Those DINKs can pawn future Generations

Tom Sawyer

Yes I give 1k a month. I do not see a link between my comment and my parents. once you bring in other people parents as some kind of rebuttal and saying things like “your parents must have a not enjoyable time raising you”, it only reflects how low class you are. My parents raised me to be someone who can understand different perspectives and I give 1k because I can afford it and they went to great lengths for me. But I’m not surprised you ask the question - must be one of those parents who see their kids in term of dollars and cents and how much ROI they can get.
Thanks for replying. At least, I know we are the same class.

silent_espy

Many folks with children .. spent most of their lives tending after them, worrying and cleaning up their mess.

Earn and spent on them.

And in the end, some still pass on …

alone

rotting

corpse
That’s why amdk style of parenting is best. 18 years old bye bye out the door then the parents can enjoy retirement travel the world. Will still advise the kids if they have problems but won’t chup or give money anymore. My parents although Asian but they give me the amdk treatment that’s why they retired at 55 and have already traveled the world, way before most sinkies retire.

parchiao

Many folks with children .. spent most of their lives tending after them, worrying and cleaning up their mess.

Earn and spent on them.

And in the end, some still pass on …

alone

rotting

corpse

Of course have, especially those none accommodating kind. But they have a choice,

DINKs don’t have a choice, especially not one half of the couple.

firebrand83

I know a dink couple last time also dam GL and haolian no kids, end up they manage to gib bird to one and now they say parenting is the best thing in the world, just selfish

LemonSalmon

Own self want have kids, own self victimize own self. Lmao!!
No wonder these days the kids all cmi and behave like clowns, coz their millennial parents also clowns.

yobyella

The professor Chua Beng Huat said cos it was like last time many got 3 room. Then when family upsize the govt allowed the second time fr then to get 5 room.

Seems now everyone is gaming the system n going fr 5 room first. N then another 4 or 5 room after.

Nowadays sinkies not making babies. No nid upsize. DINK. Bbfa. So 2 bites bto not justified.

Dividends

I know a dink couple last time also dam GL and haolian no kids, end up they manage to gib bird to one and now they say parenting is the best thing in the world, just selfish
This kind of people will just change their narrative to suit themselves regardless of what they do. Nothing to do with being DINK or having kids.

firebrand83

This kind of people will just change their narrative to suit themselves regardless of what they do. Nothing to do with being DINK or having kids.
It's a dink feature, even more obvious for dink turn diwk

Loser

Today my cousin brought his wife to come my house and bai nian... he told me that his BTO let him earn chao chao $300K... and he intends to go for a second BTO again after his windfall... I said wah now next generation jialat... but he just tell me... not my problem because they dont have kids... they only care about milking more and more money and go enjoy during older age...

I think he is correct....
How about this TWINK?

439px-Sam_Altman_TechCrunch_SF_2019_Day_2_Oct_3_%28cropped%29_%28cropped%29.jpg

trumperater

Gov cannot let DINKs get away with their selfishness. Need to impose a lot higher penalties on them for not contributing to the TFR unless they are low income.

daveteo88

The whole system is inter-linked. BTO price based on resale and vice versa. Private also linked to this equation. They have a relation with one another. The govt would nv do smthng random like that without causing a shockwave to the market.

Imagine if govt, price 4 room at 50k in prime area. Then resale hdb fall to 100k, private property fall to 200k. How many bank defaults, job losses, companies closing will there be. Foreigners will pack up also. To a certain extent, we may also be migrating if such a crash ever happens.

Reducing price does not equate to a better outcome for Singaporeans.

Rather targeted approaches work better. If one is poor, can choose standard flats at less desirable areas like 3 room. I myself got a 3 room when I started after uni. No shame to me even though parents , friends will like saying ppl will laugh at me.

Fast forward a decade later I have an almost paid up sizable place. The issue I see tdy is many ppl want a pinnacle at
Duxton with an Yishun or Sengkang price.

Anyways with property supply catching up we might see stagnant growth soon. Actually B4 COVID. Hdb prices were falling between 2011-2018. Expect to see the same soon.
When price go up ppl all greedy buy and sell. Then those who not yet eligible to buy say govt must do something. When price drop that time, those who buy already say govt must do something. Everything also shoot to govt. Haha :ROFLMAO:

ceestudent

When price go up ppl all greedy buy and sell. Then those who not yet eligible to buy say govt must do something. When price drop that time, those who buy already say govt must do something. Everything also shoot to govt. Haha :ROFLMAO:
Yes, blaming government and kpkb in the forum is the easiest way.
Everyone want hdb with central location, spacious, and cheap at the same time.

Unic0rn

I have 2 kids but would not want them to provide fr me in old age as things will be costly enough fr them.

My logic is that my retirement is my responsibility.
you are an excellent father 👍🏼
Not true fr everyone with kids leh. I got 2 kids. We have a helper who like v gd at cooking. We stock 2 fridge with wagyu beef, Salmon. Every meal gd leh. Tdy my helper made some new enoki bacon and some truffle mash potato dish. V solid. We sent her fr course then now she v creative.

Anyways with helper the gd news is that once a week my wife n I go fr date night nice place. Weekends usually all meals eat out. We are not high salary. Not so jia lat leh. Lol.

EJB

Please tell me which country has done better? I want to migrate over.
The balance in job opportunities/medical/social security/safety
Sometimes it's easier to complain, then make any effort to get things working .
Since you have been going around, please enlightened me ....which country has done better than SG?
Switz, America, China, India, Dubai, Qatar, Australia.

Our country leaders look up to them, aren't they then doing better? Why don't you start migrating to one of these mentioned?

If every country is the same, then opportunities, security and safety are all the same and self strived.

It's easy to think it's a complain instead of a constructive feedback, because it's easier to brush off feedback than complains.

If you haven't gone around lots, you should consider.

EJB

This is from the perspective of not having a kid.

They also bring a lot of fun, laughter, meaning and joy which money cannot buy.
Didn't discount that, but the purpose of this thread I thought was to talk about DINKs and why they decide so.

Kegler

Switz, America, China, India, Dubai, Qatar, Australia.

Our country leaders look up to them, aren't they then doing better? Why don't you start migrating to one of these mentioned?

If every country is the same, then opportunities, security and safety are all the same and self strived.

It's easy to think it's a complain instead of a constructive feedback, because it's easier to brush off feedback than complains.

If you haven't gone around lots, you should consider.
America and china is huge.... Job opportunities is very low now if you looking at their tier 1 cities like New York or Beijing, properties aren't cheap, more expensive than SG. Medical are covered but for Beijing it's still very red packet oriented., not sure about New York medical. Dubai and Qatar are 2 places i will only work but won't stay for long term. Cost of living is higher than SG, even though tax free. Australia is not property in Melbourne or Sydney are very expensive unless you buying those at the suburbs and take their public transport to work, driving is cheap but parking in city center is expensive. I don't know why India is in your list, I know it's very modern now especially in their tier 1 cities but it's not safe.
Last but not least, traveling there as tourist ain't good enough to know their problems, you need to live there

EJB

America and china is huge.... Job opportunities is very low now if you looking at their tier 1 cities like New York or Beijing, properties aren't cheap, more expensive than SG. Medical are covered but for Beijing it's still very red packet oriented., not sure about New York medical. Dubai and Qatar are 2 places i will only work but won't stay for long term. Cost of living is higher than SG, even though tax free. Australia is not property in Melbourne or Sydney are very expensive unless you buying those at the suburbs and take their public transport to work, driving is cheap but parking in city center is expensive. I don't know why India is in your list, I know it's very modern now especially in their tier 1 cities but it's not safe.
Last but not least, traveling there as tourist ain't good enough to know their problems, you need to live there
What you said is the same locally actually, so doesn't really warrant any comparison worthy since it's never apple to apple.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.