THSR - High Speed Rail

pinkhippo

Hi all

Just want to check if you recommend to buy the THSR tickets in advance online? We are a group of 7 going to take from Taoyuan to Taichung on 26 Dec and was wondering should we just get tickets at the counter there or buy online in advance.

I just went in Oct and when I was buying tickets at the counter, the standard tickets were sold out for the timing I want and I ended up buying business class tickets which is at NT880. So Ex!

So would appreciate all your advise. Or should we just take a bus? Any recommendations are welcomed!
:s12:

Gixxerfied

What time are you landing at Taoyuan??

If morning 6am flight then just take bus, plenty of time anyway..

pinkhippo

Ya... landing in the morning at 6am. But most likely will also wait for the phone counters to open to buy the 3G data sim card.

Thanks!

deepblue_82

no rush... go to t2 dep hall.. 7am.. get the sim cards.. walk over to bus interchange.. no real need to take hsr.. unless u rushing or something.

candytufty

Hi guys!

Im travelling to Taiwan on 17-26 Dec. Planning to take the hsr :

1) 17 Dec : Taoyuan -> Taichung
2) 20 Dec : Taichung -> Zuoying
3) 21 Dec : Zuoying -> Taipei

any advices if I should purchase in advance? Since its the festive season and on Fridays and Saturdays.

Thanks!

sneggg

i also landing 6am but would it be a good exp to take the HSR ?

calkel20

Hi guys!

any advices if I should purchase in advance? Since its the festive season and on Fridays and Saturdays.
Thanks!

You can still try to make purchase there since you will not enjoy much discount right now(earliest is 28 days ahead), but you still can try siphon around and see which timing is good for you vs money save.

Personally , i will say route two n three, is good for hsr rides. But, i prefer normal train rides like Tze chiang, so that i get to see more around taiwan thru their individual stations and its locals and people. Travelling is not about hopping on hsr and reaching your destination. It is more like getting to immerse and know more about its people and its culture.:D

I even took the chu kuang from kqohsiung station to hsinchu, slowly enjoying myself with the train's 便當。

twosix

Hi guys!

Thanks!

Buy early online can get up to 35% discount! To have higher chance of getting the 35%, buy as early as 28 days (4 weeks) before the travel dates.

calkel20

Hi all
I just went in Oct and when I was buying tickets at the counter, the standard tickets were sold out for the timing I want and I ended up buying business class tickets which is at NT880. So Ex!

:s12:

U meant those with seatings? Usually, if all are out, you still can opt to buy for those without seatings are cabin 10-12. Those are by luck, see got seats, can sit liao. No need to see number hwan. With Seating placement ones are about 10-20NTD more. So i think you didn't know then LLST go buy business class. Must be another ASK or KC made of gold...

pinkhippo

Ya..LL..didn't know that I can still buy those standard tickets with no seat number. I thought that mean standing in the train which I try to avoid.

Anyway, thanks for all your advise. Think shall take a bus and slowly make my way to Taichung cos no hurry.

Regarding experience on HSR, nothing to wow about. It's just that for the expensive business class tix we bought, we got a drink, a packet of nuts and complimentary copy of papers to read. the stewardess will come to your seat to give you. Other than that, it's just air-con train and cos it's speeding, you don't really see much scenary outside.

Shall try the bus ride.

Gixxerfied

Ya..LL..didn't know that I can still buy those standard tickets with no seat number. I thought that mean standing in the train which I try to avoid.

Anyway, thanks for all your advise. Think shall take a bus and slowly make my way to Taichung cos no hurry.

Regarding experience on HSR, nothing to wow about. It's just that for the expensive business class tix we bought, we got a drink, a packet of nuts and complimentary copy of papers to read. the stewardess will come to your seat to give you. Other than that, it's just air-con train and cos it's speeding, you don't really see much scenary outside.

Shall try the bus ride.

Should try TRA...Can buy bento onboard as well..

calkel20

hsr can also see scenery, albeit faster lah... and eat faster too lah... :)

Hsr not much to see one leh. No sea no mountains. Usually see are business associates. TRA got more twmms to beo. Haha!

twosix

Hsr not much to see one leh. No sea no mountains. Usually see are business associates. TRA got more twmms to beo. Haha!

different objectives lah. i dun beo twmm. i just wanna reach my destination fast and start looking for food.

btw, tra can see sea and mountains from taichung to taipei?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.