Thermal paste

ykgoh

The cheapest $8 Cooler Master IC Value V1 thermal paste is better or worse than those that come with the standard bundled heatsink ah?

What's e easiest way to apply thermal paste?

Squeeze one lump about 20 cents diameter in e centre n mount heatsink?

Need to spread it out like kaya or butter using a name card or business card?

Yureak

20c too much la. grain of rice can liao the less the better

Ark Law

I personally prefer Arctic MX4, $15.

Just put a small pea size drop of thermal paste. I don't bother spreading it and just let the heatsink mounting do the job

ykgoh

like dat if one tube cannot use finish, can I screw back e cap n keep for future use?

will it dry up once opened n few years later become a hardened solid tube? :s22:

paiseh ah, really no experience wif thermal paste. noob question. :p

bhtan83

It should not harden if u cap it back properly and keep it in a cool place.

MoneyFace =p

like dat if one tube cannot use finish, can I screw back e cap n keep for future use?

will it dry up once opened n few years later become a hardened solid tube? :s22:

paiseh ah, really no experience wif thermal paste. noob question. :p
Yes... All will provide caps one...

As long as you store them appropriately, they will not dry up at all...

Bought my MX-4 in early 2012... Left more than half a tube in tip top condition....

ykgoh

I personally prefer Arctic MX4, $15.

Just put a small pea size drop of thermal paste. I don't bother spreading it and just let the heatsink mounting do the job

May I know which shops in SLS are selling Arctic MX4 for $15? I searched on MyNextCom, Video Pro n Bizgram like never see it listed.

Is it widely sold in SLS? Or only certain shop (s) carries it?

shadow84

May I know which shops in SLS are selling Arctic MX4 for $15? I searched on MyNextCom, Video Pro n Bizgram like never see it listed.

Go to VRZ and search for powergamer. They sell the MX4 at $11.90, add 50 cents more for postage... I not sure if they had shifted to SLS or not. Can google and ask them.

This is the cheapest u can get locally liao.. All other shops sell at $18+++++.

zetken

i tot all almost the same? lol all is aluminium oxide. except for some is silver.

Ark Law

Most of the PC shops should have it. PCT and CM usually have ready stock. Or you can order from Powergamers, $12 + postage without needing to go to SLS

MX4 needs curing? Or only the older Arctic ones do?

No need. Arctic Cooling (who make MX-4/-3/-2) are not related to Arctic Silver (who make AS5 which needs curing).

Kiwi8

AS5 after curing can be very good, but nowadays I think MX4 is more convenient and still offers similar performance. :o

MoneyFace =p

AS5 after curing can be very good, but nowadays I think MX4 is more convenient and still offers similar performance. :o
Curing can be annoying (takes too much time) trying to wait for it to cure before finally can turn on the power button.

Kiwi8

Curing can be annoying (takes too much time) trying to wait for it to cure before finally can turn on the power button.

Yes.... AS5 is quite an antiquated product in this day and age where people want fast results when it's not really necessary to wait due to other products which dun need curing. :o

wtfwfs

my diy pc about 4mths old le... but i wan to ask thermal paste normally can last how long b4 showing signs of drying up or temp increase

allhomme

Get MX4 from SLS. Most widely used today and here are some tests by Tomshardware

Results: Air Cooler; High Mounting Pressure - Thermal Paste Comparison, Part Two: 39 Products Get Tested

Unless you're the hardcore overclocker, no need to get anything extreme like CLU or CLP. MX4 is enough for everything.

My 4770K is delided and I have tried MX4 and CLP on die. temp diff is negligible, which is less than 5 degC.

Indigo extreme is another liquid metal based TIM and it's results are similiar to CLP or CLU but theres a burn-in process required.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.