The Watch Thread - Part 4

kiRky`

Hey guys, where is a good place to get some nice straps for watches? I have a SEVENFRIDAY P1 and was wondering what's a good strap for it if I wanted to make it slightly more casual instead of the black strap. I've seen some straps where there are 3 coloured stripes and those look quite nice.

SEVENFRIDAY_PR1_WHOLE1.jpg

My only other watch is a Zeppelin 7680-1 Mechanical. I think it's OOP now.

1124689d1371503971-help-me-choose-zeppelin-zeppelin-handaufzug-zeppelin-7608-1-edition-100-jahre-poljot-3133-mit-lederband_b3.jpg

Any help is appreciated! =)

Jeremy1

That I'm pretty not worried about. It's been stuck for a while at THG.

Hard to say, Singapore have a lot of rich people......................:D

But this brand not a lot of ordinary people know so just waiting for an owner to appear like you..........................:)

Paladium

Yes the price in relation to the brand is what's stopping me

This thing about watches or other such stuffs to me is that it's not an item anyone should ever get if you cannot afford or need to slog to pay installments for it. To many it's a sort of status symbol when it comes a good watch, therefore wear according to your status. Yes to some the a passion/hobby but prudence is needed. My consideration is not affordability, it's the price relation.

Well, the fact that it's been in THG for so long speaks volume of desirability I guess.

Just a personal opinion but haute horological pieces like these, richard mille, MB&F, Urwerk, etc, generally two types of people will buy them, the first being "I'm-super-rich-I-have-no-other-place-to-spend-I-like-the-looks/status/reputation-it-gives-and-I-don't-care-about-resale-so-I-buy-it."

The 2nd type is probably the "I-really-love-the-looks/design-so-much-and-I-can-afford-so-I-buy-it."

There are probably other types but those 2 types are just my general view of most buyers of such pieces.

Since you are concerned about the price relation to value/brand perhaps you can look else where towards other brands/models. Honestly speaking, i feel the case aesthetics look similar to pieces like MB&F's HM5 or Azimuth SP-1 battletank. It certainly is unique and eye-catching but not that unique and eye-catching. Right now if i throw out the term haute horology, only 3 names tops my list, MB&F, RM and Urwerk.

But hey, yolo, so if you can't get it out of your head then perhaps you should listen to it. Sometimes being too logical takes the fun out of ours and any other hobby. :D

Anyway, just my 2 cents, don't be offended in any way yah. ;)

pwillie

Parmigiani_Watch_25.jpg

Bugatti_Super_Sport_Profil.jpg

Very intrigue with this. Thg SA has been tempting me quite a bit with it. Looks really nice and really considering. Only thing is that it seems Parmigiani is a bit not so tops as a brand like Patek Philippe.. And it's quite a painful price for me for a watch. What do u all think?

Btw this is the Parmigiani Bugatti super sport. Limited edition 20 pieces worldwide. The pic really dun do it justice... It glass all over, side, back, front.. Very very high quality looks

Check out the hublot mp-05 Ferrari design

All in a Day

Hey guys, where is a good place to get some nice straps for watches? I have a SEVENFRIDAY P1 and was wondering what's a good strap for it if I wanted to make it slightly more casual instead of the black strap. I've seen some straps where there are 3 coloured stripes and those look quite nice.

SEVENFRIDAY_PR1_WHOLE1.jpg

1124689d1371503971-help-me-choose-zeppelin-zeppelin-handaufzug-zeppelin-7608-1-edition-100-jahre-poljot-3133-mit-lederband_b3.jpg

google NATO and Zulu straps. In Singapore, try gnomon.

Paladium

I've seen many custom SF straps on instagram. If you have an account search for Sevenfriday and you can see many options. If you don't, off my head, you can try googling,

combat straps
paolo18straps
salvadore-09

I believe other strap makers like our own JNS and hughes handcrafted can create straps that you want. SF themselves do sell their own straps you can buy to mix it in. Even larger sized nato straps have been used on SFs.

All in a Day

Well, the fact that it's been in THG for so long speaks volume of desirability I guess.

Just a personal opinion but haute horological pieces like these, richard mille, MB&F, Urwerk, etc, generally two types of people will buy them, the first being "I'm-super-rich-I-have-no-other-place-to-spend-I-like-the-looks/status/reputation-it-gives-and-I-don't-care-about-resale-so-I-buy-it."

The 2nd type is probably the "I-really-love-the-looks/design-so-much-and-I-can-afford-so-I-buy-it."

There are probably other types but those 2 types are just my general view of most buyers of such pieces.

Since you are concerned about the price relation to value/brand perhaps you can look else where towards other brands/models. Honestly speaking, i feel the case aesthetics look similar to pieces like MB&F's HM5 or Azimuth SP-1 battletank. It certainly is unique and eye-catching but not that unique and eye-catching. Right now if i throw out the term haute horology, only 3 names tops my list, MB&F, RM and Urwerk.

But hey, yolo, so if you can't get it out of your head then perhaps you should listen to it. Sometimes being too logical takes the fun out of ours and any other hobby. :D

Anyway, just my 2 cents, don't be offended in any way yah. ;)

Haha.. I like your analysis. Anyway it is really a "happy" problem for iceflight. I don't think I will ever reach the financial status to face the problem he is facing at that scale/$ amount.

Jeremy1

I ever went to Yafriro Celebrer Le Temps and one of the SAs came to chitchat with me regardless of how I looked but maybe I was staring hardly at some of their not known brands outside and when I looked at the price. It's even more expensive than an AP/PP...............:s31:

I think he told me which I agreed it's quite true. Usually people who are very wealthy and they are already bored with their AP/PP or other known popular brand watches will want something very unique to their personnel taste irregardless of price and brands. He ever told me they are some customers who don't even bother to look and feel the watch and just buy it................................:eek:

To this people, money is really a lot until don't know where to spend............:s22:

Jeremy1

Haha.. I like your analysis. Anyway it is really a "happy" problem for iceflight. I don't think I will ever reach the financial status to face the problem he is facing at that scale/$ amount.

Unless you strike Toto First Prize..........................:D

But even if I do, I will get a PP..................;)

All in a Day

Unless you strike Toto First Prize..........................:D

But even if I do, I will get a PP..................;)
My small-scale dilemma right now is thinking to go for the seiko diver or not. haha

Realised big diff in price from AD vs parallel import. Also looks abit big for my wrist. But very nicely finished and solid feel.

Jeremy1

My small-scale dilemma right now is thinking to go for the seiko diver or not. haha

Realised big diff in price from AD vs parallel import. Also looks abit big for my wrist. But very nicely finished and solid feel.

This one no need to think liao, just go for it if u really like it..........................;)

Paladium

haha, i think the closest i will come to owning a haute horological piece will be seven friday. It's like a semi entry level haute horology. :s13:

Paladium

I ever went to Yafriro Celebrer Le Temps and one of the SAs came to chitchat with me regardless of how I looked but maybe I was staring hardly at some of their not known brands outside and when I looked at the price. It's even more expensive than an AP/PP...............:s31:

I think he told me which I agreed it's quite true. Usually people who are very wealthy and they are already bored with their AP/PP or other known popular brand watches will want something very unique to their personnel taste irregardless of price and brands. He ever told me they are some customers who don't even bother to look and feel the watch and just buy it................................:eek:

To this people, money is really a lot until don't know where to spend............:s22:

Quite true also, when I choose my watches i usually go for those with a safe resale value cause I can't afford to lose much on them. Otherwise I would have gone for pieces like Linde Werdelin.

mksing

Nice looking watch.

All in a Day

This one no need to think liao, just go for it if u really like it..........................;)

haha still hard earned $$ ma.. much bigger than I expected when I tried it on.... that's the main reason for hesitation.

Paladium

No lah, it looks just nice for your wrist. Don't think so much lah..

hoot-first-talk-later-en-ffffff

Azrielsc

I've seen many custom SF straps on instagram. If you have an account search for Sevenfriday and you can see many options. If you don't, off my head, you can try googling,

combat straps
paolo18straps
salvadore-09

I believe other strap makers like our own JNS and hughes handcrafted can create straps that you want. SF themselves do sell their own straps you can buy to mix it in. Even larger sized nato straps have been used on SFs.

Just a personal experience with Combat straps as I have 2 custom toad straps from Aaron of Combat straps for my Pams. He has really unique colours and materials to choose from but you have to be patient. My 2 straps took about 2 mths from the time I ordered to finally reaching my hands.

Quality of the straps are good but a small nit-pick is that he tends to put quite a bit of black sealant at the edge so it was quite difficult to fit on as the straps will become thicker. But after a while, the straps will soften and makes it easier to wear.

9406259439_8ec29c8d29_z.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.