The Watch Thread - Part 4

fabiaN__

wah liew, i must stop reading this thread for a while...

CFO not in town... and me spending the LWE studying... sibei sian.

wait i read some more then i end up going out to look for the watch which i like... :s22:

info_guy

Don't know about u guys but I cannot carry off yellow gold watches. Don't know if it's my age and concerned of the "uncle" stigma associated with it or it's too eye catchy and I'm shy or I don't have the the rich man air to carry it or it just looks out of fashion or what.....

Do u wear formal often? If u do then YG and RG watches must be natural to wear.

18208-1.jpg

Nicely done.

Smart watches wont last, and its still new in the industry, still alot of room for improvement. In addition to that, electronics being electronics dont last forever, give it a few years and its a gonner.

I do think smart watches are here to stay, especially as technology progress and they will incorporate more functions. They will be a threat to digital watches *hint casio*. If Casio do reinvents their Gshock to add smart watches to their series, then it's all good.

However smart watches won't come close to replacing mechanical watches ever. Their purpose is totally different.

socketer

It's kind of trouble to need to keep smsing, phone call, arranging to let potential buyers view, and need to do verification, etc. prefer fuss free selling to shops if the difference is just a few hundred dollars...

What you selling leh?

altya1

Thinking of getting my first dress watch, narrowed down to maybe Edifice (Casio), Seiko and Citizens, which one is recommended?

Or any other brands within the same price range to offer?

Budget is <$500

socketer

Thinking of getting my first dress watch, narrowed down to maybe Edifice (Casio), Seiko and Citizens, which one is recommended?

Budget is <$500

This month is the bambino month!!!

slow_mo

Nicely done.

I do think smart watches are here to stay, especially as technology progress and they will incorporate more functions. They will be a threat to digital watches *hint casio*. If Casio do reinvents their Gshock to add smart watches to their series, then it's all good.

However smart watches won't come close to replacing mechanical watches ever. Their purpose is totally different.

Casio tried with their Bluetooth G-Shock which has limited functions compared to their competitors. Their G-Shocks also has limited compatible mobile devices.

info_guy

This month is the bambino month!!!

Budget is <$500

Bambino is a front runner

So are the poor mans grand seiko aka SARB 021, 031, 033. The SARX "omega" homage is also within budget.

slow_mo

Budget is <$500

The Orient Retrograde looks good as well!

rachdanon

Never try never know. When ur time to hit "uncle" comes, a swatch is not gona change the fact. On a more serious note, rose gold maybe less gaudy (a "softer" bling) if thats your concern?

Yah, rose gold did cross my mind, have to tread carefully if want to buy, cannot buy few k watch then regret hee hee. Some gold on some AP I saw looked ok, (but I don't have that kind of cash la hee) but definitely not the gold style of the a rolex date justs those type.

5f7285e8c3aceeb82588a43ad969e0d8_zps21dd9d50.jpg

Nicely done.

Yah, long sleeve shirt and pants office job.. Anyway there so many steel, titanium watches enough to chose hee.

Yah u got a point the digital watches likely more threatened. But if one day smart watches is a must like hand phone, cannot wear 2 watches leh.....1 hand smart, 1 hand mechanical? :s22:

AgentVX

Hi guys. Hope I'm not too late to contribute a watch + whiskey shot.

zABimu5.jpg

This is a damn nice collection btw. How much do those 40-year old bottlings cost you?

And part of my whisky collection, cross-posted. The gem of my collection is the Thosop bottling. 40 year old whisky for the win.

1601385_275436212635197_3981262508941802037_n.jpg

techead

Budget is <$500

If die die <$500, Seiko orient will be your best bet. Can try Arbutus also.

If can stretch a bit, Tissot Hamilton to consider.

Paladium

Budget is <$500

A seiko sarb071. In fact, any of the SARB series from Seiko would be a worthy dress watch consideration.

The 6R15 calibre is of such high standards they are often dubbed as mini Grand Seiko.

Paladium

Yah, rose gold did cross my mind, have to tread carefully if want to buy, cannot buy few k watch then regret hee hee. Some gold on some AP I saw looked ok, (but I don't have that kind of cash la hee) but definitely not the gold style of the a rolex date justs those type.

Yah, long sleeve shirt and pants office job.. Anyway there so many steel, titanium watches enough to chose hee.

Yah u got a point the digital watches likely more threatened. But if one day smart watches is a must like hand phone, cannot wear 2 watches leh.....1 hand smart, 1 hand mechanical? :s22:

Try a seiko sarb072 as a test bed for gold watch.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.