The Watch Thread - Part 4

All in a Day

wah lau eh, for that price, i rather go for the jlc

Still think go for holy trinity for gold dress watch. Jlc def a good watch but diff pedigree. Forget about "value for money" complication. There is no such thing as value for $ luxury watch

beerope

Which ones nicest? Btw, can tell if any of these are replicas?

Calibre36_02.jpg

1mRgk5K.jpg

dFIKWxC.jpg

Jeremy1

For those who wear on their right hand, isn't it inconvenient when coming to winding or adjusting the time ?

By the way, most or all watches are meant for wearing on the left hand.

yattokame

Haha yatto I think your mind still prefers PP. 50k get PP la! :s13: This looks really nice though.

did see one PP annual calendar..... 70k.

the IWC really speaks to me. wife also says it looks good on me. I need more power from the brand ***** side of me. :s13:

anyway, not anytime soon lah. need to recuperate a bit.

excuse me while I go eat my grass.:s13:

yattokame

For those who wear on their right hand, isn't it inconvenient when coming to winding or adjusting the time ?

errr... adjust before wearing lor.

Jeremy1

I am right handed and i wear my watch on my left hand because i wanted to train up my left hand, don't want to put more weight on my right hand....................:s13:

Jeremy1

did see one PP annual calendar..... 70k.

the IWC really speaks to me. wife also says it looks good on me. I need more power from the brand ***** side of me. :s13:

You already have an AP so buy IWC. Beside the IWC looked nice on you............................;)

TeenTitan01

I agree, JLC. But 39mm might be small for some guys

dress watches cannot be too big, too thick, too loud, or it'll look ridiculous - and definitely NO arabic numerals - baton or slim roman numerals yes.

with no thick bezel cramping the dial, it actually wears bigger than a diver with a thick bezel like the rolex sub.

just sayin'

RadEoNic

I am right handed and i wear my watch on my left hand because i wanted to train up my left hand, don't want to put more weight on my right hand....................:s13:

i'm right handed and i wear my watch on the right too
people used to ask me if i'm left handed. coincidentally, i have more strength in my left arm, just that it's not as 'trained' as my right

Paladium

Ya looks pretty good but i'm actually looking for a rose gold on brown strap dress watch.....

Actually did consider the VC..... But a bit too simple if its plain faced for 30k...?
Ya still eating grass lor. Still got 35months to go hahaha

If you guys remember I was quite keen on the IWC but its really too thick. Wife also likes it. Worth 50k?

I've seen your collection and I think a nice leather rose gold slightly dressier piece will round it off. Not saying it's a must to have a dress piece cause seriously how many of us really have to attend black tie, tux event but just for versatility of the collection.

And 50k for IWC!? :eek: I'm seriously disappointed in the brand ***** in you.

With 50k you should be looking at PP/AP/VC/ALS or at minimum JLC to do justice to your brand whoreness. :D

wah lau eh, for that price, i rather go for the jlc master ultra thin perpetual calender.

+1 for this. :D

Still think go for holy trinity for gold dress watch. Jlc def a good watch but diff pedigree. Forget about "value for money" complication. There is no such thing as value for $ luxury watch

Of course there is. Value for money isn't how expensive or how cheap an item is.

Given the history and technical expertise of JLC, what you are getting for the price you pay VS other brands, it really is one of the better "value for money" and understated brands around.

All luxury brands are what they are partly cause of the marketing machine. JLC merely lost out in marketing, which is good for us as consumers, more watch for the money. ;)

TeenTitan01

imo, the "holy trinity" is an artificial construct that locks out brands that can stand toe to toe or even stare them down.

like a lange & sohne.

for jaded heavy hitters like iceflight, triste, yattokame, and silent readers who opted not to share their elite hoots, even pp, ap & vc gets boring after a while. no kick liao cos been there, done that. enter mb&f and uwerk, among others.

jlc can easily jack up their prices increase its desirability to those who equate price with value.

thankfully, jlc choose not.

but of course, a vc dress watch would be excellent. worn (& endorsed) by royalty. 'nuff said.

Paladium

Will RSC verify? How would u know if hands, dial, bezel insert n crystal are original? Bracelet as well for that matter. I doubt u seen any have papers so far?

Original meaning from day 1 and not service parts

I believe they will. Knowing the originality of the parts takes lots of knowledge and experience. That's why not many dare to venture.

Which is why dealers like those I mention above, they are more well-known in the vintage market and they have a reputation to upkeep. Vintage is their bread and butter.

Not saying it's 100% guarantee plus chop but going to them is probably the best and safest bet. They are very honest in their description and they have the network that we don't to source out the really good pieces out there.

I've seen them selling pieces with papers and boxes. They are rare but they are out there, somewhere.

TeenTitan01

someone earlier suggested wearing around the ankles when i broached the topic about how peeps can store/secure their watches when overseas on business/pleasure.

so the left vs right hand wearing debate is already not hard core enough.

roflmao.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.