The Watch Thread - Part 6

jase07

I have not tried the nautilus but have tried the ROO. Personally feel the size of the ROO just nice :) Like the rugged looks also

Ok lah, there lower profile ones. Not necessary the Gshock look

Eg

4LArHhw.png

the 2014 one is nice!

patryn33

Just wanna get your guys opinion on these two watches. I choose them on the merits of their look, but would also like to buy something that is well-made or held in high regard in horology.

The Watch Quote: The Watch Quote: List Price and tariff for Zenith - El Primero - 36'000 VPH - 03.2040.400/21.C496 watch
or
The Watch Quote: The Watch Quote: List Price and tariff for Zenith - El Primero - Chronomaster Open - 03.2080.4021/21.C496 watch

Would buying these watches in Switzerland be cheaper?

Not really if u go thru AD. Usually same or a hundred or so cheaper

Try Swiss grey
http://www.timeofswitzerland.com/en/home

To avoid gst, u can ship
Box and receipts back, if u not the kind to kena check no worries

All the positive of EP are stated, note the watch doesn't hack
Servicing cost more, local service center may not do a good job. Complex movemt

ComicBoy

Last night I dreamt that my wife gave birth to one more kid (we have a pair of twins)......and the first thing that crossed my mind was : which kid inherit which watch? LOL

You never actually own a Patek Philippe. You merely look after it for the next generation.

:D

exxondus

crepas cayman here. the one with the propelor lume on the back dial :D

what would you like to know?

I am interested to order rhe banana leh. Any comments on their customer service and proj times? And most impt, are their build really worth the premium they kinda charging? Thanks!

rachdanon

Eat dinner even later!

Go grey... SG markup damn high

Yeah, not only watches the mark ups in SG for many stuff puts me off. I hate being taken for an undiscerning "rich" Asian who has too much money to spend. what do they take us for man!? That's where the American market is so good.

a562140

I am interested to order rhe banana leh. Any comments on their customer service and proj times? And most impt, are their build really worth the premium they kinda charging? Thanks!

i got it used so can't help you there. but there's another bro on here i believe who has both the crepas l'ocean and the doxa, can't remember who, maybe he'll reach out.

as for crepas quality, same as aquadive, SAS - these are top tier microbrands who can command their premium ... and prices are holding up well in the used market too.

materials are top notch: 316L sapphire bezel AR etc... and the
finishing is faultless.

rachdanon

And that also applies to the Pam 8/10 days movements with double/triple barrels? It feels like they are squeezing a lot of energy into a mechanical storage medium and will risk having more volatile amplitude differences from zero to full capacity.

Think that's the art of watchmaking. What you are touching on is called isochronism, I.e. Making the rate of the watch less affected by the amplitude of the swing of the balance wheel.

rachdanon

Hi guys, i got a budget for a watch not more than 10k. what sort of watch do you recommend?

This is gonna be my first luxury watch (hopefully not the last) and i wanted to buy something that i can use for quite some time.

Thinking of a rolex sub. Would that be a good start?
Got one friend suggested Omega Seamaster + Sinn

I buy watches the other way round. I see a watch that I like then I check if I have the budget to buy it. Funny hor.

But to answer your question, take as long as you want to decide its part of the fun. Take even 6 months say. Honestly, I don't buy the suggestions like as a first watch you should start with a Rolex Sub, then this, then that. That's so not unique! Watches are an extension of YOU. If everyone bought watches that way, we would all be having the same watches. 10k is going to get you a serious piece of watch, especially if you get from grey where you can get watches retailing at 13k-ish for 10k. Not many people actually buy a $10k watch, most will think you are nuts. Yes a lot of nuts here in this forum :D.

List out a few models you like and you should be able to tell which type/genre you are inclined towards eg dressy or sporty diver. Other than design, yes we cannot totally run away from the impression you give to others, for example if you make a meager sum and starting a family with kids and your colleagues see you sporting this bling bling $10k watch, it won't create a good impression of you. Again wear what suits YOU.

Then if you don't know much about watches you should be actively reading up because like I said you are going to buy a heck of a watch with $10k. So again that will take months. Mechanical vs quartz, their maintenance requirements, types of materials ( steel, ceramic, titanium, gold) types of straps and their suitability for different occasions (metal, leather, rubber, ceramic), the different watch complications (gmt, chronograph, moon phases, calendars), and so on.....a very good place to start is Watchuseek forums, a lot of knowledge there.

Enjoy :)

a562140

Think that's the art of watchmaking. What you are touching on is called isochronism, I.e. Making the rate of the watch less affected by the amplitude of the swing of the balance wheel.

did some digging and chatting with some movement nerds and uncovered some interesting points:

- Panerai's P2002 8 days has actually 11 days power reserve
- But accuracy falls away in the last 3 days (nearing exhaustion)
- So the QC tolerances found in every copy of the manual - unique to each watch, a COSC equivalent but less strict - reflects only the 8 days from fully wound

this is not published anywhere but seems to make a lot of sense.

ForumRider

did some digging and chatting with some movement nerds and uncovered some interesting points:

- So the QC tolerances found in every copy of the manual - unique to each watch, a COSC equivalent but less strict - reflects only the 8 days from fully wound

I did read that 510 can go up to 9-11 days

rachdanon

The IWC 8-days was notorious for inaccuracies at different states of winding. I guess it ain't easy to adjust for isochronism.

alwaysnforever

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.