The Watch Thread - Part 4

All in a Day

Only a ROC RG IMO will do. Never did like the Royal Oaks.

The ROOs are the ones to get if you're on your first AP...

But you might want to wait till SIHH 2014 before deciding. AP might just deliver on the rumour of open case backs with 42mms...

Have direct opposite preferences compared to u but i observe that i seem to be minority on this. If he wants the open caseback, he gota up his budget to buy new instead of pre owned.

Oceania

Hi guys, got my automatic Seiko last week too. Though not the conventional Seiko 5 Sports, but this comes with manual winding and hacking second hand, and I love the rose gold case and brown dial :)

2014-01-04%2016.43.18.jpg

Pagani_Z0nda

The 3570.50 is considered to be the most iconic speedmaster and a must for every collector. I have owned one for 7 years and despite the abuse I have given it, it still works flawlessly and kept good time. So it's a tough and versatile watch, looks good on leather and Zulu straps as well.
Only thing I dislike about it is the hesalite, scratches easily but then also easily polished out with polywatch. So buy one...highly recommended ;

The speedy pro is the most value for money chrono bar none.
It's got good looks, a robust and workhorse movement and the history behind it.
The design hasn't changed for the past 50 years and it will probably stay this way for the next 50 ...

It's a watch that can last a lifetime and beyond. Not many watches are as iconic as it and its price is still relatively affordable as compared to the more recognisble chronos like the Daytona etc.

Every omega fan needs one , and many watch enthusiasts has one in their collection too

Omega speedmasters are pretty well-known for time keeping. I once heard that Omega takes so much pride in the accuracies of their speedmasters such that it doesn't even bother to send some of them in for COSC certification as they hold their time much better than the COSC standards.

Good read: Omega Speedmaster Professional, Stainless Steel Hand-wind [5/98] - TimeZone

Appreciate the advises. :) Now to try at AD... :D

Paladium

Oh no... Means wat? I got a fake or paid too much for it?
Anw I think no date and less complicated perhaps? But I actually like that it is thin enough, an orient model with sapphire crystal is actually much thicker than this. Plus my watch water resistant is Machiam nth I think, like 10 bar (I wash hand also a bit scared)

Relax, your watch is as genuine as it gets. Just enjoy it. Wash hand is perfectly safe lah, no worries.

May I know the difference between ROO and ROC?

Seems like ROC is 38/39mm while ROO is 42mm?

Both are chronographs with ROC being the chronograph version of the RO whereas ROO is a different line altogether.

Although both are chronos, ROOs are more aggressive in their styling and aesthetics. They are usually if not always thicker. A ROC is thinner and more elegant in terms of styling.

To differentiate, a ROC has its subdials at 3, 6, 9 position while ROOs have theirs at 6, 9, 12. There are other differences, like water resistance, etc. I'll leave it to you to explore.

Actually you may want to visit a boutique/AD to try on and see which fits better. Even at 42mm a ROO still wears quite large due to its integrated lug/thickness/heft.

ROC
26325TS_OO_D005CR_01.png

ROO
26170ST_OO_D091CR_01.png

Jeremy1

Oh no... Means wat? I got a fake or paid too much for it?
Anw I think no date and less complicated perhaps? But I actually like that it is thin enough, an orient model with sapphire crystal is actually much thicker than this. Plus my watch water resistant is Machiam nth I think, like 10 bar (I wash hand also a bit scared)

Think should be real one since u got it from a reputable shop.

Wear it in good health.

:s12:

Jeremy1

May I know the difference between ROO and ROC?

Seems like ROC is 38/39mm while ROO is 42mm?

I feel ROO looked more sporty and rugged when u wear it. ROC is more elegant.

I will sure go for the ROO but 44mm might be a bit too big for my wrist.

Prepared to save up $50K liao............................:(

balzebub

I feel ROO looked more sporty and rugged when u wear it. ROC is more elegant.

I will sure go for the ROO but 44mm might be a bit too big for my wrist.

Prepared to save up $50K liao............................:(
Yes I think the ROO is more sporty and rugged looking but still very versatile. Didn't wear that big; one of my female colleagues wears a ROO to work with office wear and looks fine on her wrist.

All in a Day

Relax, your watch is as genuine as it gets. Just enjoy it. Wash hand is perfectly safe lah, no worries.

Both are chronographs with ROC being the chronograph version of the RO whereas ROO is a different line altogether.

Although both are chronos, ROOs are more aggressive in their styling and aesthetics. They are usually if not always thicker. A ROC is thinner and more elegant in terms of styling.

To differentiate, a ROC has its subdials at 3, 6, 9 position while ROOs have theirs at 6, 9, 12. There are other differences, like water resistance, etc. I'll leave it to you to explore.

Actually you may want to visit a boutique/AD to try on and see which fits better. Even at 42mm a ROO still wears quite large due to its integrated lug/thickness/heft.

ROC
26325TS_OO_D005CR_01.png

ROO
26170ST_OO_D091CR_01.png

ROO has a dive model too.

Other factors aside, I find that the ROO has the nicer chrono layout between the 2.

Jeremy1

ROO has a dive model too.

Other factors aside, I find that the ROO has the nicer chrono layout between the 2.

Last check from the SA in Luxurytime, he told me their dive model is the cheapest in the ROO range and compare to other models, the general servicing for this dive model is the cheapest.

:)

Jeremy1

Yes I think the ROO is more sporty and rugged looking but still very versatile. Didn't wear that big; one of my female colleagues wears a ROO to work with office wear and looks fine on her wrist.
Moi is blue collar worker so a ROO will suit me better as my attire is always T-shirt and jean...........................:D

dmitri

Moi is blue collar worker so a ROO will suit me better as my attire is always T-shirt and jean...........................:D
Your blue collar female colleague must be quite the elite then. Hah!

Jeremy1

Moi is just a Technician working in a Sunset MNC......................:s13:

Waiting to strike Toto First Prize....................:D

Advise to you all who are still young, have a degree and follow a good boss................;)

Don't end up like me no paper, poor, old liao and just kena F by ATB for no logic reason.........................:sad:

All in a Day

Moi is just a Technician working in a Sunset MNC......................:s13:

Waiting to strike Toto First Prize....................:D

Advise to you all who are still young, have a degree and follow a good boss................;)

Don't end up like me no paper, poor, old liao and just kena F by ATB for no logic reason.........................;)

Kena F by (chio) ATB for no logic reason in the literal sense is not a bad thing. Hahaha

Jeremy1

Kena F by (chio) ATB for no logic reason in the literal sense is not a bad thing. Hahaha

Ya, that I don't mind but is a HE..............................:o

I will be trapped till the day I strike rich or kena retrench which is very very hard for me..........................:sad:

Now it's just endurance test. He always like to 先甜后苦..................:s22:

All in a Day

Ya, that I don't mind but is a HE..............................:o

I will be trapped till the day I strike rich or kena retrench which is very very hard for me..........................:sad:

Now it's just endurance test. He always like to 先甜后苦..................:s22:

HE then is just AT not ATB ma!

Every job has its woes. Hang in there man. Get ur ROO soon to cheer urself up at work!

Jeremy1

HE then is just AT not ATB ma!

Every job has its woes. Hang in there man. Get ur ROO soon to cheer urself up at work!

Ah Tio Boss.......................:D

Yah, no reason to be sad because of him..................:mad:

Trying to save up for the ROO soon........................:s12:

Thanks.................:)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.