Hisokaka

Dressy today

ae909791-4b11-4a4b-8485-125b987408bf1667738131.jpg

Sent from my demented mind using GAGT

a562140

one of the better initiatives from PP to revive interest in pilot watches. will this be a start of a trend ?

Patek-Philippe-Calatrava-Pilot-Travel-Time-Ref.-5524-1.jpg

love the simple and elegant "dot" indicator, also found on the Pam233k.

Zaalaa

hi watch experts here. i have never wear a watch except for the CASIO watch in NS. :s13:

next month is my 1st anniversary. so decided to buy something meaningful and functional for my wife.

as she likes the brand Cartier alot. I have shortlisted Ballon Bleu de Cartier watch.

W6920071_0_cartier_watches.png

or
WE902074_0_cartier_watches_0.png

reason for Steel Strap is that it should be able to last compared to leather straps. And neglecting the gold designs as i afraid they might fade overtime.

have not went to the stores to see, but 33mm looks great, i'm afraid 36mm will be too big.

also chose automatic as i think i like the idea of no battery and little winding needed.

Quartz better or Automatic better for this brand?

anyone can help? any comments on this as an anniversary gift? she is 24 and i'm 25 years old if that matters.

thanks.

gaoxing84

I beg to differ, 2 points that made it different from the ROO:
1.the limited ed usually is focused on commemorating a space event, thus it is more meaningful than for something that is hardly associated with (ROO orchard rd/lebron, speedy schumacher:s22:)
2.price range of the Speedy much lesser than a AP ROO when Omega is marketed for the masses, though i would agree with you when the speedy price goes to a ROO level (god forbid), where a certain exclusivity is expected

but as aXXXXXX points out, it runs the risk of having too many editions, esp with a single edt running in thousands.
but then without limited editions, what can the fanboys spend on? :o

that's so true. gotta feed their hunger, if not also sian.
lol

yattokame

hi watch experts here. i have never wear a watch except for the CASIO watch in NS. :s13:

next month is my 1st anniversary. so decided to buy something meaningful and functional for my wife.

as she likes the brand Cartier alot. I have shortlisted Ballon Bleu de Cartier watch.

or

reason for Steel Strap is that it should be able to last compared to leather straps. And neglecting the gold designs as i afraid they might fade overtime.

have not went to the stores to see, but 33mm looks great, i'm afraid 36mm will be too big.

also chose automatic as i think i like the idea of no battery and little winding needed.

anyone can help? any comments on this as an anniversary gift? she is 24 and i'm 25 years old if that matters.

thanks.

thats very sweet of you

the ballon bleu (PRCs call it 蓝气球; they love it) is really a very nice piece. i had a few female frens asking me abt it recently as well. And no, your wife def not one of my frens - we are all uncles and aunties liao hahahaha

U have to let her try it on, as pictures and estimations are not accurate at all.

Quartz has little maintenance issue except u must change the battery every few years. Girls tend to prefer quartz as they are fuss free: adjusting the date and time will ruin their manicure ;)

i dun think gold will fade unless it is plated. Cartier should be using solid gold IIRC.

you may also look at other collections in cartier like santos series, tank, etc

As much as I believe this to be a surprise gift, still better to let her try it on and see if she loves it. Cannot bring back for exchange once out of the shop. Alternatively u can measure her wrist size and ask one of the SA to model for you. Still, diff folks diff pref for size.

Godspeed!

a562140

or

thanks.

quartz if first and staple luxury watch, especially for gals.
non-plated if you want this to go the distance.

any thoughts about something more distinctive and classic and e.g a tank francaise? something that all her galfriends can immediately recognize and swoon over?

slow_mo

any thoughts about something more distinctive and classic and e.g a tank francaise? something that all her galfriends can immediately recognize and swoon over?

Quartz is good! My wife wears her quartz Tag when she goes overseas. Just pick up and go!

Zaalaa

thats very sweet of you

the ballon bleu (PRCs call it 蓝气球; they love it) is really a very nice piece. i had a few female frens asking me abt it recently as well. And no, your wife def not one of my frens - we are all uncles and aunties liao hahahaha

U have to let her try it on, as pictures and estimations are not accurate at all.

Quartz has little maintenance issue except u must change the battery every few years. Girls tend to prefer quartz as they are fuss free: adjusting the date and time will ruin their manicure ;)

i dun think gold will fade unless it is plated. Cartier should be using solid gold IIRC.

you may also look at other collections in cartier like santos series, tank, etc

As much as I believe this to be a surprise gift, still better to let her try it on and see if she loves it. Cannot bring back for exchange once out of the shop. Alternatively u can measure her wrist size and ask one of the SA to model for you. Still, diff folks diff pref for size.

Godspeed!
thanks for the advice! aunties and uncle doesn't matter. look nice and ownself feel happy okay liao! :s13:

i should really find an opportunity to let her try some or find some shops with similar looking ones. must think of ways to make it a surprise.

hmmmm... seems like quartz is the way to go.

yes headturner and swoon over will be great. will take a look at tank francaise too. somehow i like the rounded ones more, feels more modern and fitting in singapore, looks more young to me also.

thanks! :o

Paladium

thanks.

Auto or quartz depends if she mind the watch going dead on her if she does not wear it say.. over the weekend, then having to wind it up when she picks it up to wear on Mon.

Or is she the type who is fuss free and prefer to pick and go.

Going by design alone, the first one is nicer.

a562140

thanks for the advice! aunties and uncle doesn't matter. look nice and ownself feel happy okay liao! :s13:

i should really find an opportunity to let her try some or find some shops with similar looking ones. must think of ways to make it a surprise.

yes headturner and swoon over will be great. will take a look at tank francaise too. somehow i like the rounded ones more, feels more modern and fitting in singapore, looks more young to me also.

also try the ladies santos if you find the tank too angular. the thing that works for cartier ladies is that the strong bracelet design - testament to cartier as a jewelry designer. you can complete the look with matching cartier rings and bangles too.

its also this immediately identifiable bracelet that make both the tank francais and santos ladies watch classics.

with quartz be diligent to change battery regularly before the time is up.

shidenx

one of the better initiatives from PP to revive interest in pilot watches. will this be a start of a trend ?

Patek-Philippe-Calatrava-Pilot-Travel-Time-Ref.-5524-1.jpg

love the simple and elegant "dot" indicator, also found on the Pam233k.

looks good but i found the chopped off 6 and cartoony number fonts to be distracting.

rachdanon

So much advice given so nothing much to add. I think try doing some window shopping get her to point out some designs she might like. You never know instead of these petite feminine types she has her eye on a Panerai! Also she might find the Cartiers too dressy for everyday use. When I buy my wife a watch I like her to wear it as often as possible and not just dressy special occasions.

No lah ... its bro Hisokaka's photography skills. :D

No denying his skills..but I think the same for the many other Orients posted on this thread.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.