Vanilla Way

To wear Hublot cannot get over this mental hurdle leh : :s22:

59e5a80d7b8be17f40e87e68a6ab20aa_zps34410136.jpg

714b653b586f70fee128f2d98eaa8b09_zpsbd8d940e.jpg

1647595fac41601dc6299f6a261e61da_zps7eb68d93.jpg

“Maradona always wears two watches when he travels – one set to local time and one set to the time back in Argentina."

Havent he heard of world timer or GMT? Lmao, totally unnecessary.:s22::s22::s22::s22:

Denieru82

Retail prices for Rolex, Omega, Breitling, and others, increases every year.

As a result, , the demand for pre-owned watches also increases as the

pricing of new models increases.

Higher demand means higher prices

Therefore, a pre-owned watch’s ability to appreciate is understandable.

I would agree with yatto dai kor..

Not that your theory is wrong.. Just that the depreciation is greater than the appreciation (inflation).. So in term of selling price (not retail selling price), it will only slow down the depreciation.. However, the good thing about big brands are that there is a cap to depreciation, not that after it cap then it will appreciate tho.. Not sure how to explain it but it is like a 30yr old Rolex and omega can still fetch 1000+..

And do note that mass market watches are not HDB.. Does not work the same way.. Even exclusive watches brand like pp ap vc als all suffer from depreciation..

Luxury watches are unique in its own ways, it is a rich man toy.. Probably only super limited edition from big strong brands will gain its value through real life auction and not eBay.. :D

All of the above I am just ********ting tho.. Hehe.. Dun take it seriously.. :p

hungpenglee

I see quite a few whom bought the snzh57 are getting the fff mod. Just curious, such mods are usually done to replicate the original timepiece or challenge the original de? Paiseh for the noob qns because it never crossed my mind that I can mod a simple watch to look like very expensive watches... :p

I believe neither. Mods are mostly inspired by the originals. Many mod their to make their watches unique.

And i do know of some seiko watches that prices increase by a fair percentage. Example will be the Seiko Samurai, spork or 6105-80xx (if can find).:)

These 2 seikos are discontinued and their prices shoot up quite high.

yattokame

“Maradona always wears two watches when he travels – one set to local time and one set to the time back in Argentina."

Havent him heard of world timer or GMT? Lmao, totally unnecessary.:s22::s22::s22::s22:

hey hey hey somebody learnt about a world time zone today eh ;)

marketing tactic by hublot lor.

techead

I would agree with yatto dai kor..

Not that your theory is wrong.. Just that the depreciation is greater than the appreciation (inflation).. So in term of selling price (not retail selling price), it will only slow down the depreciation.. However, the good thing about big brands are that there is a cap to depreciation, not that after it cap then it will appreciate tho.. Not sure how to explain it but it is like a 30yr old Rolex and omega can still fetch 1000+..

And do note that mass market watches are not HDB.. Does not work the same way.. Even exclusive watches brand like pp ap vc als all suffer from depreciation..

Luxury watches are unique in its own ways, it is a rich man toy.. Probably only super limited edition from big strong brands will gain its value through real life auction and not eBay.. :D

All of the above I am just ********ting tho.. Hehe.. Dun take it seriously.. :p

End of the day, its your money.

Like buying shares if you think worth investing, by all means go ahead.

Nobody knows what will happen. Maybe tomorrow Rolex says stop producing Sub. All Subs will be worth a lot more. ;)

Thai_Rak_Thai

Oakley 07-234 Large Watch Soft Vault Storage Case

Small review of this watch case i purchased recently

I'm really fortunate to be able to travel a bit in my work. And I always primarily face two dilemmas:

- At the airport, where to put my watch for a body search (so it doesn't get tossed around / or get scratched)
- During travels, especially long hauls...wouldn't just having one watch be boring and maybe out of occasion, in case I needed a combination of a dress watch and a diving watch for example.

I had begun looking for a nice portable, durable case and most of what was available pointed to the Oakley 07-234. Then came the search to find it locally in Singapore but to no avail. Decided on Amazon and it cost USD20, shipping was USD9.98.

It finally came and I had brought it along two trips already before writing this review.

I would say the design is a simple clam-shell. Light and compact. Somewhat durable and sturdy (elephant sitting on it would definitely squash it) but in your luggage or haversack...a breeze to bring around. Would classify it an Oakley trademark - designed for outdoors. It is certainly of good quality.

The material inside is soft and would be gentle with your wrist possession. It fits almost big shape and sizes BUT only one piece.

This now provides an option of carrying at least two watches on my travels. Overall am very delighted with this case.

PROS

- small and compact, light
- gentle inside enough for your watch, hard enough outside to prevent knocks

CONS

- small could be achilles heel for some people. Negligible, prone to misplacement if careless
- pricey (subjective - but worth it in my opinion)

Recommended for travellers especially

gaoxing84

got more zai ppl here leh. I only one PP.

but I really think hublot is popular lately because of the marketing by THG. Top 3 is usually PP, AP and VC; or even JLC.

I also noticed my SA's tone for hublot changed quite a bit over the years. nowadays say until very good like that. :s22:

haha saw one unker wearing in tanjong pagar. buay pai. lol
i would put JLC, PP and AP as the big 3. lol

slow_mo

good question, never really thought about an exact definition. but here's how ebay has defined it, that has more or less been accepted as a number of dealers list on ebay as well:

Antique (pre 1920)
Vintage (1920-1970)
Vintage (1971-1983)
Retro (1984-1999)
Modern (2000-present)​

i don't think "retro" has caught on yet :s13:

I have a retro watch...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.