The Watch Thread - Part 9

sinistral

i mean i know whats JDM. cars also got JDM and stuff. but i dunno are there specific models which are jdm or what.

I am pretty sure Seiko models with their model number like this XXXX***, where 'X' is alphabet and '*' is numeric, have kanji daywheel

e.g. http://www.seiyajapan.com/collections/seiko/products/seiko-automatic-presage-sary059

S-SARY057_h_1024x1024.jpg

TeenTitan01

Bro teentitan, where chiu hoot ur 2254 from?

chinatown. was window shopping and was really, REALLY surprised & excited when i saw it in one of the window displays inside a 2nd hand shop. frankly, i haven't seen one in the wild on anyone's wrist yet. when bro gaoxing84 shared his good fortune snagging one in japan for under $2k, i thought i had to share mine as well.

market prices are definitely much more than that, for sure!

my 2254.50 purchase is pure luck and good fortune! but even at $1 a day, it'll take me more than 5 years to pay it off - even longer than a new AD rolex warranty! :s13:

rboyboy

my seiko srp639k says hi!

ebe184fd3e.jpg

got it at the height of its craze last year cos like who can say no to a sexy yellow-accented black/silver diver? it's just too chio! i had a hard time snagging one cos it was forever out-of-stock then. it taught me a lesson to "lun" cos you can now easily buy one with a healthy discount off its recommended retail if you know where to look.

unfortunately, i now kena poisoned by the aquadive bathyscape 100 gmt deep orange! help! damn aquadive for making their attractive watches! :(

luckily, i have my iconic seiko orange monster to take the edge off. yeah, i can be a sucker for bright colors like yellow/orange for that sporty look.

having my omega 2254.50 also help to stave off the instant gratification urge to bbb - cos when you've the best (that i can afford anyway), you can forget the rest (that i can't afford). :D

too hard to resists and I managed to "lun" too. Remember it was around 450 in those shops and islandwide is like almost OOS! Bought a preowned one like one year later and I was kinda glad I delayed my purchase. Well no prizes for getting it earlier anyway. I was lusting after this...

AP1.jpg

gaoxing84

chinatown. was window shopping and was really, REALLY surprised & excited when i saw it in one of the window displays inside a 2nd hand shop. frankly, i haven't seen one in the wild on anyone's wrist yet. when bro gaoxing84 shared his good fortune snagging one in japan for under $2k, i thought i had to share mine as well.

my 2254.50 purchase is pure luck and good fortune! but even at $1 a day, it'll take me more than 5 years to pay it off - even longer than a new AD rolex warranty! :s13:

same same.
i found it based on luck. haha
see a 2254.50 in the wild, must hoot if under 2.2k. depending on cond

gaoxing84

nice.......my experiences with skywatches were okay leh. quite good in fact. but yes, they do get pushy. may I know why some seiko watches have kanji day wheel? I really like the kanji style.

nice one :) personally i still very much prefer the red one with the distressed leather strap although i guess most folks prefer this black one

c5e0a46e553e40a3f6a4f403f571bd58.jpg

I fap to this :)

both kym? :o
1FF67D52-8D97-4CEE-8FDB-EF2F35092237_zpsartnzm3l.jpg

knightcover

Power to u bro! Really good piece at good price. Camping at chinatown nao!

pwillie

My next target...still saving up to get it! Haven't seen any used pieces on the market yet...

Btw, what is the typical discount for JLCs if buy from ADs ah? Last I heard standard 15%?

black dial is boutique model, so i dont think ADs will have. but i have seen grey dealers at much better price than boutique.
boutique wont give much, although i got abt 15% off at BKK boutique, SG only willing to give 5%

http://collectorstime.com/brands/jaeger-lecoultre/master-ultra-thin-moon-black

TeenTitan01

don't buy AP, the servicing is madness hahaha

i'd stay clear of the AP ROOs - the current watch of choice of loud & vulgar ah beng ah longs.

for the price one is willing to splash on an AP ROO, you're safer (and saner) with rolex. at least value retention & image problem is less of a worry.

nevertheless, i do have a soft spot for the iconic AP royal oak jumbo ultra thin. it's in my crosshairs when i strike toto. :D

rboyboy

i'd stay clear of the AP ROOs - the current watch of choice of loud & vulgar ah beng ah longs.

for the price one is willing to splash on an AP ROO, you're safer (and saner) with rolex. at least value retention & image problem is less of a worry.

nevertheless, i do have a soft spot for the iconic AP royal oak jumbo ultra thin. it's in my crosshairs when i strike toto. :D

15202 :s12::s12:

Ed.YEO

SWATCH 智能运动錶款已经上市!

842893_f3036fa304d773eea77a82c68a7c460c.jpg

MUSTAFA开始销售!每款$169
(左上角 与 右下角还未到。。。)​

yattokame

Creationwatches got sale i think. Some sturhling diver for just $109. Plenty of others also. Sold my 305 and am looking for a diver. Cant decide which. Pam24 or 24C? Sub or hulk? Or AP diver?

denial86

Something as superfluous as watches, only you can say whether something is worth it..

But based on Rolex's history, robustness and brand power, IMO yes.

To be honest, from what I've seen being shared here so far, I have been impressed that gone are the days when a Rolex is something only a rich old man wears in gaudy gold color. Better still if it has resale value! :D A Rolex does have resale value right?...

advice from a poor uncle here: wearing a $10k note on your wrist means your wallet is $10k lighter. also, a luxury mechanical watch eventually needs servicing & maintenance. be prepared for a luxury-sized bill, of course.

loaded-to-the-gills bigshots like all the dai dai kor, dai kor dais and dai kors here are unaffected of course.

Haha I agree with that sentiment well, that's why I am not into branded stuff. But perhaps a man would appreciate having at least 1 legit watch in his lifetime?

To be honest, my husband spent a bomb on my engagement ring when I didn't ask for it (we are mid-range earners) and I've always felt like one day I should reciprocate because he's worth it to me too. =:p Otherwise, I'm never ever, ever going to spend on anything more than 1k on myself. :s13::s13::s13:

On another note, have you guys ever shared photos of the full range of your collections? Because man.. I'm very curious how awesome that must look! :eek:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.