The Watch Thread - Part 9

jonleelk

Wow okay.. But why? Are their watches low quality? I don't know man, I'm a newbie like I said. You have any good alternatives bro?

Since u like DW, recommend 3 CW to u.

$340 quartz
c5-quartz-swt_1.jpg

$680 manual wound
c5-slimline-swt_1.jpg

$680 automatic
c5-auto-swt_1.jpg

If u feel richer, $1195 COSC limited edition
c50-39-cosc-swt_1.jpg

For the watch, u can choose short/standard/large watch strap (short one will fit u better).

jonleelk

Bro, that watch can be found for 10 bucks without the branding. Basically you are paying for branding and not quality. State your budget and we'll try to recommend you watches.

So add in DW chop sell for how much huh?

Kamalraj07

I'm a student. Not really into watches. I prefer something that can wear for both casual and professional. I like analog watches. And I don't know what is Quartz or mechanical. Maybe have to do some research on it.

I see all these youngster nowadays wearing DW watches and stuff, so I thought they must be good or what. End up come here, you guys say DW is rubbish. Well okay, point noted..

Some watches you'll recommend abit too pricey for me la. I'm still looking around for one that can fit within my affordable budget of within $300.. Maybe when I start working I can look into a more expensive one.

xuan87

I'm a student. Not really into watches. I prefer something that can wear for both casual and professional. I like analog watches. And I don't know what is Quartz or mechanical. Maybe have to do some research on it.

I see all these youngster nowadays wearing DW watches and stuff, so I thought they must be good or what. End up come here, you guys say DW is rubbish. Well okay, point noted..

Some watches you'll recommend abit too pricey for me la. I'm still looking around for one that can fit within my affordable budget of within $300.. Maybe when I start working I can look into a more expensive one.

Usually, the rule is, the more you see of people using something, that something is rubbish. Not always the case, but very commonly, it is.

Why? Because of marketing. For people to know of something, the company needs to do marketing, and where do they take the money for marketing from? Usually from the raw material and manufacturing cost, and R&D cost.

Of the $200 (as an example) that a DW cost, probably only $10-20 is the cost of producing the watch. This is less than the cost of a decent non Swiss automatic movement!

$300 is a decent budget for a first proper watch. Since your wrist is so small, you might want to aim for a watch that is 40mm and smaller. Two watches that come to mind is the Orient Bambino and Seiko 5 Sports SNK series.

Henabi

welcome to the world of watches :s13:

Quartz = run by battery
Mechanical/Automatic = run by non-battery (In layman terms)

For maintenance-wise:
Quartz require almost zero. If it stops moving, it usually means you need a new battery

Mechanical/automatic watches will require you to "wind" the watch crown every 1 to 2 days. Everytime you "wind" the watch, you will need to turn the crown about 20 to 30 times.

Here are some watches you can consider which are well within your budget of $300 dollars

Seiko
Citizen
Orient
G-Shock
DW
Fossil
Timex
Skagen
Tissot (Quartz)
Marc by Marc Jacobs
Ted Baker

"One man's meat, is another man's poison"

There are people who like DW, and there are people who don't.
There are people who like Rolex and there are people who hate it.

That's why there are so many watch brands.

Buy a watch you like, and wear it in good health. That's all that matters.

Ed.YEO

I'm a student. Not really into watches. I prefer something that can wear for both casual and professional. ...... I'm still looking around for one that can fit within my affordable budget of within $300...
既然是学生,就该有只相衬的表来“刻画”你的身份。。。 $300可算是刚刚好的预算。不会太高,也不会太寒酸。
想要既是休闲又看来“专业”的。。。这要看你说的“专业”属于哪个行业了。

iV3RsOn

既然是学生,就该有只相衬的表来“刻画”你的身份。。。 $300可算是刚刚好的预算。不会太高,也不会太寒酸。
想要既是休闲又看来“专业”的。。。这要看你说的“专业”属于哪个行业了。

orient bambino....

mai tu liao.....

xuan87

welcome to the world of watches :s13:

Quartz = run by battery
Mechanical/Automatic = run by non-battery (In layman terms)

For maintenance-wise:
Quartz require almost zero. If it stops moving, it usually means you need a new battery

Mechanical/automatic watches will require you to "wind" the watch crown every 1 to 2 days. Everytime you "wind" the watch, you will need to turn the crown about 20 to 30 times.

Bro, no need to wind the watch every 1 to 2 days lah unless your watch is hand winding only.

At the most, you wind up the automatic watch the first time you wear it to get it moving faster, then you won't need to wind it again unless you don't wear it and the power reserve runs down.

slow_mo

Get a value for money Seiko.

bencheongcm

XMM love DW watches leh :D

Anyway I feel as long a person who wear a DW watch is happy can already ?

I personally feel as long that person who wear DW don't come up to a person who wear a Seiko and says his/her watch is better can already :o

Lurker_13

Kamalraj, as you are not so into watches, I guess any of those fashion brand watches tat fit yr budget would be fine. If yr cycle of frens are not watch savvy then no issue jus buy wat u like bah. Otherwise as recommended by the gurus here, seiko n orient watches are good. :)

Zerograv

Hi guys, i wanna hoot the skx007 but not to sure from where to get, should i get it from skywatches? Or K2? Or is there any reccomended place to get? Thanks guys!

Kamalraj07

Thanks to all of you for your honest opinions and recommendations! I will definitely look into the following brands and find myself a suitable watch.. Lucky I came here, if not I'll end up being like another youngster out there buying an overrated DW watch. Thank you gurus! 🙏

Seiko
Citizen
Orient
G-Shock
DW
Fossil
Timex
Skagen
Tissot (Quartz)
Marc by Marc Jacobs
Ted Baker

darthsid11111

Thanks to all of you for your honest opinions and recommendations! I will definitely look into the following brands and find myself a suitable watch.. Lucky I came here, if not I'll end up being like another youngster out there buying an overrated DW watch. Thank you gurus! 🙏

Out of that list Orient is your best bet. They have a variety of designs at low prices... Plus the watches are all automatic!

Ed.YEO

Hi guys, i wanna hoot the skx007 but not to sure from where to get, should i get it from skywatches? Or K2? Or is there any reccomended place to get? Thanks guys!
無論是K2还是SKYWATCH,两者的錶都是水货。不过你倒是不必担心,保修方面由于是自家提供的,只要你遇到什麽问题,只要带你的錶回去找卖家搞就行了。
价格方面不相上下,差别不大。

Mogan23

jonleelk

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.