thoughts on scrapping

morkutao

hi all,

currently own a cla180 amg and COE will be due 28 January 2025, which i bought it from a good friend in October 2024 for less than <16k with ~11k PARF.

mileage is at 124k and condition is good both exterior and interior.

currently PQP for renewing (10 years) will be 97k for January 2025.
this would means 97k + 16k = 11.3k depre per year ya? i'm concerned on the potential future maintenance for conti + compounding road tax.

my driving habits are only to and fro work (~35km daily) during tues-thurs. fri-sun to fetch family and friends (~10km daily)

thinking if it's ok to get a used 8-years jap entry car (depre <10k)

atanbh91

hi all,

currently own a cla180 amg and COE will be due 28 January 2025, which i bought it from a good friend in October 2024 for less than <16k with ~11k PARF.

this would means 97k + 16k = 11.3k depre per year ya? i'm concerned on the potential future maintenance for conti + compounding road tax.

my driving habits are only to and fro work (~35km daily) during tues-thurs. fri-sun to fetch family and friends (~10km daily)

Sometimes, the known is better than unknown. If you are confident in the condition of the merc, it might be worth keeping. If problems crop up until you cannot tahan, can scrap and get back the remaining COE. 8-years jap car is not immune to problems and the maintenance history is an unknown variable.

The less important consideration is whether your "face" can accept the "downgrade" from conti to jap.

rosschang

yeap. known is better than unknown.

u have driven the car, you are the best to prescribe it's condition.

if you are ready to spend the money to renew / get new... existing is good if it doesn't bother you.

Merc not that expensive, just dun get parts from AD, they will chop chop u gao gao. Find your local stockist, get part number for the intended replacement and contact them.

-nyox-

Hold up, why did you buy a car with 3 months COE remaining if you didn't already have the intention to renew the COE?

Shouldn't it be quite clear already?

battledome64

yeap. known is better than unknown.

u have driven the car, you are the best to prescribe it's condition.

if you are ready to spend the money to renew / get new... existing is good if it doesn't bother you.

Merc not that expensive, just dun get parts from AD, they will chop chop u gao gao. Find your local stockist, get part number for the intended replacement and contact them.
So the AD will help you install using parts from stockist? At a reduced fee?

rosschang

So the AD will help you install using parts from stockist? At a reduced fee?
some AD won't entertain such source of parts.

some AD may agree to install at an exorbitant price...

get an external 3rd party workshop to do la... fees are sometime negligible.

been there done that on a BMW and Lexus.

mryongtan

depreciation should be $97k+$11k(parf forgone if renewed). if renewing; always go for 10 years.

ZhuTou!

U have been driving for 2-3mths so u should know if there are any issue with the car. If no big problem, renew is better. Tbh u cant find any less than 10k depre car these days unless u buy bezza or attrage and may need to do major repair. A simple vezel, altis, vios may cost u like 14-15k depre alr.

morkutao

Sometimes, the known is better than unknown. If you are confident in the condition of the merc, it might be worth keeping. If problems crop up until you cannot tahan, can scrap and get back the remaining COE. 8-years jap car is not immune to problems and the maintenance history is an unknown variable.

The less important consideration is whether your "face" can accept the "downgrade" from conti to jap.
thanks bro, this is very clear.

if COE were to go lower, although i don't think will drop anywhere near much.
does consideration for a brand new jap car (e.g. altis) would means topping up another 58k? (assuming taking back PARF of ~11k + body value ~2k as quoted)

morkutao

depreciation should be $97k+$11k(parf forgone if renewed). if renewing; always go for 10 years.
thanks bro, shouldn't it be 15k? which was paid to my friend. 11k parf forgone is unrealized and shouldn't be counted in.

yes, will consider 10 years renewal if proceed.

morkutao

U have been driving for 2-3mths so u should know if there are any issue with the car. If no big problem, renew is better. Tbh u cant find any less than 10k depre car these days unless u buy bezza or attrage and may need to do major repair. A simple vezel, altis, vios may cost u like 14-15k depre alr.
thanks bro, yes i was looking at attrage.. haha, i just need point A to B car,

will move to blueSG, but car-sharing and owning one is very different in terms of convenience.

Nemesis_lane123

hi all,

I do not know how well the CLA will last you beyond the 10 years.

I went with a Jap (Honda Civic) COE car in 2018. Now it's 2025 and the car is still running smoothly . Took over the car at 99000km. Now it's 204000km. Just did up my OBU. I drive to legoland with e kids n all. No issue whatsoever.

2028 I am taking over my FIL newer civic and doing another 10 years coe. Saving 150k for that.

rosschang

I do not know how well the CLA will last you beyond the 10 years.

I went with a Jap (Honda Civic) COE car in 2018. Now it's 2025 and the car is still running smoothly . Took over the car at 99000km. Now it's 204000km. Just did up my OBU. I drive to legoland with e kids n all. No issue whatsoever.

2028 I am taking over my FIL newer civic and doing another 10 years coe. Saving 150k for that.
I like your plan... lol

too bad ain't any cars waiting for me to take over.

Comage

some AD won't entertain such source of parts.

some AD may agree to install at an exorbitant price...

get an external 3rd party workshop to do la... fees are sometime negligible.

been there done that on a BMW and Lexus.
Just need to find a "qualified" 3rd-party workshop that knows how to install the parts correctly.

A lot of shops out there are the "pian-jiak" kind, anyhow install... some parts after installation need to run through the OBD reader to reset/setup the electronic module parameters - and the shops just anyhow set, or don't even set it up correctly.

Some, pian-jiak until supposed to install the part using some special tool or need to replace the rubber seal or gaskets - but they don't have these bibs and bobs - and they're lazy to go get the correct tool/part - so they anyhow install using resin/gum/epoxy/adhesive.... in a "whatever works" and then ship out to the customer...

And most drivers don't even know they've been had... and happily pay up and collect their cars.

morkutao

Suggest you test drive attrage first.
you will not like it compared to the luxury drive you have now.
:ROFLMAO: i second this, especially my first ride (dad's car) was a 2006 honda civic, which after COE of 10 years, we renewed for 5 years.

so 2021 to 2024 was just driving blueSG.

have been seeing current altis & civic and they look nice both interior and exterior imo.

ZhuTou!

thanks bro, yes i was looking at attrage.. haha, i just need point A to B car,

will move to blueSG, but car-sharing and owning one is very different in terms of convenience.
I also suggest u test drive attrage first. Its a lousy car tbh. I rather u choose some better coe car.

Try not to use car sharing. It looks convenient but when u kena accident is gg. Own car is still better or just take taxi/phv.

sinicker

you have driven for 3 months.

got flashing check engine light?
u-turn got any sound?
go over hump got any sound?
braking got any screech?

if all no, renew 10 years!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.