The Watch Thread - Part 5

izacizacizac

Wah.. iceflight daikor want to diversify business ah? :s12:

Too bad gonna be stuck in my job for a long while so wun be submitting any business proposals..

The greatest threat to F&B in s'pore is not captial or rents. I'm sure banks r still very willing to lend in this climate.. lots of shops r closing down in the shopping centres especially young punks who underestimated the jump from selling clothes in a blogshop versus a physical stall.. sure got shoplots here and there for a ramen chain.

The biggest threat to F&B is manpower issues. Double whammy of locals not willing to do the job or do the job for long.. young punks do the job 6 months only ask for promotion to manyzer or else quit. And they can easily find another f&b job outside!

Yes, can import Japanese chef or Director of Operations, but we all know the crunch lies in getting sufficient waiters, cleaners, dishwashers etc.. Public sentiments towards foreign labour and MoM policies dun help.

Just my 2 cents and hope to see the chain of TWT Ichiran Ramen soon!
Hopefully dun gain notoriety from visitors describing it as "full of weird men holding each other hands..." :s13:

Got to agree with you. Your last sentence almost made me LOL in office.

kiatkiat

Too bad gonna be stuck in my job for a long while so wun be submitting any business proposals..

The greatest threat to F&B in s'pore is not captial or rents. I'm sure banks r still very willing to lend in this climate.. lots of shops r closing down in the shopping centres especially young punks who underestimated the jump from selling clothes in a blogshop versus a physical stall.. sure got shoplots here and there for a ramen chain.

The biggest threat to F&B is manpower issues. Double whammy of locals not willing to do the job or do the job for long.. young punks do the job 6 months only ask for promotion to manyzer or else quit. And they can easily find another f&b job outside!

Yes, can import Japanese chef or Director of Operations, but we all know the crunch lies in getting sufficient waiters, cleaners, dishwashers etc.. Public sentiments towards foreign labour and MoM policies dun help.

Hopefully dun gain notoriety from visitors describing it as "full of weird men holding each other hands..." :s13:

If the rental is cheaper, by right the bosses will be able to offer higher salary to retain their workers.

If alot of the money go to rental, of coz they will try to reduce the other expenses. with lower salary come lower commitment.

izacizacizac

If the rental is cheaper, by right the bosses will be able to offer higher salary to retain their workers.

If alot of the money go to rental, of coz they will try to reduce the other expenses. with lower salary come lower commitment.

You will be surprised, higher salary doesnt actually make them more committed. Ive done retail and fieldforce management on an islandwide scale before, and sometimes its the boss that makes them committed. It depends on how the boss play his cards.

Yes pay is important, but humans will never be satisfied, and pay will always be seen as not enough.

If you ask me how do you make staff stay committed to the job, pay them decently, show appreciation towards their efforts and hard work, give them progression opportunities, and constantly bond with them to understand what is going on, in the sales floor. (Ramen shop in this case)

All in a Day

Way OT, but it's all interlinked. The industry is underpaying for an expensive city to live in, and will be even more expensive if the underpay issue is addressed (then govt have to squarely address rental issues). U have citizens brought up with a mindset to shun such jobs.

It's not easy for a metropolitan city to be a country, and vice versa. Thats a big reason to income inequality, one of the very few stats when govt cannot select to compare against 'city or country' to their advantage.

sky00sky

Manpower is one thing. But rentals are also cutthroat to make investments for a start up into a low ROI investment into technology much detestable. Besides, Sinkie have this crappy triats of being treated like a kings so making F&B much less desirable.

Yeah...tio cut WP quota again..knn...

kiosai

You will be surprised, higher salary doesnt actually make them more committed. Ive done retail and fieldforce management on an islandwide scale before, and sometimes its the boss that makes them committed. It depends on how the boss play his cards.

Yes pay is important, but humans will never be satisfied, and pay will always be seen as not enough.

If you ask me how do you make staff stay committed to the job, pay them decently, show appreciation towards their efforts and hard work, give them progression opportunities, and constantly bond with them to understand what is going on, in the sales floor. (Ramen shop in this case)

*Nods nods*
Yup. Salary is important and rent is still very much a killer. But salary is but only 1 facet in the whole equation leading to staff retention.

The problem is not solvable within a day.

Ask ourselves, THG / Cortina / boutiques sales staff versus waiters, all are in service industry. Who commands a higher level of respect and appreciation from customers? Why so?
There's also somewhat imported PRC culture of treating service staff like sh*t observed locally..

If the "weird old men holding hands" can treat the staff at the upcoming TWT Ramen chain like how they do wif watch boutique staff..

Good customers are as important as good service staff ;)

izacizacizac

For my new Tudor bros!

Henabi and Thai_Rak!

gXfj2cL.png

and this pic I took recently, love the gold hand!

mSKSE7b.png

Been listening to this version of Canon for quite sometime!

Aerolord bro, give this one a try, you wont regret.

Henabi

Very.
JW one is the real deal - 48mm and half the retail price and only 2mths old.
But I shouldn't lah. Impulsive buying.

yatto dai gor... i going to JW later this afternoon. wanna go together? :s13:

but seriously... I am with iceflight. both Zenith and IWC are similar to your PAM and your PAM actually dwarf both of them. be it attention, price and weight.
not worth getting at all.

Keep your dollars and hoot an ALS Perpetual or ALS Time Zone :D

gaoxing84

wah! keep looking at yatto dai kor pam, jin gian the 024.
but now stuck with my 005. lol

izacizacizac

Still prefer the classical version of the Canon most.... niceeeee! :D

All are nice. It started out as a chamber work if i'm not wrong. Then again classical version can mean alot of types. Getting abit off topic here.

This reminds me of this watch i saw on youtube, if it played canon instead, i will go insane.

Henabi

omg saw a 2254 sold at 1.5k at JW. lol

5245_1.jpg

fit fit gor gor... this one??

JW list it at $1.6K

I going there later this afternoon... wanna hoot a ladies watch for my wife and also see see look look some straps for my Tudor DD...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.