The Watch Thread - Part 5

iceflight

Like the contrast of the glossy alligator straps. What's your vocation? Just curious who wears Langes and Pateks to work....:)

strange question, many do wear such watches to work... cheers

This is like having Messi n Ronaldo in your team but can only play one =:p

How to choose :s22:

No need choose, wear whatever i feel like each day... Think of harem...hehe

Omg.. Today's theme lure out all the hidden dragon and tigers.. No snake tho.. Remember someone wanted to see iceflight snake.. Hehe.. :eek::s8:

ah..... someone i know in my younger years when I'm into diy pc

huh you sure got so much? I thought that's only when his 5270 arrives. :eek:

looks like it will be quite a while before i can get it, very very little available stocks

Donten

My favourite weekend watches

DSC_0009-2.jpg

was waiting for this. very big contrast from the previous shot. almost like heaven and hell.

sleepstoomuch

There you go

1392f833ceaefcf643e1afaed7448713_zps2b46939c.jpg

Thanks!

Hi sorry where did you get the Orient ?

sad i no watch to show, only have g shocks haha, still waiting for Dial to arrive

No worries, gonna start somewhere! Got it at at bras basah. Would suggest you go bencoolen though as there's more selection. Possible to haggle for lower prices actly. Or if you want you can also go skywatches(/watch fashion) at Chinatown.

cowed77

my training regime is suitable for working people
Monday - HIIT and bodyweight training (push ups, pull ups and occasionally basketballing)
Tuesday - Office gym, quick 1 hour gym. Focusing on arms and back
Wednesday - Rest LOL
Thursday - HIIT and again bodyweight training
Friday - Rest LOL
Saturday - Intensive weight training. Deadlifts, Benches, Mostly strength training.
Sunday - Rest LOL

bo bian. Working in the day, study at night.
haha.

eat clean, train hard, rest well! :D

Wah so active!

rachdanon

strange question, many do wear such watches to work... cheers

Is it? I've never seen one....maybe I work in the gahmen sector where making an impression ( not implying you wear them to make impression) isn't that critical unlike in business circles where some wear a $100k watch to boost confidence in business clients. I've not seen one even in the upper echelons. The most atas watch I saw was on the wrist of one of the richest man in Singapore, somehow had to meet him and it was a AP with diamonds on the bezel.

rachdanon

This goes to show size is relative. The 40mm daytona which I associate in my mind to be a small watch looks huge next to the Patek. The Patek must be very small.

Daytona is a sharp watch! Almost got one but wife dissuaded me, but only because it was tad too small. If it was 43mm, hard to say no.

rachdanon

my 3 shocks
P1000941_zpsb4acad6e.jpg

sorry for hairy arm photo :s13:

own them, left 9 years, middle 7 years, right 2 years

seiko to family soon...hopefully a nosmos by next year

Don't worry, can't see your arm! I had a G shock in JC days wore it through NS as a " terminator" watch....you know the flesh of the plastic case stripped off and left the metal inside case....haha. I think I was the only one wearing a G shock that way. Maybe ppl thought this guy so poor can't buy a new watch but to me it was a cool "terminator" style. :s13:

rachdanon

Lai Lai dunch shy....thought after Rolex there should be much more Tag Heuer owners. Weekend den got time upload my double watch pic that I think I started with the one on Maradona :s13:

IMAG0941_zpse254ea4c.jpg

yattokame

I do not actually own these watches, I merely look after them for the next generation.
(Hmmmmmm sounds familiar......LOL)

Our twins' birthwatches 参上‼ ;)

Non-round, steel watches.....why can't they just align all the screws properly on the santos?

I personally like this the most - my first luxury watch from 2004 and the new kid on the block :)

Yellow bumblebee and.....the white demon; if only there is a red comet 赤い彗星 ;)

Same same but different

gaoxing84

Sian. Don't think can collect my strap today from Anthony. He say he gotta head out and can meet at 12 latest at his place. Lol. His business shld be quite big. Haha he never even try to accommodate. He simply reply cannot. :( stay tamp and have travel to clementi for school then up to amk. My only free time slot but kena rejected. Hope he can meet me somewhere he's going. Lol

Cannot taken double shots of my watches with new strap :(

gaoxing84

Lai Lai dunch shy....thought after Rolex there should be much more Tag Heuer owners. Weekend den got time upload my double watch pic that I think I started with the one on Maradona :s13:

IMAG0941_zpse254ea4c.jpg

During my younger days, always wanted the same exact model of carrera, but didn't follow thru. Haha it's very good work watch! Goes well with formal clothes. Haha

a562140

this article is interesting, not just for guys looking to get serious in the hobby, but for seasoned folks as well. as evidenced by the activities in this thread, you can get much joy from watches across the price spectrum today. watchmaking has pretty much been perfected, costs of production reliable watches have never been lower, making it accessible to everyone. it doesn't have to be exclusive or limited editions. And with jewelry beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

For this “Top 5 Watches under $1,000″ list, I selected only timepieces with mechanical movements and disregarded the pre-owned and vintage market. (That’s a subject for another Fratello Friday.)

So, you might well ask, if companies can make a mechanical watch that sells for $1,000, why are so many of them so much more expensive? You can also turn this question around, of course: how is it possible that some brands can offer a mechanical watch under $1,000 while the average Rolex, Omega or IWC costs five or six times that amount?

The biggest differences between a watch under $1,000 and a watch that has a higher price tag include the level of finishing on the parts, type of movement, finishing of the movement, et cetera. Basically, the number of operations (be it manual or by machines) that are needed to finish a movement, case, bezel, dial, hands, bracelet, clasp and other elements have a large influence on the cost of a watch.

Also, chances are quite high that cases or other parts of less expensive watches are manufactured in China. Perhaps the watch is partly (or completely) assembled in China as well.

Even if a watch says “Swiss Made,” it is possible that a number of its parts have been manufactured in China. However, to be able to use “Swiss Made” the movement needs to be Swiss; the movement must be cased in Switzerland; and the final inspection by the manufacturer must be executed in Switzerland (source: Federation of the Swiss Watch Industry).

I don’t feel there is anything wrong with a watch made (or partly made) in China, or with one with Chinese components that meets this definition of “Swiss Made.” That said, keep in mind that some watch brands are not completely transparent about where its parts have been manufactured. Now, to the watches I’ve chosen…

1. Seiko Scuba 200M Diver’s SBDC001 “Sumo”

Seiko_Scuba_5606.jpg

My absolute favorite at this moment is the Seiko SBDC001 divers’ watch, which has been nicknamed “Sumo” by enthusiasts of the genre. It is not for sale everywhere, so you might have to buy it overseas, but for around $500 you can have a watch that probably would cost $ 1,000 if the dial said “Swiss Made.” It has a nicely finished, big 44-mm case, a solid automatic movement (Caliber 6R15), a bracelet with divers’ extension, Seiko’s Hardlex crystal, and big, luminous markers and hands.

2. Longines HydroConquest

Longines_bluedial_500.jpg

Longines is an important brand in the Swatch Group, positioned in a price range below Omega and above Tissot. The 43-mm Longines HydroConquest is a true diving watch. I selected the reference L3.642.4.96.6, which has a self-winding movement and a blue bezel and dial. The bracelet can be extended to wear over your diving suit, the bezel is unidirectional, and the crown is screw-down – features every divers’ watch should include. Although they retail a bit above $1,000, you can often find one with a slight discount bringing it just below that price.

3. Victorinox Swiss Army AirBoss Mechanical

Victorinox_AirBoss_500.jpg

Victorinox is famous for its Swiss army knives, but the company is also big in manufacturing watches. This AirBoss watch with pilot-style bracelet in stainless steel has a retail price of only $995. You get a 42-mm stainless steel watch with a self-winding movement (ETA 2824) and a sapphire crystal. The bracelet has a folding clasp with a double lock for security. The military influence is obvious: the gray dial includes a 24-hour scale.

4. Tissot Heritage Visodate

Tissot_VisoDate_500.jpg

Tissot, another Swatch Group brand in this overview, has a very interesting timepiece in this price range, one that will actually leave with some change from your $1,000. For approximately $650, you can buy the Tissot Heritage Visodate. I
still think it is one of the best buys out there in this price range. If you like the looks of vintage 1950s timepieces, but with modern dimensions and a day-date feature, take a look at the Tissot Heritage Visodate. The self-winding movement (ETA 2836-2) can be viewed through its transparent caseback. A sapphire crystal protects the classical-looking dial.

5. Hamilton Jazzmaster Viewmatic

Hamilton_Jazzmaster_5502.jpg

Sports watches take the first three positions in this Top 5, so I also included this dress watch for those who are not as into big, bulky sports- and diving watches. The Hamilton Jazzmaster is a simple yet elegant timepiece for those looking for a good mechanical watch below $ 1,000 with a proven movement (ETA 2824-2) and a nice sapphire caseback through which to admire it once in a while. A classic timepiece with modern features and up-to-date case diameter, it is definitely not your grandfather’s Hamilton watch.

source: Fratello Friday: 5 Mechanical Watches Under $1,000 | WATCHTIME.COM

gaoxing84

Is it? I've never seen one....maybe I work in the gahmen sector where making an impression ( not implying you wear them to make impression) isn't that critical unlike in business circles where some wear a $100k watch to boost confidence in business clients. I've not seen one even in the upper echelons. The most atas watch I saw was on the wrist of one of the richest man in Singapore, somehow had to meet him and it was a AP with diamonds on the bezel.
I also gahment. Small post one la for me. Never see people wearing satki watches. Haha so I don't dare wear my pam. Haha

rachdanon

During my younger days, always wanted the same exact model of carrera, but didn't follow thru. Haha it's very good work watch! Goes well with formal clothes. Haha

Wah we got same taste, iirc you also have the 500m AR right?

rachdanon

I also gahment. Small post one la for me. Never see people wearing satki watches. Haha so I don't dare wear my pam. Haha

It's 2 extremes. If a person should not have financial means but wears a sakti watch, people may get impression he doesn't know how to spend wisely. Other extreme, if you have the means and wear a sakti watch, people will get the impression you are rich and powerful. So moral of story, wear what is true reflection of oneself. :) pam ok la....not too sakti, just wear :)

PS : should have multi quote.

iceflight

Well then still many do wear but maybe not so much in the gahmen sector....:s13::s13:

In my so called circle, these watches are pretty normal stuffs, it's whether only if you like it or not. Wearing one of these or not, does not increase anything.. ...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.