The Watch Thread - Part 9

tcyeric

hey there, i am rather new to all this watch things (don't own that many watches and none are within a luxury category)

i've been surfing around and i don't quite understand what is the love for diving watches. could someone enlighten me on its popularity?

Henabi

Skywatch and Creation Watch both has online prices. Just note down their prices before visiting 3D or K2 if u already have certain watch in mind.

Online wise, some watches Skywatch cheaper. Some watches Creation Watch cheaper. Some watches Lazada cheaper.

I was at 3d watches last week. Really packed as they were one of the few watch shops opened on 3rd day of CNY?

The pricing depends on models. The g shocks which we can find in other AD like city chain and Wins are quite affordable. Between 100 to 140

PiPiChew

hey there, i am rather new to all this watch things (don't own that many watches and none are within a luxury category)

i've been surfing around and i don't quite understand what is the love for diving watches. could someone enlighten me on its popularity?

Looks Masculine
Better water resistant generally
Better lume generally
Versatile can be worn as formal wear or casual
Can be worn with bracelet or resin or nato also looks good
Seiko Divers super affordable relatively to other brands lo.

Sent from 10 Buangkok View, Buangkok Green Medical Park using GAGT

tcyeric

Looks Masculine
Better water resistant generally
Better lume generally
Versatile can be worn as formal wear or casual
Can be worn with bracelet or resin or nato also looks good
Seiko Divers super affordable relatively to other brands lo.

Sent from 10 Buangkok View, Buangkok Green Medical Park using GAGT

currently am drawn towards dress watches as "formal", never really viewed diving watches as formal. hmmm, guess i shall go look at more to try to get a better appreciation :p

and since everyone's into photo taking of what you're wearing today, here's my humble one :D

Hyqx6a3.jpg

Henabi

For me... it's highly versatile. The watch strap can be changed to match the ocassion.

Leather straps for formal wear.
metal bracelets for any ocassion.
nato for casual
rubber for sports

gaoxing84

Cause desk diving lol

slow_mo

Wow, you're out early! Just like me.. But me on BMW though. Wonder when I can afford a car.. :o

I am driving because I need to send my boy to school, wife to work, boy to child care before going to work (also why I go out early). My work place is not near the MRT. :(

slow_mo

currently am drawn towards dress watches as "formal", never really viewed diving watches as formal. hmmm, guess i shall go look at more to try to get a better appreciation :p

and since everyone's into photo taking of what you're wearing today, here's my humble one :D

Hyqx6a3.jpg

Divers are not really formal but can still look okay under the sleeves provided it's not that chunky.

LoveHurtsDeeply

Guys, got a question here.
For automatic watches, normally do you keep it running like putting in a watch winder to prevent the hassle of winding or let it stop and adjust before using?
Mechanism wise keeping it on movement will shorten the lifespan?
Alternatively, letting it stop and adjust each time will affect the spring mechanism?
Heard from some watch dealers, that it is good for automatic watches to release it's 'energy' once in a while and if not going to use for so time. Truth or myth?

For hand wind watches, do you keep it wind up all the time? Or same adjust and wind when want to use?

furryballs

For automatic watches, normally do you keep it running like putting in a watch winder to prevent the hassle of winding or let it stop and adjust before using?
Alternatively, letting it stop and adjust each time will affect the spring mechanism?
Heard from some watch dealers, that it is good for automatic watches to release it's 'energy' once in a while and if not going to use for so time. Truth or myth?

For hand wind watches, do you keep it wind up all the time? Or same adjust and wind when want to use?
I try to wear my watches at least once every 2 mths... keeps the lubricant distributed. I also make it a point for my watches without "date jump" feature to stop after 2 before 10, so the date change mechanism is not engaged to rotate.

I only have 2 manual winding watches, and I wind them fully everyday if I wearing.

I adjust the time only when I need to wear the watch, and I dun adjust the date for watches without quick set.

fade_white

It's been debated until the cows come home and still no conclusion. In the end, just enjoy your watch and don't worry too much.

Thai_Rak_Thai

For a minute i was thinking if you were going to sell your new toy :D

Personally, i don't find it a "hassle". In fact, i look forward to winding my mechanical watches every morning. It's the best part of my day .

Winders are really used for high complication watch movements, perpetual calendars, etc.

My collection is very minimalist (even date function bothers my style). So i just use a normal watch case.

Unlike Mr rich man Furyballs, i have only a couple of watches so i try to rotate them weekly :)

noidea

Watch winder with multi watch storage.
Is it a must buy for every automatiq watches?
cause I thought of buying one ... thanks :D

LoveHurtsDeeply

I try to wear my watches at least once every 2 mths... keeps the lubricant distributed. I also make it a point for my watches without "date jump" feature to stop after 2 before 10, so the date change mechanism is not engaged to rotate.

I only have 2 manual winding watches, and I wind them fully everyday if I wearing.

I adjust the time only when I need to wear the watch, and I dun adjust the date for watches without quick set.

Correct me if I am wrong bro, basically you leave the date as it is without adjusting to tothe correct date? Or you manually wind the hours to shift the date?

LoveHurtsDeeply

Watch winder with multi watch storage.
Is it a must buy for every automatiq watches?
cause I thought of buying one ... thanks :D
Not a must lah.... Up to individual I guess. But my previous experience with other brand not sure about the recent one that I bought (see earlier post) always the motor up lorry after 1 year. I personally prefer using AC. Some are running on battery...

LoveHurtsDeeply

For a minute i was thinking if you were going to sell your new toy :D

Personally, i don't find it a "hassle". In fact, i look forward to winding my mechanical watches every morning. It's the best part of my day .

Winders are really used for high complication watch movements, perpetual calendars, etc.

My collection is very minimalist (even date function bothers my style). So i just use a normal watch case.

Unlike Mr rich man Furyballs, i have only a couple of watches so i try to rotate them weekly :)

Wah lau, not so fast leh.... at least play play few months first....
Morning usually rushing for time... I try to wind last time once every 2 to 3 days for the hand wind watches. For some with better power reserve like 7 to 8 days, I try to wind every week. Haha. Me lazy lah....
Auto needless to say liao.... just dump in the winder... just that recently read up some info on the mechanism of auto and hand wind which advise not to keep it running all the time and should let it rest thou...

Henabi

A photo a day, bro? Mai poison me leh.. Later I go hoot one Orient too... Hehe :D

=p MTL!!! But honestly speaking the movement is really good

Day 4 already. I wind it up only once and that was last sunday (14 feb). Just wear it daily from 8am till 9pm. Then when I reach home, I will take it off and place it on my table.
So far +/- 0 seconds.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.