To invest in US stock that attracts dividend tax of 30 percent and/or 40 percent estate duty tax OR invest in safe heaven Singapore stocks

Soomp!

Have anyone yet go and count

After US withholding tax / estate duty tax

VS

Zero tax on dividend in local context

Which is more worth to invest ?

I'm in the delimma of putting my funds here OR there ....

Currently I'm following behind dividend warrior and AK footsteps being an income investor but from Adam Khoo this way is not the fastest way....

Can where your take ?

sibeiTrolled

Invest in UCITS then.
Why think about estate duty tax? Are you not intending to enjoy those gains?
Personally, i have no interest in local stocks. Even if i do, i treat them as "bonds". So in my case i rather just get Tbills / SSB / MMF or heck even CPF.
No one can help you to answer. You must ask yourself what you want?
Currently I'm following behind dividend warrior and AK footsteps being an income investor but from Adam Khoo this way is not the fastest way....
Treat them as inspiration, sure but do your own research

Soomp!

Correct me if am I am wrong, estate duty tax is only if we pass the asset to someone else during our passing ...

As we can see, AK , dividend warrior are enjoying godlike dividends .. it is tempting to invest and follow their footsteps...
( Which I am actually doing it)

We can also avoid currency fluctuation between US and Singapore currency.

ctan84

Correct me if am I am wrong, estate duty tax is only if we pass the asset to someone else during our passing ...

As we can see, AK , dividend warrior are enjoying godlike dividends .. it is tempting to invest and follow their footsteps...

We can also avoid currency fluctuation between US and Singapore currency.
US stocks are largely for growth in capital, you no sell you dun get your profits. You won't really associate dividend investing with US stocks. SG stocks is the opposite; its for dividends and less of growth in capital. So you have to decide which approach you want, cannot ding dong here n there.

sibeiTrolled

estate duty tax is only if we pass the asset to someone else during our passing
Yes. Maybe someone else with more knowledge of this can provide much more Indepth answers
Hence my initial response "Are you not intending to enjoy those gains?"
enjoying godlike dividends
Treat everything you hear or see with grain of salt is all i can say
Then you have your answer.

But @ctan84 said it well, you can try to dip your toes into US or its UCIT equivalent and just pack and go if you find it unsuitable. You never try, you never know

Soomp!

My question is if we based on 10 percent annualised return.

If we factor in the dividend tax, then are we left with 7 percent ?...

How is how we count ?

sibeiTrolled

dividend tax
30% is on the payouts (dividend)
quick and dirty example
VOO -
Dec 20, 2023 dividend is 1.8011 USD per share. so, for US "aliens" investor, you will get 1.26 USD per share instead.

Using VOO as the same example, expected dividend is ~1.4% and 0.98% for us.
You do not buy US stocks for the dividends

ctan84

"Godlike dividends" usually only happens after AT LEAST 10-12 YEARS of consistent buying and reinvesting your dividends. Dividend investing is like growing a durian tree of pedigree breed; it takes about 10 yrs for the tree to bear good quality fruits and in those 10 yrs, you have to keep feeding it with good quality fertilizers, clear the pests etc.

Lè Crayons

VS

Can where your take ?
What is your investment goal? Capital growth or passive dividend income?

BBCWatcher

VS
The predicate is incorrect, and thus the subject line draws an unnecessary and entirely avoidable comparison. If you're a tax resident of Singapore and not subject to any other tax jurisdiction then you'd typically invest in Irish domiciled/London listed stock index funds. The U.S. listed/traded stocks within those funds are then subject to a 15% dividend tax rate, the Ireland-U.S. treaty rate. (Other jurisdictions have their own dividend tax rates, and the fund managers pay whatever those dividend taxes are.) There's no estate or inheritance tax for the individuals I've described who hold these funds and their similarly situated heirs — not in Ireland, not in Singapore.

Singapore has a "one tier" tax system. Corporate profits are taxed before dividends are distributed. Conceptually it amounts to the same thing, though. It's a "tax wedge," it's just one of them instead of two. For Singapore that tax wedge is 17%. Therefore a U.S. company that has a ~2% effective corporate tax rate and pays dividends (then taxed at 15% via Irish domiciled funds) is in pretty much the same situation as a Singapore corporation with its 17% corporate tax rate. Lots of U.S. corporations pay little or no corporate tax (or even have a negative corporate tax rate), so this situation isn't too far away from reality for many corporations.

U.S. corporations can buy back shares of their stock without any shareholders (including funds) needing to pay dividend taxes. Tax residents of Singapore (who are not also tax residents of any other jurisdiction) pay no capital gains tax, so to the extent share buybacks boost capital gains that's a great arrangement. Acquisitions and R&D (for future growth) are also comparatively more attractive. U.S. corporations and investors know all this, so those stocks tend to be “capital gains heavy, dividends light” relative to Singapore corporations, other things being equal. Amazon (AMZN), for example, has never paid even one penny in dividends. But you’d be thrilled today if you bought Amazon stock several years ago.

I'm oversimplifying a bit, but that's the basic idea.

DevilPlate

I js wana laugh at the title: “Safe haven SG stocks”?
sure anot whahaha

Even SGS bonds cannot be considered as safe haven status.
Only US treasury bills is touted as safe haven but slowly diminishing liao hahaha
Some say Gold as well.

BBCWatcher

It's not a great term. There's considerable risk in every SGX listed stock. Some are more risky than others, but they're all fairly risky.
Hypothetically they could be more prominent globally, but the Monetary Authority of Singapore doesn't seem to want such an outcome.
Only US treasury bills is touted as safe haven but slowly diminishing liao hahaha
U.S. Treasuries definitely are, but they're not the only ones. The sovereign bonds that Germany and Switzerland issue (as examples) are also regarded as "safe haven" instruments.

Mephist0pheLes

VS

Can where your take ?

Invest in UCITS version, no estate tax and only 15% dividend withholding tax.

Don't bother with SG stocks, its a dead bourse for uninnovative stocks. When I started my investment journey in SGX 13 years ago, the STI index was at about 3,000. today, it is still at about 3,000. You may say there are hidden gems within the exchange, but if u really have the ability to pick stocks, why limit urself to the few hundred stocks in a bourse that barely has any activity?

And don't bother with income investing, it sounds attractive to the layman, but that's all it is, a fallacy propagated by the less-informed to attract attention from the un-informed.

Soomp!

How do you all overcome the challenges and accept the fact that your SGD will have to be converted to USD

I am actually using London Stock Exchange to invest in CSPX ticker so this actually lower my withholding tax to 15% instead of 30%
After I brought it around a year ago, the price had tank from 380 all the way to 520 which i last seen yesterday

And I been wannabe of DW and AK that I shift my focus back to REITS

wutawa

sure anot whahaha

Some say Gold as well.
dont be rude to newbie lar. hopefully ts is better in sgx stocks than me.
i cut losses for jardine c&c, sheng siong, capitaland china tr. currently holding mapletree ind tr at loss too. :(

wutawa

How do you all overcome the challenges and accept the fact that your SGD will have to be converted to USD

I am actually using London Stock Exchange to invest in CSPX ticker so this actually lower my withholding tax to 15% instead of 30%
After I brought it around a year ago, the price had tank from 380 all the way to 520 which i last seen yesterday

u have a very good example here. go calc how much u earned from cspx as compared to if u invest the same capital in your sgx counters. to be fair, u should calc based on your initial sgd capital and the actual sgd u will receive upon selling. my calc may not work for u because maybe different brokers, timeframes, etc. u need to calc them yourself. calculation is the most impt part of financial management.

take note that timing is more impt for reits than that of index etf. dont follow blindly.

limster

sure anot whahaha

dont be rude to newbie lar. hopefully ts is better in sgx stocks than me.
i cut losses for jardine c&c, sheng siong, capitaland china tr. currently holding mapletree ind tr at loss too. :(

Why nobody recommend him to buy property. I thought in Singapore, buy property sure huat?

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...-is-a-good-investment.6998227/#post-151306972

:ROFLMAO:

Mephist0pheLes

What's there to overcome converting sgd to usd? do u mean sgd appreciating relative to usd in the long term? It is not in SG interest to appreciate too fast relative to major currencies as it will make our exports more expensive. and sg is heavily dependent on exports.

And i think u mean ur cspx ROSE from 380 to 520. "Tank" refers to the prices going down.

Also, u sld ask urself why do u wan to shift from a more diversified CSPX to REITS and take on higher concentrated risk on the real estate sector? Is it bcos u see how big DW and AK portfolios are? Their portfolios are big bcos they pumped in lots of money. Their portfolio would have been much bigger if they had jus invested in CSPX.

wira

why not invest with the barbell strategy ?
invest half in high growth stocks and other half in income generating assets (dividend stocks)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.