The Watch Thread - Part 6

ForumRider

I don't think there is a "legal" way to evade taxes. I've been on several trips to Europe and every trip I'll purchase 1-2 watches. What I do is to wear the new watch, keep the other in my bag or pocket and pack the boxes in the luggage, so far no issues. Normally customs won't bother unless you're buying a lot.

how about the watch box especially those big kind?

I understand that nowadays when u exit the arrival hall, the security will get everyone to scan their luggage..

Lezzare

how about the watch box especially those big kind?

I understand that nowadays when u exit the arrival hall, the security will get everyone to scan their luggage..

Hmm, on these trips I'm either with colleagues or my wife, hence I can spread the boxes. I didn't know they were so strict, I think I'm just lucky I haven't got scanned.

Ted100

What I do is to wear the new watch, keep the other in my bag or pocket and pack the boxes in the luggage, so far no issues. Normally customs won't bother unless you're buying a lot.

Sorry, should have been clearer. I meant if I were to buy online and get the watch posted to Singapore.

ForumRider

Hmm, on these trips I'm either with colleagues or my wife, hence I can spread the boxes. I didn't know they were so strict, I think I'm just lucky I haven't got scanned.

I can spread the boxes into different luggage...maybe 1 per luggage? I have 2 plus another 2 with my wife.

Now the custom is quite strict. Recently I came back from Australia, everyone's luggage got checked....

So I m wary of buying few watches back unless the watch box is small like Rolex... then probably still ok

Lezzare

Sorry, should have been clearer. I meant if I were to buy online and get the watch posted to Singapore.

Only if the seller is willing to declare the watch at a lower price. Risk is if watch is lost during transit, you can only claim back the declared value. To minimise risk, you better use courier service (i.e. DHL, FedEx, TNT). My opinion is that if you have substantial savings by buying online, just pay the 7%.

Ted100

My opinion is that if you have substantial savings by buying online, just pay the 7%.

Thanks for the advice. I'm looking to get either a Stowa or Damasko, and I don't think either brand is stocked locally. So I have to purchase online.

kiosai

Hi guys,

When you guys buy from overseas and the price exceeds $400, do you always get hit with the 7% GST?

Is there a legit way to get avoid paying the 7%?

"Siamming" the 7% is also known as tax evasion..

The law is written liddat, just because u hear of people doing creative things, doesn't mean it's not illegal.

The standard NS rule of "Do what u want. Dun get caught" applies yah?
Does the impact of getting caught outweighs the savings? Do consider thoroughly.. ;)

pwillie

Thanks for the advice. I'm looking to get either a Stowa or Damasko, and I don't think either brand is stocked locally. So I have to purchase online.

My experience is that if you use
Post/EMS - they don't track the value, never been taxed
DHL - sometimes they check and tax you
FedEx - Kena tax every time

rachdanon

xlvux4.jpg

Good morning,start of a new week.

MACHO!!

Boring morning...changing back to the original bracelet...

C5185A39-06CA-4A10-9F18-DA988EAB59E7_zps9if4tgxw.jpg

CHIO!!

griffin jr

i have been to taizhong/feng jia

didnt really enjoy the food there. surprisingly some chicken thigh i ate at roadside stall was super nice. couldn't recall the stall name :(

it's a tossup btwn bb and seiko sarg011.. most prob will bring la. i love it the most among all.

I say wear the bb :) after seeing ur regular pics of ur bb, i also tio poison. Plus i like the fact tt it can be treated like a daily beater tts trusty

jonleelk

Stowa only use fedex. So confirm kenna gst. Damasko can buy locally from gonomon.

FuzzyMuzzy

Recently been reading up on the history of Stowa watches and got carried away with the history of B-uhr watches and the Baumuster A/B types and all the other original producers. Just wanna ask everyone cause I see that now we use the term Flieger to describe these style of pilot watches as well, anyone know the difference between Flieger and B-uhr or are they interchangeable?

wanker88

Long time no post..................... how are you guys?

Still my favourite... the Lange Datograph is something that even Philippe Dufour bought....

P1010820.jpg

P1010826.jpg

2 very iconic models. Not a fan of the double chin 5270 though.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.