The Watch Thread - Part 9

rachdanon

Small strap review after 1.5 years

After I got my PAM in early 2014 I did not want to spend unnecessarily on straps. Yes I am an atypical Paneristi, of maybe I am not deserving of that title :).

I got a budget Rios 1931 strap from Panatime. I think it was around 80 bucks. The strap is likely genuine leather with padding. So it is not a full grain or better form of leather that we see in more expensive straps.

1.5 years have passed. I use the strap about 2 out of 7 days in a week. At the start I did wash of sweat with light soap and water and applied some leather cream but only about 3 to 4 times.

The black of the leather has started to fade, like those old black belts. The outline of the padding is beginning to show. Photos speak better below. So what do you who have the more expensive straps, are they holding up better than this budget strap? I would think so....

On the other extreme there are the original Panerai straps that cost...$400+? I think a medium price strap say from JnS of about $200 could be the sweet spot. Would like a strap to last as long as possible while maintaining its look, for life if possible with a natural aged look.

This post is to share my experience and also to garner advice for next strap. Any comments?

Screenshot_2016-01-10-09-41-43_zpscxrj2cvt.jpg

Screenshot_2016-01-10-10-35-09_zpsul3cyhss.jpg

jonleelk

Interested in Seiko turtle. Anyone knows where is the best place to buy one? And whats the RRP in Sg

saw it at mustafa yesterday but not the best place to get... retail price should be 600 plus

Mustafa used to be selling cheapest. $420 for rubber and $440 for steel. Bros who saw it post in seiko club Singapore FB to share the good lobang. Next Thong Siah ordered Mustafa not to sell so cheap because other retailers complain. So new price is $452 and $492.

naro

First week of January has been tough zzzz.
Thank god for the weekend.

Tisell sub fixed back, asked the shop to tighten the screws on the bracelet links.

2a778u0.jpg

U didn't request to customize it without the cyclops?

pwillie

hurh, so This is Fate = Jia wei?

This is Fate aka Jia Wei.... Buay steady reh if true..haiz

Wa why here also have CSI scary

why csi him out sia?

TLDR summary:
all bcos i was browsing to see how much a snoopy ltd ed costs now.
Happen to see snoopy+worldtimer+57 in sgroc FB and both are listed as Brand New
I think its really coincidental that someone with the same watches showing himself wearing the same watches in this thread and then selling it as BNIB... so i'm calling it out since the poster is denying it.
then his knee jerk reaction to delete all the BNIB descriptions :s13:
btw i'm not csi-ing out his particulars just his listings.
anyway this will be the last time i'm doing bcos csi is hard work... machiam writing a blardy report
next time i just arm chio at those buyers :s8:

iV3RsOn

Mustafa used to be selling cheapest. $420 for rubber and $440 for steel. Bros who saw it post in seiko club Singapore FB to share the good lobang. Next Thong Siah ordered Mustafa not to sell so cheap because other retailers complain. So new price is $452 and $492.

When I was there, they ask me see the price tag until I saw $520. How u get $452 and $492?

TLDR summary:
I think its really coincidental that someone with the same watches showing himself wearing the same watches in this thread and then selling it as BNIB... so i'm calling it out since the poster is denying it.
anyway this will be the last time i'm doing bcos csi is hard work... machiam writing a blardy report

must be careful of you liao

Henabi

After I got my PAM in early 2014 I did not want to spend unnecessarily on straps. Yes I am an atypical Paneristi, of maybe I am not deserving of that title :).

I got a budget Rios 1931 strap from Panatime. I think it was around 80 bucks. The strap is likely genuine leather with padding. So it is not a full grain or better form of leather that we see in more expensive straps.

1.5 years have passed. I use the strap about 2 out of 7 days in a week. At the start I did wash of sweat with light soap and water and applied some leather cream but only about 3 to 4 times.

The black of the leather has started to fade, like those old black belts. The outline of the padding is beginning to show. Photos speak better below. So what do you who have the more expensive straps, are they holding up better than this budget strap? I would think so....

On the other extreme there are the original Panerai straps that cost...$400+? I think a medium price strap say from JnS of about $200 could be the sweet spot. Would like a strap to last as long as possible while maintaining its look, for life if possible with a natural aged look.

This post is to share my experience and also to garner advice for next strap. Any comments?

Screenshot_2016-01-10-09-41-43_zpscxrj2cvt.jpg

Screenshot_2016-01-10-10-35-09_zpsul3cyhss.jpg

Where is the God of straps?!?!?!!?

fade_white

TLDR summary:

I see, yeah should not call it BNIB... BNIB should be still with factory stickers and cling wrapped from AD haha..
Instead should call it LNIB? What's the criteria for LNIB? Like quite a grey area.

zXioNGz

not me bro, i havent decided which to sell yet...
14.5k price is for used or new?

After backtracking and read this, quite amusing :D. Plus this fate guy seems to suddenly disappear from this thread after this disgracing saga lolol.

Used but said brand new, looked down on people like this, this is considered "scamming" a big voodoo on online trading

PS: Kudos to bro pwillie for the CSI!

xuan87

I see, yeah should not call it BNIB... BNIB should be still with factory stickers and cling wrapped from AD haha..
Instead should call it LNIB? What's the criteria for LNIB? Like quite a grey area.

i think the term most commonly misused is "mint", which originally was used to describe coins that look like they came from the mint. So when applied to other items, it should be in condition like brand new, with all original covering and protection still left on, not taken out of the box.

In fact for me, once I've taken the item out of the box, no matter how pristine and flawless the condition is, I will only label the condition as 9.5/10, never 10/10.

And as for the new Seiko Turtle, if you're not fussy about warranty and am willing to take some risk, you can check out Carousell for best price.

xuan87

Hour Boutique is selling the blue Seiko Scallop for $480 only on Carousell!! That's a damn good price! :eek::eek:

In comparison, i paid S$469.30 from Massdrop for mine.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.