no pressure to get anything, just see what pops up, or which shop she drags me into! :) Only promise that she has to keep is to allow me half a day at Panerai Florence store! :)

TeenTitan01

老花眼 you are absolutely spot on... Haha

This topic is very very sensitive. I no FT, AT, PIE, ECP, AYE ETC....

It's an open secret that when u buy big tickets items like this, there are ways to export your goods, after all I have companies out of Singapore to facilitate.

i salute to your wisdom, iceflight kor kor!

:D:s12:

TeenTitan01

Actually it is our honeymoon trip. Been putting it off for my career and after 7 years of marriage, I think its time to scratch the 7 year itch and celebrate it with a nice trip with the missus to a romantic location. :)

I have been to Italy when I was a kid but I guess now that I am older, I can appreciate the place more. Extended my tour to 3 free & easy days at Milan to splurge on my wife, for all the tough times that she has endured whilst I was chasing the 5Cs.

Looking at a Pam for myself (haven't decided what model yet, maybe a Radiomir Pam 512) and if possible a Birkin for the wifey.

Free & easy, no pressure to get anything, just see what pops up, or which shop she drags me into! :) Only promise that she has to keep is to allow me half a day at Panerai Florence store! :)

that's nice! :D

ah! florence, the seat of the european renaissance! soak in the culture! and the food/wine!

milan! shop till you drop!

since this is your honeymoon, cannot miss the romantic gondola ride in venice! maybe even drop by the pont des amoureux in paris. (maybe get her the van cleef & arpels pont des amoureux watch, hint, hint... ;))

Making of Pont des Amoureux watch - YouTube

the birkin/kelly are in perennial short supply. you sure you can hoot the model/pattern that you wife likes?

iceflight

I think he enjoys vvip discounts not unlike and perhaps surpassing yattokame's level of AD discounts

So envy elites here can hoot 100k watch wo a blink I want to hoot a daytona also need to think bery long.

I want hoot a daily beater for 500 already think very long liao :s13::s13:

Hi all, I'm still 小case lah...... So many those hoot million dollar watches people around.... Moral of the story 山太高!

Super cars ? I know and seen someone with more than 300 super cars in his collection...

Be content with life and that's already the ultimate success

Azrielsc

that's nice! :D

ah! florence, the seat of the european renaissance! soak in the culture! and the food/wine!

milan! shop till you drop!

since this is your honeymoon, cannot miss the romantic gondola ride in venice! maybe even drop by the pont des amoureux in paris. (maybe get her the van cleef & arpels pont des amoureux watch, hint, hint... ;))

the birkin/kelly are in perennial short supply. you sure you can hoot the model/pattern that you wife likes?

Yes, will visit Venice but not Paris, maybe next time! :)

Yeah, Birkin/Kelly are always in short supply and it also depends if the store wants to sell them to me. I guess if she can get one, she would hoot any colour or choice. Hopefully it would be a 35 and not a 30. She thinks that the 30 is a bit small, hence her current Birkin is more a cupboard queen than one that she brings out often. Oh well, if can't get one, I think she has a "back-up" choice of some other bag. :)

Same as the Pam. If I can't get a 512, then I will look and pick up some other Pam. :)

TeenTitan01

Hi all, I'm still 小case lah...... So many those hoot million dollar watches people around.... Moral of the story 山太高!

Super cars ? I know and seen someone with more than 300 super cars in his collection...

Be content with life and that's already the ultimate success

iceflight kor kor so elite but still so humble! :s34:

300 super cars in his collection? :eek: sultan of brunei?

iceflight

iceflight kor kor so elite but still so humble! :s34:

300 super cars in his collection? :eek: sultan of brunei?

Really smart boy..... Actually there are 2 of such car collectors I know and one of them has a fantastic collection of watches too but all Rolex...

And for trivial knowledge, think of all the real estate to garage the cars, all garages are 24hrs air con and humidity control, every car is hook on a battery so every one of them can be started and driven off ASAP

TeenTitan01

SSA021J2 SEIKO Automatic Sapphire Collection

is this watch safe to buy frm this site? :s11:

thks in advance.

they've a physical shop at people's park complex 3rd floor. can go there to check it out and talk face to face. they're not AD so don't expect local warranty from thong sia.

there's another shop called K2 at tg katong complex:

Local Watchmaker – K2 Watch Company | Yeoman's Weblog (Archive)

seems k2 is also willing to help folks mod their seiko watches for a fee. have yet to try it.

not an endorsement but you can check them out to see who gives the best service & best price.

TeenTitan01

Really smart boy..... Actually there are 2 of such car collectors I know and one of them has a fantastic collection of watches too but all Rolex...

And for trivial knowledge, think of all the real estate to garage the cars, all garages are 24hrs air con and humidity control, every car is hook on a battery so every one of them can be started and driven off ASAP

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: omfg!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! elite to the MAXXX!!! sure got la ferrari inside there somewhere! vroom! vroom!!!

The Top 10 Most Expensive Watches Made By Rolex - TheRichest

wah... you never go poison him with more tokong watch brands?

aerolord

Wondering if I should go ALS tomorrow boh... buy wear Black Bay is like :(... the price difference :O

/insecure

iceflight

Cheers bro, that's all for now.........

Strange that many are not aware that ALS and Patek are considered in the same league, therefore price entry is high

TeenTitan01

Wondering if I should go ALS tomorrow boh... buy wear Black Bay is like :(... the price difference :O

/insecure

bro aerolord, if you already have the cash upfront for an als, kan cheong for what?

just mark the SA who gave you a hard time and give the sales commission to the one who bothers to give you the smile/service he/she is supposed to.

it's the dumb SA who looks down on any potential customer. you'll never know who's the one with the cash to drop on an expensive piece.

when it comes to luxury goods, the smart SA knows the product already sells itself and making the potential customer happy/respected is key to closing any sale!

SAs are there TO SERVE YOU. they wear coat & tie to impress but pocket definitely slimmer than yours.

really rich people wear real casual cos comfort comes first and cos no need to impress anybody but themselves and their kakis.

aerolord

bro aerolord, if you already have the cash upfront for an als, kan cheong for what?

just mark the SA who gave you a hard time and give the sales commission to the one who bothers to give you the smile/service he/she is supposed to.

it's the dumb SA who looks down on any potential customer. you'll never know who's the one with the cash to drop on an expensive piece.

when it comes to luxury goods, the smart SA knows the product already sells itself and making the potential customer happy/respected is key to closing any sale!

SAs are there TO SERVE YOU. they wear coat & tie to impress but pocket definitely slimmer than yours.

really rich people wear real casual cos comfort comes first and cos no need to impress anybody but themselves and their kakis.

:s13::s13::s13: you mean like 15 years down the road? :eek:

i at most go inside drool at the watch, until i flood the table and leave without buying :(

cause got the invitation, abit gian to go down just to ssrr, since i will be meeting friend for dinner in that area

TeenTitan01

Cheers bro, that's all for now.........

Strange that many are not aware that ALS and Patek are considered in the same league, therefore price entry is high

pp, ap & vc are always mentioned in the same breath as the top trinity in haute horology.

i feel it's too restrictive.

pp has the advantage of an unbroken continuous existing history stretching back hundred+ years, while als had the misfortune of being in the wrong place (glashutte, saxony, east germany) after the iron curtain fell, resulting in a break in its continuity.

it's only after the reunification of germany, with the fall of the berlin wall, that a descendant of als restored the company with the help of some swiss watchmaking firms.

als reboot & progress has been swift & hard-hitting.

those who know horology will know how far als has come in such a short time, which is no surprise given that it started off well at a very high standard, and has never let up in its continual & tenacious drive to surpass itself.

you've got to hand it to the relentless germans! over-engineering is not their only forte!

pp had better watch out! they're not the only ones with the popular claim to beautifully crafted movements anymore!

:D

TeenTitan01

:s13::s13::s13: you mean like 15 years down the road? :eek:

i at most go inside drool at the watch, until i flood the table and leave without buying :(

cause got the invitation, abit gian to go down just to ssrr, since i will be meeting friend for dinner in that area

than don't wear watch lor.

when asked, just say your wrist space is reserved for a deserving watch. chey... :D

just whack the champagne, canapes & caviar and enjoy the show.

buying a grail watch is never an impulse buy.

must research more, mull over it, drool over it, sleep on it, build up the want, desire & anticipation.

eliminate all buyer's remorse.

visit regularly like visiting an old friend until the SA know you well. molest more. no need paiseh one. why? because you're damn sure it's a matter of WHEN you'll be getting it.

and you're really doing the SAs a service by relieving their boredom because people are so scared to even walk into their boutique.

talk shop with them. or act blur & see how much they know or try to smoke you. =:p

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.