K3vlar

QkEU1Zz.jpg

Did you just buy or what??? :D

rachdanon

Wah a lot of discussion today. Flipping through while eating my hor fun. Eh very philosophical .....and some brooding not healthy leh. Its just watch. Lets enjoy it as a hobby/interest no different from gardening. Lately I've taken to potted plants. :D If not for being mesmerized by a mechnical watch, Id be happy with my phone.

a562140

Yes, that's exactly the issue. A lot of my friends are hesitant to touch vintage because of it.

And yes, I concur with pwillie that the majority of it goes into buying the seller. To the layman especially (myself included). Best if you find a seller who's an enthusiast and knows the watch he's selling inside and out. For instance, online-wise if you surf a vintage forum long enough, you'll know which names are the big guns, and when one of them releases something it usually comes with full disclosure and is snapped up fairly fast.

Research is the second aspect for me. Especially important if it's a widely-known watch - e.g. for certainty on rolex you ought to know the details down to the dial version (mk 1, 2, 3 etc; what are the corresponding years of issue), bezel insert, caseback, what polished vs unpolished looks like, etc.

The third is correspondence. Correspondence with the seller to get as much info as possible on service history, where/whom he bought it from, any other details. Correspondence in terms of reference checks (if you're buying online). Soliciting views from experts on pics of the watch.

It's a fair bit of work, but rewarding because you generally know what you're getting for the money. Alternatively, make friends with people who are in the know, and rope them in whenever you have an itch for something!

that's very thorough and very commendable. but still no guarantee - e.g. case of John Meyer and his super vintage rolex - even experts couldn't tell it was fake parts.

if you're buying for investment then you'll need to be thorough in due diligence because of whats at stake.

but you can still get involved with vintage watch collecting with much less stringent criteria and going for friendlier pieces e.g. based on proven movements with parts availability; so long as its genuine, replacement with new parts for wear and tear does not take anything away from appreciating used watches. sure you're not going to make a lot of money out of it, but likely you're still going to lose less money than buying new.

njchay1981

Working late today to clear paper work. Taking a breath and read all the posts today.
Seems there is quite a discussion today

Is it the camera angle or are my eyes playing tricks on me?

Seems that the lug-to-lug is so long on the new Speedy that it overpowers the wrist!

Any thoughts anyone?

arctuates

Yeah. Hardly any guarantees when dealing with vintage watches, unless you make an actual barn find...

Vintage rolexes especially, I find to be super tough to commit. Almost every ad is misleading. For instance, mention of original parts in many instances (most, really) doesn't mean original to the watch - only that it's OEM. So the caveat inevitably is, don't buy for investment, buy because you like it.

I need to read the John Meyer article you mentioned, I haven't seen that one...

Thai_Rak_Thai

Wah a lot of discussion today. Flipping through while eating my hor fun. Eh very philosophical .....and some brooding not healthy leh. Its just watch. Lets enjoy it as a hobby/interest no different from gardening. Lately I've taken to potted plants. :D If not for being mesmerized by a mechnical watch, Id be happy with my phone.

...you need a new watch bro

Chronology

Reading this thread to have a breather.. Nice pieces, especially the Seiko by DuaPuiJi! :)

On a side note, Why.. why does FRS have to be so hard to understand. Argh!

rachdanon

ya, Seiko should do it ;)
16154849186_9a5abf33f7_b.jpg

15932050628_1cbd84ff9d_b.jpg

14804307614_bfb7edfeed_b.jpg

Every watch forum has a great photographer. You're it!

....Like the last one especially. I'm a sucker for black white grey.....it shows in my watches too.

cichlid

....Like the last one especially. I'm a sucker for black white grey.....it shows in my watches too.

Thanks for the compliment bro, I'm just a photography enthusiast ;)

yattokame

yeah man agree!

I think hisokaka's pics also damn solid.

honestly I miss dahui's muscles pics. I really hope to see him with a dssd or 47mm submersibles.....power.....

exxondus

Bought a car in Uni for 6.5k last time. Definitely attainable then... :)

Ok. Not really a car... it's a lao pok car.

Wtf! 6.5k can get a car? I can't imagine sia. When i bought my nsr150, preown already costs 6-7k!!

Ok back to watches :D

cichlid

yeah man agree!

I think hisokaka's pics also damn solid.

honestly I miss dahui's muscles pics. I really hope to see him with a dssd or 47mm submersibles.....power.....

ya agree, I'm hisokaka's fan actually ;)

a562140

Actually don't know whether to be glad or sad that JLC is not very recognized here.

But I think it is a watch with great heritage and movement at a very good price point.

Looks like we all got good taste :D. Are you all planning to get yours at local AD?

This one next level xian-ing skill already. :s34:
yah, i didn't know what hit me... she was that good, and a car works ;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.