Thread all abt ROLEX

benqhoo

numega said:
Rolex is abit over rated actually...if you want nice valuable watch get a 5 digit priced watch like Patek, AP, VC, FP Journe, Lange & Sohne...

Just cash strapped on you wrist... Rather save up and get one of those then no need to buy for life already. "You don't own a Patek Phillipe. You merely look after it for the next generation." :D
PP also marketing lah...what look after it for the next generation...the servicing charges can kill already...:D

Rolex Oyster is a more hardy watch...
want compare with Patek, AP, VC, FP Journe, Lange & Sohne..there Rolex Cellini...:o

numega

The only thing about the Patek Phillipe is the perpetual calendar feature. It's such an advanced watch that you only need to set the date once and you only need to change it after a 100 years...
Rolex abit too common on the streets. Only seen 2 people wear a Patek so far...
I feel it's important to know more about the watch that interests the individual before the purchase is made...It gives you an opportunity to weigh-in the features and see if they are worth the price. Thats one of the considerations before getting one. Such as getting a sub with date and one without, with the latter being priced 2K lesser than the former...

numega

benqhoo said:
PP also marketing lah...what look after it for the next generation...the servicing charges can kill already...:D

Rolex Oyster is a more hardy watch...
want compare with Patek, AP, VC, FP Journe, Lange & Sohne..there Rolex Cellini...:o
Don't quite like the cellini...Rolex is a technically superior company and if it ventures into classic timepieces, it's kinda out of place. I know Rolex as a watch company with many firsts in the wrist-watch arena. I'd go with it anytime just that owning a Patek one day will definitely be a dream come true :)

Same thing with owning a Ferrari. If an individual can afford getting one, then servicing one should not be a big deal...

numega

Btw...I went to Bangkok the other time and I saw a bigger sized Explorer 1. It think it was about 42mm similar to the SUB/SD. Fake one of course... :D

wanker88

if u want a Patek get ready at least 50K.... & if u want those with tourbillions or minutes repeaters, get ready to pay at least 150K!
thats why u see so few ppl wearing Pateks!

numega

yeap...I'm aware of the prices of the Patek. It's like owning a 6carat diamond VVS cut.
Saw one of them wearing it during a Hour Glass watch launch event.

snip3r

benqhoo said:
picts All from internet...

make you gian again... :D

you friend call which AD...Exp I 5.3K very good price liao...think retail price now is $6111
i got mine almost 2yrs ago for 5.4k...

Exp I nice watch lah...but some people dont like becuase no date, too simple, too small...
the new datejust also very nice...same size as Exp I...36mm

Think before the Love Generation craze, my col said the sexplorer I is only $3800 LOL.
The sexplorer is classic for the mercedez clockhand right? How about the movement har?

As what you say, maybe simplicity sells. Give me a those watch with a lot of dials , i feel it's too complicated.

BTW, cheaper alternative can be the Air King right? Same as sex I but w/o the clockhand

snip3r

numega said:
The only thing about the Patek Phillipe is the perpetual calendar feature. It's such an advanced watch that you only need to set the date once and you only need to change it after a 100 years...
Rolex abit too common on the streets. Only seen 2 people wear a Patek so far...
I feel it's important to know more about the watch that interests the individual before the purchase is made...It gives you an opportunity to weigh-in the features and see if they are worth the price. Thats one of the considerations before getting one. Such as getting a sub with date and one without, with the latter being priced 2K lesser than the former...
how is Patek's movement har?

bwaysaigan

weekhiang said:
wah...so gin u buy liao....
u siao har - goot price mai buy - u wait for the pirces go up then u buy meh?

it doesn't matter wat series/etc one. cos seriously no1 noes also.

weekhiang

bwaysaigan said:
u siao har - goot price mai buy - u wait for the pirces go up then u buy meh?

it doesn't matter wat series/etc one. cos seriously no1 noes also.
of course good price must fast leg fast hand buy.....hehe

benqhoo

snip3r said:
Think before the Love Generation craze, my col said the sexplorer I is only $3800 LOL.
The sexplorer is classic for the mercedez clockhand right? How about the movement har?

As what you say, maybe simplicity sells. Give me a those watch with a lot of dials , i feel it's too complicated.

BTW, cheaper alternative can be the Air King right? Same as sex I but w/o the clockhand
that time is the 14270, now the price we pay we get the 114270 with a new movement(3130), new dial, new bracelet (SEL + flip-lock)...
price is diff quite alot lah..but got upgrade mah...althought Exp I dont have any Special Edition for the 50th Anniversary but Rolex did a major upgrade for the model...

ya...Airking(smaller, 34mm) is the entry level model for Rolex...using same movement like Exp I and Sub non-date...last 2yrs after discount si 4.1K...now i not sure...

follow ur heart and budget lah..get a model you like...dont get the watch becuase of the price tag...later you regret then headache...
that time i also stuck between Exp I and Airking(both look similar)..ended i also cough out extra 1+K for the Exp I...because its is an Explorer...:D

benqhoo

bwaysaigan said:
wah his sex 1 selling for 4k niahs but boh stocks :sad:
wah...his Exp I so cheap..:s22:

he got what model on hand selling at good price...what model/price...:D

snip3r

Some info la...

# Air King: Entry level Rolex, all steel only
# Explorer: Entry level professional series watch, certified chronometer, Arabic numbers and black dial only, originally created for first ascent of Mt. Everest
# Explorer II: 24 Hour Bezel, extra hand for dual time zone purposes, all steel only
# Oyster Perpetual: Non calendar basic certified chrono, Oyster bracelet only, in all steel, in steel and gold
# Oyster Perpetual Date: Calendar, certified chrono, Oyster bracelet only, in steel, in steel and gold, in all gold
# Oyster Perpetual Date just: More options in dial choices, Jubilee band available, fluted bezel available, in steel, in steel and gold, and in all gold
# Submariner: First diver's watch, pressure proof for 1000 ft., available in steel or without date also in two tone with date only and all gold
# Sea-Dweller: Pressure proof to 4,000 ft., the diver's watch, helium escape valve necessary for deep sea saturation diving, steel only
# Yatch Master: 1192, Similar in design to the submariner but dressier, steel and gold, all gold
# Daytona Cosmograph: Introduced in 1939, has chronograph function (Stopwatch) steel, steel and gold gold , worn by Paul Newman
# GMT-Master: Introduced in 1954, for use by airline pilots, equipped with a 24hr. rotating bezel and 24hr. hand enabling dual time ability, all steel
# GMT Master II: Introduced in 1983, 12 hour hand is independently adjustable for ease of dual time zone traveling, steel, steel and gold, all gold
# Thunderbird: Descendant of Submariner, rotating turn-o-graph bezel, dressier than Submariner, steel and gold
# Day Date President: Introduced in 1956, all gold, platinum, day of the week is spelled out in full, president bracelet
Lady Date just President: Same as datejust but with president bracelet, no day, calendar only, all gold

wanker88

last wkend i saw yacht master at hour glass... damn classy!
the price tag was 11k!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.