Tioman Guide.

bluerr

Hi guys. Just came back from Tioman yesterday... still no mood to come back to work. haha.
Stayed at Berjaya resorts, a bit more ex than the others but a very nice stay :)
You can book the activities through a counter at the resort reception area.

Iloveholiday

Hi all, I am back from tioman. It was a fun and nice getaway but I was stung by sandflies all over:s22:. The stungs were horrible and itchy. I spent $40 to see a doc so remember to apply insect repellent if you intend to go there. The rooms were much more better than my expectation but there are no safe deposit and fridge in the room. There are internet access at Paya Beach resort and I think they charged at 10rm for half an hour, not too sure about it.

If you are thinking of staying superior rooms at paya beach, you can check out my blog for the pictures.

I will be posting more information and pictures at this link http://happyrainz.blogspot.com/search/label/Tioman these few days. Keep a look out for my new postings.

h3ngster

hey ! Iloveholiday.. what is the total $$ you spend for this whole trip ?? hahas..

still wondering how much is the snorkeling excursion trips over there..

and.. how much is the rental of the snorkelling equipments? thinking of buying a brand new one.. (i can imagine so many ppl biting the same mouse piece.. ><..)

h3ngster said:
errr pipupipu.. when u say water resistant.. do u mean as in.. "in the water" or?

"paper" camera can work in water ?

i means the camera that can use underwater de...many shop got selling..after use can throw 1. But if ur camera is waterproof type like Olympus Stylus 770SW then no need to buy the disposable type lor.

Iloveholiday

hey ! Iloveholiday.. what is the total $$ you spend for this whole trip ?? hahas..

still wondering how much is the snorkeling excursion trips over there..

and.. how much is the rental of the snorkelling equipments? thinking of buying a brand new one.. (i can imagine so many ppl biting the same mouse piece.. ><..)

I think include tix+accomodation+expenses should be around $300sgd per pax. Snorkelling trip for 2 spots is 35rm and we rented a personal speed boat for 400RM shared by 6 of us. Anyway I think we were "Chopped" by the people. See my blog for my grumbles...

Life jacket +Snorkelling Mask is 15rm for the whole day. If you always go snorkelling, then buying a new one would be good. The snorkelling mask was much more newer than my expectation. Better than those I rented before at elsewhere.

As for the food, I did not find it really very cheap(although it wasn't expensive). I think it is singapore Kopitiam Tze Char Price. We only ordered very simple dishes and it cost 152rm one time and the other time was around 180RM... Both dinners were without crabs! :( Maybe we looook like "Carrot" to them...

Iloveholiday

Btw, they do sell many underwater cam at Tioman.. Renting is more than 30rm. Buying a new disposable cam is around 49.90. I bought reusable underwater cam with flashlight for 89.90. Anyway I think buying the 69.90 without flashlight is the same coz the flashlight like no effect when I was taking the picture when I snorkel.. I have not develop the photos, shall update you guys on the clarity of the pix... :)

h3ngster

hmm.. rent the cam there is digi or film ar? hahas.. ps ps.. i ask very noob qns..

yay! going on coming sunday.. cant wait!!~~

hope i don get chopped =X

p00kish

hmm.. rent the cam there is digi or film ar? hahas.. ps ps.. i ask very noob qns..

yay! going on coming sunday.. cant wait!!~~

hope i don get chopped =X

the one i rent one is film the....

dont worry, if you scare kana chop ah...never agree to the pricing after the first quote always take your time to decide...or even tell him you'll think about it then leave and come back later with a lower pricing.

and have fun for your trip! don't forget to post pics here!

Iloveholiday

The rental of their underwater cam is not very worth it coz it exclude film and batteries. I think plus here and there is around 35-40rm. Check out singapore for the underwater cam, i think it will be cheaper. Anyway if you decided to buy the underwater cam, choose one without flashlight coz i think got flashlight also crap.. Go underwater bo lasah.. Where are you staying? Kinda envy that you are going there.. coz I think go there and slack also shiok. I heard from the people there you can walk to their mini town from paya beach which is around 45 minutes. I think the food there will be cheaper. Turn right from the jetty direction. You may get to see some people strolling along that direction, ask the chinese boss from the Panyai restaurant, he will give you a clear instruction and let me know if it is worth going there. Heehee... Beer is cheap in tioman, 3 cans for 10rm. Drink ice cold beer in hot weather is very shiok.

h3ngster

haha! envy what ****~ u just came back ><..

i will try going the "mini town".. see can find mah.. hahas..

i find 3d2n not enuff.. =(

where can find disposable underwater cam in singapore? later i go try those neighbourhood stores..

oh.. im going paya beach resort.. the WTS package

and.. thanks everybody! great help~ cheers!

Iloveholiday

3days 2 nights not enough meh? I think it was quite sufficient for me. First day, take pictures, slack slack and walk around, 2nd day go snorkel and 3rd day go back. Maybe one more day can go jungle trekking and visit the waterfall. :) You change more Ringgit coz their exchange rate cannot make it. It was only around 2.10RM.. I think those neighbourhood store should have, if not try funan or peninsula plaza.

Must buy bread when you snorkel. There are more fishes under the paya beach jetty but have to be extra careful coz there are many rocks there. Wear slippers when you snorkel but sometimes it just float away. :) Remember to check out the price of the snorkel package properly, dun ended up like me. Btw, they only have one ferry departing now which mean on your last day, you will board the ferry at 10am instead of 12pm. It is different from the tickets issued by agency.

i think disposable underwater cam not too difficult to find. Last time my friend bought from a photo shop at Jurong Point basement be he go Thailand. Brand Kodak, at cost SGD20+, iirc.
and i think 3D2N is just nice, gam gam ho.

WTS package ? how much is it?

h3ngster

haha! yes.. i wanna add one more day so i can go jungle trekking and visit waterfall..!! but so sad.. clash with my friend's chalet.. so cannot add 1more day.. haiss.. 1 more night only $25SGD leh.. haha.. of course.. have to consider the food and spending.. then not just $25..

IMO.. add one more day .. i can slowly explore.. since so long only go once.. don need to rush here rush there.. basically.. 3d2n.. u only got 1and halfday.. haha..

if go jungle trekking.. i maybe can see the listed endangered animals.. T.T.. i think will squeeze time go jungle trekking.. hahas.. i wanna see the Giant Red Flying Squirrel! and soft shell turtle.. if im lucky enuff.. hahahs~

hmm.. WTS de Paya Beach Resort.. for Quad .. is 115+10(insurance&fuel charge).. so its 125.. hahas..

oh yar.. i went to a camera shop.. they say.. its better to buy from the beach.. bcos over there .. the stocks got flow.. so the camera is more "fresh" .. so better quality pics also.. don know true mahz.. but sound logical.. hahas~

for me, go to water fall is wasting my $$ & energy only. The water fall is just small small, Gunung Ledang 1 better than this much.
Standard quad o superior? $125 including transport from Sg to Tg Gemuk Jetty?
Erm...just to remind u, food at paya is not so cheap, remember to bring more Ringgit lor, dun exchange at Tioman, the exchange rate really cannt make it.Round island trip at abt <RM100 only, dun kena chop!

hope u enjoy ur holiday.
Dun forget do some sharing here after u come back.

h3ngster

for me, go to water fall is wasting my $$ & energy only. The water fall is just small small, Gunung Ledang 1 better than this much.
Standard quad o superior? $125 including transport from Sg to Tg Gemuk Jetty?
Erm...just to remind u, food at paya is not so cheap, remember to bring more Ringgit lor, dun exchange at Tioman, the exchange rate really cannt make it.Round island trip at abt >RM100 only, dun kena chop!

hope u enjoy ur holiday.
Dun forget do some sharing here after u come back.

>100rm .. is for per pax right?

im bringing 300rm.. to play safe.. its better to have extra then to spend not enuff.. haha

>100rm .. is for per pax right?

im bringing 300rm.. to play safe.. its better to have extra then to spend not enuff.. haha

yup...<RM100 per person. If u bring RM300 - RM100 for round island trip, bal RM 200 for ur meals , rent for snorkeling mask, buy some souvenir, beer,blah blah blah...u think RM200 enough? Really wan play safe bring RM400 lor.

h3ngster

haha! the food got so exp mah x_x.. lols.. maybe what u say is true 400rm definitely more safe..

Iloveholiday

But i think it is better to play safe coz I brought a total of 735 for 2 pax. I left with centless back to singapore. I brought those tidbits with SG dollars.. Our first night dinner is around 150rm at paya beach restaurant, 2nd night at the chinese seafood restaurant , Paythai cost about 180 rm. When you mentioned Round Island trip is more than 100rm, what does it include?

Paiseh, round island trip is <RM100.
<RM100 include life jacket, snorkeling mask, mineral water, visit to Juara beach, paya beach(coz i stayed at Salang), marine park, water fall, monkey bay, Tulai island and another 1 place i forgot the name dy.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.