XXXXXXXXXX
still haven't buy .....
polishing will affect the resale value...some people don’t prefer the watch kana polish…because polishing will affect the thickness and shape of the bracelet/casing. Must depend the polishing skill…boobip said:However, upon hearing that I'm looking for a Rolex, one of my other friend offered to sell me his... 3 year old all black GMT II with oyster bracelet for $4.3k complete with box and papers. he just sent it for polishing, so he says it's scratchless and in brand new condition, 3 months personal warranty given. So any thoughts on this 3 year old? best price for a firsthand all black GMT II with the same specs is 6.5-6.6k. I'm very tempted to go for this piece primarily because of it's price.
boobip said:Went with my friends to Peninsular today to look at the used Rolexes...guess what? Saw a GMT II with red/blue bezel at the display window of Peng Kwee. Asked the lady how old and how much is the Red/Blue GMT II. She replied that it's less than a year old... and asking for 5.9k, telling me that it's such a steal. When I heard that, I told her of the price Dickson quoted for a brand new piece and walked off. Damn... even a used Rolex costs higher than a brand new one... No wonder... Peng Kwee in hokkien translates to 'rather expensive' in English...
Then I went to hourglass at peninsular too... the prices there are too high, $7.1k for all black GMT II my gaawd... so I thought I wasted the entire afternoon. However, upon hearing that I'm looking for a Rolex, one of my other friend offered to sell me his... 3 year old all black GMT II with oyster bracelet for $4.3k complete with box and papers. he just sent it for polishing, so he says it's scratchless and in brand new condition, 3 months personal warranty given. So any thoughts on this 3 year old? best price for a firsthand all black GMT II with the same specs is 6.5-6.6k. I'm very tempted to go for this piece primarily because of it's price.

yeah, you're the one that is paying, as long as you feel happy can already.boobip said:Well yes, read from quite a number of places that collectors do not like their rolies being re-conditioned. I think I can still ask for further friendship pricing on that. Will probably seal the deal at $4k flat. Just curious, about the 1 year warranty given by Rolex after sending in for servicing, does it cover the mechanics of the watch? Hmm.. actually even if it's not the latest series I wouldn't mind. $4k compared to $6.6k I think it's pretty good a deal. Further, if it's been already polished, it should look and feel brand new... so as long as I'm happy with the watch, I dun think I'll give a damn about what others think of me owning a used watch. Furthermore, I think I'll upgrade it to something betta 2-3 years down the road.... most likely a yachtmaster or sub blue face.
it's due to demand and supply..u gotta believe it roflbenqhoo said:how come GMT2 the black/black, black/red, blue/red(pepsi) their prices different so great...???
their different is only the bezel color rite...???
boobip said:Well yes, read from quite a number of places that collectors do not like their rolies being re-conditioned. I think I can still ask for further friendship pricing on that. Will probably seal the deal at $4k flat. Just curious, about the 1 year warranty given by Rolex after sending in for servicing, does it cover the mechanics of the watch? Hmm.. actually even if it's not the latest series I wouldn't mind. $4k compared to $6.6k I think it's pretty good a deal. Further, if it's been already polished, it should look and feel brand new... so as long as I'm happy with the watch, I dun think I'll give a damn about what others think of me owning a used watch. Furthermore, I think I'll upgrade it to something betta 2-3 years down the road.... most likely a yachtmaster or sub blue face.

dont think so lah..thought they listed company...???Nakedtoes said:Also have read up that ROLEX is a non-profit company which all profits goes to charities.. Buy a ROLEX also doing charities huh??![]()

non profit i doubt lar..but rolex does donate a portion of the $ to charity..so when you buy one, you are also donating lar so it's cool~benqhoo said:dont think so lah..thought they listed company...???
non-profit still sell so expensive...price every yr go up...![]()
benqhoo said:dont think so lah..thought they listed company...???

that one...marketing + style + now 'IN' ba....like Panerai huh...Nakedtoes said:if u think ROLEX are expensive wait u go see other brands of watch using ETA..![]()
benqhoo said:that one...marketing + style + now 'IN' ba....like Panerai huh...![]()
some their models selling few K using those ETA selling at US$72...![]()
but if want buy Panerai cannot see the movement...still feel not worth...
to me R still expenisve lah...
their Pro model mostly 5, 6K....around 4K still ok...
buy lor..if need help just ask here lar =)bwaysaibonk said:see so many ppl got lolek i also gian gian wanna buy one leh...![]()