This rig what do you think?

jianrong

Sort of come out with this list. Limited casing due to my ikea desk bottom rack. The dimension.

MSI Pro B660M-A Wifi D4
Asus Turf 3060Ti
Corsair V.Pro RS RGB 3600 CL18 2x16GB
Seasonic Focus GX-850 Gold
Samsung 970 Evo Plus NVME 1TB
WD Blue 7200rpm 1TB
Lian-Li Galahad AIO 240 RGB
CM MASTERBOX MB320L ARGB M-ATX W/TG

might be hard to put in few more fans? This casing come with 2 RGB fans. first time using aio cooler.

KleoZy

You might need to get seperate 1700 brackets for your Galahad 240 AIO. or to check if they do supply you one out of the box, if not, you have to purchase it. You might want to consider the BeQuiet 240 Slient Loop 2, though it is slightly more expensive, The nickel block has a bigger surface area, quieter than the Galahad pump. fans are stronger as compared to the ST120 fans in Galahad. Plus the argb is pretty unique. Bonus point is that it comes with a refill bottle and if you need the 1700 bracket, it's free https://www.bequiet.com/en/contact/lga1700mounting

For GPU, why not get a 3070 Ti is more worth it.. but if budget constrain, I rather just grab the EVGA GeForce RTX 3060 Ti XC (though dual fan but that's enough cooling)

KleoZy

oh now that I see the choice of your case.. you can fit a 280 liquid AIO at the front only, didnt know about that.. if you are able to, get 280 liquid AIO. your 12700k will appreciated it more, interms of cooling.

jianrong

oh now that I see the choice of your case.. you can fit a 280 liquid AIO at the front only, didnt know about that.. if you are able to, get 280 liquid AIO. your 12700k will appreciated it more, interms of cooling.
this ok?

CORSAIR ICUE H115I ELITE CAPELLIX 280MM

KleoZy

this ok?

Maybe you should ask bros that have use this Liquid AIO, I have never use this pump before. Personally I will go for performance Liquid AIO and I stay away from Asetek designed pump or ARGB liquid AIO in gerneral, they generate heat and after sometime usage, noisy.

My choice of liquid AIO will be Arctic Liquid Freezer II 280 but due to the block is small for the 12700k, It will be either EK 360 Elite or the Bequiet Silent Loop 2 280, These are performance liquid AIO but does not give you fantastic ARGB or LCD on temperature and such.

jianrong

Maybe you should ask bros that have use this Liquid AIO, I have never use this pump before. Personally I will go for performance Liquid AIO and I stay away from Asetek designed pump or ARGB liquid AIO in gerneral, they generate heat and after sometime usage, noisy.

My choice of liquid AIO will be Arctic Liquid Freezer II 280 but due to the block is small for the 12700k, It will be either EK 360 Elite or the Bequiet Silent Loop 2 280, These are performance liquid AIO but does not give you fantastic ARGB or LCD on temperature and such.
But will have to buy online right? Don’t think sls pricelist got this? I prefer to get the thing from sls shop though.

Phen8210

TBH, just change the 1tb hdd to another m2 ssd, save space and cables.

also, i believe someone already mentioned the Galahad 240 not very good value liao

jianrong

also, i believe someone already mentioned the Galahad 240 not very good value liao
Btw is there a 2tb ssd in one ssd? Or must 2 pieces?

Phen8210

Btw is there a 2tb ssd in one ssd? Or must 2 pieces?

2tb have, 4tb also have

I run 1tb, 1tb.. so when recording footage or video edit all that, I write to my secondary drive instead of OS.

Once done, just backup to cloud.

KleoZy

But will have to buy online right? Don’t think sls pricelist got this? I prefer to get the thing from sls shop though.
I see, then see which you prefer and do some research first on the AIO, but make sure the liquid AIO does come with the 1700 bracket before you purchase. by the way these AIOs which I have tried a couple of them.. Galahad, Phantek Glacier one and NZXT Z63, stay clear from them. At first it might sound ok, after period of time, it will start to make louder pump noise and you will be like some, who tweak the pump RPM which is not advisable. fluctuating the pump circulation is bad for pump motor.

Yongkit

I am wondering why this MSI Pro B660M-A Wifi D4 board need 2x display port, and 2x HDMI port at rear instead.

TS should consider this carefully if you need so many display connector instead of USB port?

Also this is a very basic connector for the speaker system.

1647165015449.png

Phen8210

I am wondering why this MSI Pro B660M-A Wifi D4 board need 2x display port, and 2x HDMI port at rear instead.

TS should consider this carefully if you need so many display connector instead of USB port?

Also this is a very basic connector for the speaker system.

View attachment 30750

At this price range, not much choice. Need to pick this for the VRMs. Want a better I/O need to top up and get mortar already.

Also, if spending on the mobo to get better audio just get a DAC better. Creative G3 often goes on sale for $59.

gld998

This i agree.. 1tb now so cheap now.. Just get any with dram as your os drive.

poooooo

Also, if spending on the mobo to get better audio just get a DAC better. Creative G3 often goes on sale for $59.
This is very true, within one day i buey tahan my tomahawk onboard sound and plug G5 back to use, was thinking about de-clutter my desk but guess not.

gld998

I know that transcend ssd is cheaper than Samsung Evo. But never heard of transcend.
I m using crucial p5 plus as boot drive on my main rig. The slowest component of a pc is the hdd/storage.

Transcend also no bad. I have some transcend more then 5yrs old and still working fine. Warranty local 5yrs I think.. Avoid PNY , silicon power and china brand like kingdian etc

refer to the list below for nvme/ssd tier

https://linustechtips.com/topic/1092033-ssd-tier-list/

Phen8210

I m using crucial p5 plus as boot drive on my main rig. The slowest component of a pc is the hdd/storage.

Transcend also no bad. I have some transcend more then 5yrs old and still working fine. Warranty local 5yrs I think.. Avoid PNY , silicon power and china brand like kingdian etc

refer to the list below for nvme/ssd tier

https://linustechtips.com/topic/1092033-ssd-tier-list/

Take it with a pinch of salt bah

Those phison E12, E16, and E18 make it to S and A tier... gotta be kidding lol. I think it's from a performance standpoint and not failure rate in mind.

For me it's either Samsung, wd, or crucial.. the ones using rebranded phison, i will avoid 100%.

watzup_ken

this ok?

Personally, I won’t recommend Corsair AIO coolers because I’ve used it once and it performed really badly. I can’t say the same about the newer ones, but its once beaten twice shy for me. If you ask me how bad it was, the AIO water cooler underperformed a Scythe Fuma 2 when used to cooler a 3900X. Fan will ramp up from time to time at 100%, and it was like someone switched on the air raid alarm with the 2x terrible ML120 fans. Under sustained CPU load, the noise was way unbearable for me. And because you need to install Corsair iCue to control the AIO, the software itself is known to be a resource hog and there was no way for me to adjust pump speed then. I was using a H100i Pro.
The Lian Li Galahad was one of the choices when it comes to water cooling, but I dropped it because if you Google online, you can find reviews and feedbacks of pump whine when it is under load. My recommendation is to go with Arctic Liquid Freezer II or EK AIO. Go with a brand that specialises in making AIO coolers, and not one that buys the design and slap their brand on it.

Phen8210

Personally, I won’t recommend Corsair AIO coolers because I’ve used it once and it performed really badly. I can’t say the same about the newer ones, but its once beaten twice shy for me. If you ask me how bad it was, the AIO water cooler underperformed a Scythe Fuma 2 when used to cooler a 3900X. Fan will ramp up from time to time at 100%, and it was like someone switched on the air raid alarm with the 2x terrible ML120 fans. Under sustained CPU load, the noise was way unbearable for me. And because you need to install Corsair iCue to control the AIO, the software itself is known to be a resource hog and there was no way for me to adjust pump speed then. I was using a H100i Pro.
The Lian Li Galahad was one of the choices when it comes to water cooling, but I dropped it because if you Google online, you can find reviews and feedbacks of pump whine when it is under load. My recommendation is to go with Arctic Liquid Freezer II or EK AIO. Go with a brand that specialises in making AIO coolers, and not one that buys the design and slap their brand on it.

ya lor

want buy AIO just buy arctic liquid freezer II, no horse run

dont know why many people like to buy AIO that perform worse than $75 air cooler :(

watzup_ken

ya lor

want buy AIO just buy arctic liquid freezer II, no horse run

dont know why many people like to buy AIO that perform worse than $75 air cooler :(
Arctic may not appeal to some because it is still not bling enough. They have the RGB version, but that’s only with RGB fans. The pump block still looks like a boring black space shuttle like design. :p

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.