The Watch Thread - Part 4

Minty Mint

Hi all watch experts,

I bought one Longines Flagship (automatic). Was reading the manual book and it say not to adjust time between 8pm to 3am....

Did some research and stated it might cause mechanism movement affected.....? This applied on most automatic watch?? Dun really understand leh...

So to all watch experts, do u really follow this rule?

Thank u

bravo86

Very nice watch. It even has 24 hours indication.
I also like the red seiko 5 logo on the second hand

^5 :s12:

The red seiko 5 is actually part of a series to commemorate Seiko 5's 50th Anniversary.

The small little plane beneath the day/date kinda caught my attention too.

The price tag was very attractive as well! Haha :s13:

bravo86

Nice :) Here's my 50th anniversary too! High 5!

The red 5 is a love or hate thing... but i love it :D

2014-01-04%2016.37.57.jpg

2014-01-04%2016.38.30.jpg

Swee! Rose Gold on Black~ :D

bravo86

Hi all watch experts,

I bought one Longines Flagship (automatic). Was reading the manual book and it say not to adjust time between 8pm to 3am....

Did some research and stated it might cause mechanism movement affected.....? This applied on most automatic watch?? Dun really understand leh...

Thank u

I was also told not to adjust my Seiko 5 automatic between 9pm - 4am as the mechanism are "preparing" the change the date.

Not very sure if this is the correct explanation :s22:

starian

Thank you All in a Day for your feedback. I am also looking into a black leather strap for my watch.

Following the tradition of posting picture. Loving my no date sub with the matching logo. :)

image_zpse595d419.jpg

Minty Mint

I was also told not to adjust my Seiko 5 automatic between 9pm - 4am as the mechanism are "preparing" the change the date.

Thanks for replying. I'm not a watch person ma, adjust my watch first without looking at the manual book. The book says what, I just follow lor.

But all the while I have been adjusting my other watch during this hr... Hahaha die le

Oceania

Hi all watch experts,

Thank u

This is a general rule of thumb... but don't think it applies to the GMT hand of a GMT watch.

All in a Day

Thank you All in a Day for your feedback. I am also looking into a black leather strap for my watch.

Following the tradition of posting picture. Loving my no date sub with the matching logo. :)

image_zpse595d419.jpg

2 mercedes logos. Nice.

All in a Day

This is a general rule of thumb... but don't think it applies to the GMT hand of a GMT watch.

Hmm i thought it only applies to adjustment of dates. If my watch happened to stop at 11pm the last time i wore it, i need to let it run until after 4am then i can adjust the time?? Seems weird

Andy0601a

210129.192LF.jpg

managed to sell this off through gumtree :eek:

really surprised, I was just toying around with the idea, posted a few ads and wala!

Andy0601a

Hmm i thought it only applies to adjustment of dates. If my watch happened to stop at 11pm the last time i wore it, i need to let it run until after 4am then i can adjust the time?? Seems weird

actually for automatic watches, general rule of thumb AFAIK before you attempt to adjust the date when you intend to wear it after the watch has idle and stopped, do 1 or 2 revolution to determine AM/PM then proceed to adjust the date, adjusting the time is fine tho.

Oceania

actually, you're correct - applies to adjustment of dates - but it also depends on the type of movement.

For normal automatic watch, if you hit into the scenario that you described, you can adjust the time to past midnight until a "safe zone" where the date-change mechanism isn't active (eg. 4am). Then you start adjusting the date to the previous day. Finally, adjust the time again to advance the date to the correct date and time.

Paladium

image_zpse595d419.jpg

Sacrilege!! As a fellow owner of the submariner I must admonish you for saying that's the no date sub!

There's no "no date sub"! Only the sub or sub date!

:D

All in a Day

actually, you're correct - applies to adjustment of dates - but it also depends on the type of movement.

For normal automatic watch, if you hit into the scenario that you described, you can adjust the time to past midnight until a "safe zone" where the date-change mechanism isn't active (eg. 4am). Then you start adjusting the date to the previous day. Finally, adjust the time again to advance the date to the correct date and time.

Thanks. That's exactly what I practise when it comes to adjusting dates. :)

zzyzx

my way of doing it is to pull out the crown and forward time to 6 o'clock (Prefer 6AM when the date spring is at its lowest tension after released past midnight). then adjust date to 1 day before the actual date. then forward adjust the time until the date jumps to next day (which is actual date) and then to the correct time.

Donten

anyone can comment on the NATO straps quality available from K2 and gnomon?

Have both. K2 one cheaper and is zulu 2 pvd rings and thicker. Gnomon 1 got 3 types of finishing. I bought black powder coated? The rings are thinner which doesn't look as rugged. Strap quality I would say almost the same. Though I feel gnomon one fray more.
Like the straps from both. I feel k2 the rings are thicker feels more solid. But gnomon the wear looks nearer. The 3 folds fit nicely under the ring in a neat way whereas k2 is more rugged.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.