The Watch Thread - Part 6

exxondus

Talk about serendipity... This just came in today

Was inspired to get this piece after channel surfing and saw the kontiki movie. Googled and got it online at a super price.

This is really a blind buy though, have not seen it IRL, but the 44mm suprisingly fits my puny wrist.

Y7CEfvv.jpg

Nice! I like such cushion shaped watches. Mind PM me where you got this? Might also be interested. Thanks!

patryn33

i read from some interviews with chinese watch manufacturers, e.g. dongfeng/seagull. probably not this year, will post link if i can find it.

if you follow the 60% swiss rule there was a huge debate within the swiss parliament themselves. and was only going to be applied in the watch industry, not trains etc. and took years for the ratio to be upped from 50%.

watch aficinados and WIS welcome it to support the whole swiss idea, but swatch and the bigger watch groups were under threat as 50% made in swiss could be conferred as 50% made in china too :) if china required it to be by way of import legislations.

counterarguments is that 60% made in switzerland will see the end of cheap swiss watches (e.g. mondaine), and an influx of chinese owned swiss run factories.

also this 60% rule excludes costs of raw materials e.g. steel... as switzerland does not have raw materials, and now includes costs of RnD so if you ask me, very open to creative accounting.

No matter how u do it: there will always be creative accounting that's a no brainier, no need to ask but a given. Look at apple, etc it exist every where.
CEO is always about max profit.

New rules all take time to implement things never happen over nite, it's like automotive industry not out android phone. Lol

If one is concern with these stuff ( where raw materials is source, R&d, finishing, case, strap etc) do your research b4 buying.
If not just buy what u like and be happy with the quality if exist lol.

balzebub

Btw, more and more people buying Panerai watches from the boutique huh? My friend spotted 2 bags yesterday, and I spotted one today.

Got sale ah? Haha
Maybe tourist or its some model that is OOS else where?

chickenbackside

How about a FC?
There's one for sale now at SGROC. Owner is asking $1580.

Singapore Rolex Club

Frederique Constant Manufacture Classics FC-710MC4H6 (In-House Movement)

Immaculate condition, seldom wear watch for sale. Absolutely no scratch, flawless time keeping. Comes complete with nice wooden box and outer box. No more warranty.

4slax4.jpg

5fn788.jpg

j7xcn6.jpg

2vajb74.jpg

Price: SGD 1,580.00

Interested please sms/whatsapp 91370980.

Thanks.

Hua_Hui

guys i plan to get straps from JW. may I know if they sell straps that come with deployant clasps too? tmr go see see during lunch... pls advise thanks :D

a562140

No matter how u do it: there will always be creative accounting that's a no brainier, no need to ask but a given. Look at apple, etc it exist every where.
CEO is always about max profit.

New rules all take time to implement things never happen over nite, it's like automotive industry not out android phone. Lol

If one is concern with these stuff ( where raw materials is source, R&d, finishing, case, strap etc) do your research b4 buying.
If not just buy what u like and be happy with the quality if exist lol.

agree with buy what you like...but i like to be an informed consumer.

any jerry seinfeld fans ? caveat emptor !

Paladium

cost for me to buy lah
bought in malaysia, already cheaper than local i think

ORIENT STAR DE00003B Retrograde Power Reserve Watch

i THINK i paid less than this.
got to check my cc statement ahha

*edit. yes i paid 600+ for this. exactly i forget liao cos i bought together with another silver OS retrograde for my sister

It's highly doubtful you will be able to sell your used watch at cost. ;)

duameatball

Hi bros, RCP here.

Just wanna ask about this old armani watch that my ah yi bought for me many years ago. Very worn and wanna repair. Due to sentimental value so I wanna keep it.

Need change battery and change leather strap. Anyone know where I should go to change? Go armani or any recommended places?

Plus, I'm eyeing on Daniel wellington's range. I know, very mainstream, but how you all feel about it? Got any cheaper alternative if not worth the money?

Paiseh i noob, hope i didn't embarrass myself

Paladium

Hi bros, RCP here.

Just wanna ask about this old armani watch that my ah yi bought for me many years ago. Very worn and wanna repair. Due to sentimental value so I wanna keep it.

Need change battery and change leather strap. Anyone know where I should go to change? Go armani or any recommended places?

Plus, I'm eyeing on Daniel wellington's range. I know, very mainstream, but how you all feel about it? Got any cheaper alternative if not worth the money?

leather strap as long as you know the lug width you can easily find replacement online or otherwise. If you want to preserve the original look then go back to Armani.

As for DW alternative you can check out

https://www.brathwait.com/

Its use of sapphire glass and swiss quartz already beats DW.

Donten

Hi bros, RCP here.

worn&wound | Orient Bambino FER2400BW0 Review - worn&wound

Orient Dress Watches: The Best Budget Option? | aBlogtoWatch

Orient ladies’ Watch – Once in a Blue Moon DB0A009D | Yeoman's Watch Review

Zelos Chroma

all of the above is better than the DW crap.

Retrospect18

Anyone recommendations for a dress watch between 1000 to 1500?? Looking for something nice for my wedding and first decent watch.. :o

a562140

agree with buy what you like...but i like to be an informed consumer.

any jerry seinfeld fans ? caveat emptor !

and in the same vein

Truth In Watch Movement Advertising And Defining Watch Caliber Origins Once And For All | aBlogtoWatch

if the watch industry followed most other industries, most companies that advertise in-house made movements would charge less than those companies that rely on movements from suppliers - but that isn't the case. The way the industry gets around the "norm" is by claiming that their movements are more complicated, better finished, or simply, more interesting. More often than not, these companies don't really say anything at all, offering the tacit message to the consumer that, "of course in-house is better!"

There are really two main reasons a watch company wants to produce movements in-house today. The first reason is what I have been discussing, and is related to marketing, building up the exclusivity of the brand, and being able to justify higher prices for their watches. The second reason is far more practical, and that is because, as of today, it is both expensive and difficult to get movements from outside suppliers.

a562140

Talk about serendipity... This just came in today

Was inspired to get this piece after channel surfing and saw the kontiki movie. Googled and got it online at a super price.

This is really a blind buy though, have not seen it IRL, but the 44mm suprisingly fits my puny wrist.

Y7CEfvv.jpg

S-n-a-p !

2014-10-07%2B08.34.24.jpg

got this reissue, because of the IDF connection and could not find a decent original vintage.

An Israeli Defense Forces-Issued Eterna Kon-Tiki in NOS Condition: This One Never Made It Into Action

very faithful reproduction of the real thing, i like the quirky seconds hand, very bold, very functional as you would expect of a military watch. its a safe queen and never thought I'd find another in SG considering the brand is not well known here.

my serial is < #500 (out of a limited run of 1973) - just curious what's yours?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.