The Watch Thread - Part 9

gaoxing84

And who's to say what the original piece is? So if we go by your logic, its useless to like any other speedy other than the original CK2913 speedmaster?

lol the basic piece la. the standard issue la. the one fly to moon. jin satki one. you know right?

:s22:

nobody have to follow my logic. that's what I thought. I didn't say he's wrong.

iV3RsOn

lol the basic piece la. the standard issue la. the one fly to moon. jin satki one. you know right?

:s22:

nobody have to follow my logic. that's what I thought. I didn't say he's wrong.

It's true. Both of us landed on the moon Liao.

iV3RsOn

我的信念就是那么简单。
有些人总爱笑我潮州人,每分每毫爱计算。。。就连修表师傅都说,潮州人爱梅花。哈~~~

Tia gong Teochew nang all quite rich de

griffin jr

Haha... Same like computer, everyone wants the TOP specs but do you really need it...? Most not. But AP PP Rolex are all Super luxury Brand to fiddle with. Even for my Dad he wants to grab a Rolex also because of its Brand but considering much even tho I say I'll pay half for him. It's got nothing to do with how it works, seriously doubt all those rich men know too hahaha.

Like I also don't know Tag Heuer is such a not recommended brand... Always thought it's good lol

you seem to be very whimsical. 4k is not a small sum of money (this is subjective in the world of horology) and i would spend a few months googling info before dropping it on any one watch.

can't be a few guys online ask u to buy omega then u go buy omega. another few ask u top up to get zenith then u also mindless go do so.

if this is what you're doing, then you're buying a watch just for the sake of owning a relatively expensive one (compared to all the cheap quartz or cheaper automatic ones). you're seeking approval from people who claim to be watch pros or enthusiasts.

Find a watch you like for whatever reasons and buy it. ultimately you're the one owning it and wearing it. if pleasing the world makes you happy then go buy that omega. if you like the tag but don't have the balls to defend your decision to buy it, then you're just a sad case.

how many of us here truly appreciate horology down to the movements etc? undoubtedly quite a few. but how many are just passers-by in the world of watches (and not horology)? If you belong to the latter, then just get whatever you like. it's your money, not ours.

iV3RsOn

you seem to be very whimsical. 4k is not a small sum of money (this is subjective in the world of horology) and i would spend a few months googling info before dropping it on any one watch.

can't be a few guys online ask u to buy omega then u go buy omega. another few ask u top up to get zenith then u also mindless go do so.

if this is what you're doing, then you're buying a watch just for the sake of owning a relatively expensive one (compared to all the cheap quartz or cheaper automatic ones). you're seeking approval from people who claim to be watch pros or enthusiasts.

Find a watch you like for whatever reasons and buy it. ultimately you're the one owning it and wearing it. if pleasing the world makes you happy then go buy that omega. if you like the tag but don't have the balls to defend your decision to buy it, then you're just a sad case.

how many of us here truly appreciate horology down to the movements etc? undoubtedly quite a few. but how many are just passers-by in the world of watches (and not horology)? If you belong to the latter, then just get whatever you like. it's your money, not ours.

tl;dr

I help u sum up:

Buy what u like

gaoxing84

To be honest, I really don't know alot about movements. But I do appreciate them being made. How many parts come together to make the watch tick. I prefer to immerse myself in the history of the brand, particular pieces (still learning day by day).
Maybe soon I will understand each and every movement.

That makes me a passer-by? I hope not Hahaha

Ya. Buy whatever floats your boat. Hahaha.
Don't recommend watches here la.
Haha leave it for purely Discussions, lobangs and pictures. Lol

griffin jr

To be honest, I really don't know alot about movements. But I do appreciate them being made. How many parts come together to make the watch tick. I prefer to immerse myself in the history of the brand, particular pieces (still learning day by day).
Maybe soon I will understand each and every movement.

That makes me a passer-by? I hope not Hahaha

Ya. Buy whatever floats your boat. Hahaha.
Don't recommend watches here la.
Haha leave it for purely Discussions, lobangs and pictures. Lol

i view a lot of you here as shi xiongs who know a lot more about movements and histories of watches and watch brands la.

chillllll. :)

gaoxing84

i view a lot of you here as shi xiongs who know a lot more about movements and histories of watches and watch brands la.

chillllll.

Haha that one is boss ed yeo Haha chillllll. Haha
I just like watches. Period.
Important is hoot ah hoot and remember to wear them!

kiosai

To the 戴好野 fan.. if 4K is like $4.. I think really.. buy what you like. And many will agree with your assessment that 戴好野 is a well marketed, recognized brand. Juz that many watch enthusiasts may not find that movement-wise, it is not worth its weight in dollars..

But if you are like many of us, $4K equates to many months pay, then some deeper reading is in order to ascertain if you are really getting the most most value for your money..

Watch is juz a minor portion contributing to the image of a man. No point rocking a real Richard Mille if you dun walk with the requisite swag or confidence of someone who can.

Juz like the satki Tangs counter boyboy, would anyone believe that he blow 20months of pay on his ROO, even if he was wearing a real one?

One must wear watches appropriate for his station in life.. and most part of the population dun know and dun care about watches. I wear my Seiko with an appropriate swag for Seiko wearers.

cwsmT9q.jpg

A blur lady colleague innocently asked if that was a Rolex.. but I can reply confidently, without feeling offended, that "Nope. The boss doesn't pay me well enough for me to get a Rolex. Thanks for the compliment. It's juz a Seiko."

gaoxing84

Good luck. I having problem finding 1987 Seiko.

Seiko harder leh. So many version.
Sub easier I think but need everything to be original la. That one is the hard part. Need pros to help me see if not buy alr gg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.