The Watch Thread - Part 5

aerolord

This thread really runs fast........... never see few days cannot catch up..

Headache about the Patek 5270g, stocks seems very limited, waited for THG until now they told me today I'll be the first to get but dunno when, maybe 2-3 months..
Found a nice grey dealer, able to get a piece from Europe to ship in but will take 6-8 weeks, price both THG and grey about the same. Grey dealer request an advance on 30%. THG tells me I will not be able to register the watch in my name if get through Grey. So how?
Here's the joke, sicken by the wait of hooting my toy, I went to hoot another toy today... share my joy, today hoot a prancing horse 458. Excited.... should be real fun!!!!

Not trying to be rude, but I really shout "What in the actual f", when I read it :s13::s13:..

Then I thought is some watch, then I go google image :eek:, you just bring what I shouted to the whole new level :s13:

But hey, share with us when your new toy arrives ;), me starting to get into car (still trying hard to get my licence :( )

this thread is really good for young aspiring working adults like me.
not towards being materialistic.
towards the sense that there are so many people that have made it in life.
this will spark me to want to do better in life.
to enjoy the perks of enjoying life.
to work really hard towards goals that I have set for myself.
to be successful in life and make life a enjoyable journey with little or no regrets when it comes to an end.

lol just suddenly thought of it when studying for exam.

Indeed, if you asked me few months ago, what is my plan after army... my answer confirm is

"Study lor, then come out work"

My boss recently ask me what's my plan after army, I replied

"Study hard, become successful"

Though it is just words that I've said, but at least I feel MUCH more motivated, MUCH more confident and can't wait to tackle new obstacles :)

This thread is more than just a watch thread :D

Azrielsc

@iceflight: Nope, not an ECC member. :)

Just love purity of the 12C and the 650S and its understated looks compared with its competitors. Fast, agile, comfy, has a useable boot and a clean steering wheel. Lower tax from its 3.8L engine does help too!

Test drive was a blast and not to be forgotten for a long time.

@VW: too bad the P1's sold out and they are all left-handers.

There is a website to rent Masers/Ferrari but think they are only coupe models. See if you find a AM Rapide, now that is da bomb, but mind your head, the c-pillars are lowwww.

Vanilla Way

Not trying to be rude, but I really shout "What in the actual f", when I read it :s13::s13:..

Then I thought is some watch, then I go google image :eek:, you just bring what I shouted to the whole new level :s13:

But hey, share with us when your new toy arrives ;), me starting to get into car (still trying hard to get my licence :( )

Jiayou for your driving! I passed mine when I'm 22,worked and saved during my sch holidays so I can have enough cash to go for lessons and test. Was really nervous during the test!!!

But I play cheat la I took automatic, cos wanna minimize my chances of failing (use my own money v hard pain lol) and somemore my family car is also an auto. Was over the moon when I cleared it on my first attempt :s13:

aerolord

Jiayou for your driving! I passed mine when I'm 22,worked and saved during my sch holidays so I can have enough cash to go for lessons and test. Was really nervous during the test!!!

But I play cheat la I took automatic, cos wanna minimize my chances of failing (use my own money v hard pain lol) and somemore my family car is also an auto. Was over the moon when I cleared it on my first attempt :s13:

I initially wanted to get auto one, like you say the cost very chor :(... but since young I told myself as a guy must get manual (dunno who drill that into my mindset :s22:).. :s13:

Now to learn hard :s13:, but 7th lesson, car still stall liked free :vijayadmin:... cham liao

cichlid

insanely awesome :D

never ever thought I'll be in a forum, made the first step and the next thing I know I am picking up about watches and getting to know many friendly and kind souls.

if there's anywhere I'll call home in the virtual world, this gonna be in this thread.

ya awesome thread, I joined HWZ for quite many years already but just recently started to post and only in this thread. =:p

a562140

still considering the bambino but that tissot grows on me. looks a lot more solid with stronger more masculine lines. :s8:

also that quirky number in front of the day is just quirky - i like!

seeking advice from bambino owners - what do you think? is it a different enough watch to consider the price difference?

ml_image.1654571.jpg

yattokame

The casio edifice for my cousin i bought a few years back.
He just came back from Japan and this happened.
Possible to fix? I havent seen the watch. He sent me this pic.

a562140

As I crossed 35 last year my paradigms began to shift.

do not be upset if you don't meet your goals; man proposes, heaven disposes. Luck plays a big part.

serendipity happens all the time but we are often too blind/busy to see.

while there are many who have made it in life, there are more who didn't.

do you need a lot of money to enjoy life? i know a lot of ppl who work non-stop and hardly have any time to enjoy their hard earned cash.

Do not look into your neighbour's bowl to see how much they have; the only time you look is to make sure they have enough to eat.

enjoy what you have, don't dwell on the have-nots. Life will sort itself out. for now, enjoy the company of your loved ones, and come talk-cock in this thread :s13:

very timely and good points to highlight, yatto. life is long and at 30 you're not even half way there yet , but these principles will bring you far in your life's journey :D

as much as this thread is positive for younger folks who are able to dream, we should always be sensitive to folks who never were given the chance....watch collecting fascinates me because particularly today, there is something for everyone, at every budget - whatever floats your boat!

yattokame

still considering the bambino but that tissot grows on me. looks a lot more solid with stronger more masculine lines. :s8:

seeking advice from bambino owners - what do you think? is it a different enough watch to consider the price difference?

ml_image.1654571.jpg

I think its a much smarter looking watch than the bambino!

a562140

me me me.

both my younger brother and me owns an tissot.
value for money watches
visodate and powermatic 80

ah visodate experts! see any fakes running yet? Got this from another forum post:

Fake
  • The winder was extremely stiff: so much so that I hurt my fingers trying to wind it.
  • The rotor (that does the self-winding) seemed to be stuck, at any rate it never moved.
  • The watch never seemed to hold a winding; after a full winding, and a day's wear, by the next morning it would have wound down.
  • The box had just white cardboard on the inside.
  • The day was slightly mis-adjusted: it had a bit of a slope to it, and was not vertically centered in the window.
  • Under strong (10x) magnification, the day has slightly blurry edges.

Genuine
  • The winder just purrs: you can feel the excellence of the engineering under your fingertips.
  • Watch power reserve works as within spec (usually enough for last the night after a day's wear)
  • The rotor swings easily with the slightest movement.
  • The cardboard is covered with a light fabric.
  • The day is prefectly aligned
  • The day is very clear even under magnification.
  • The movement seems to say "2834-2 DM ETA" - this is a movement which actually doesn't exist (with day/date at 3 o'clock) 2836-2 ETA

Jeremy1

Great..... hahaha,,,,,,, you probably have lots of time to do that, I'm way older than Yatto and in my forties..... but still on HWZ watch forums and watching anime....:eek::eek:

Think should be the same age as me but you are really very successful in life, I am still struggling to survive here..............................:sad:

Maybe wait and see how this coming Friday..........................:D

Pagani_Z0nda

Wow.... on hindsight this is even more expensive than liking bags, phew, my wife likes Bags, shoes, jewellery... if she starts to like watches.. jia lat:D:D

Like your taste, girl...

Astons are great but very dated, they no longer seem to innovate, Mclaren , not the P1 but the 12c is what I was considering too, love the way the doors open and the looks. But went to try it, found it difficult to get into and out of the car, the door sill is just too high and wide, The interior is not what I can stomach, too simple or for the enthusiast of track cars only..

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ahsIOVx93zs

The 458 seem to be a better car for passionate driving and excitement :s12:

yattokame

Think should be the same age as me but you are really very successful in life, I am still struggling to survive here..............................:sad:

Maybe wait and see how this coming Friday..........................:D

Pal, having a healthy body and a loving family matters more than anything else. The most common things we take for granted are also the most priceless.

josephkjc

The casio edifice for my cousin i bought a few years back.
He just came back from Japan and this happened.
Possible to fix? I havent seen the watch. He sent me this pic.

Looks like very bad water condensation inside of the glass.
Watch repair shop should be able to open and clean it up.
But dunno if the internal of the watch are affected.
My old Hugo Boss watch fog up and was cleaned up but not as Jialat as this until can see the water droplets.

Jeremy1

Pal, having a healthy body and a loving family matters more than anything else. The most common things we take for granted are also the most priceless.

True to say that but moi is SINGLE......................:o

ecan07

ml_image.1654571.jpg

Nice! Jin swee!

All in a Day

I have to fully agree on that although $ is also integral to the equation, espec in singapore n when it comes to healthcare n fighting the education social divide (this one is subjective..)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.