Tommy Koh - Do not look up to your ancestor land.

radish

Emeritus Honorary Member
i have friends and relatives in china, bec we are close they do share their candid view and its not really v pleasant but i understd where they coming from.

there some old sinkies especially lao uncles who have some idealized romantic feeling abt motherland but in reality the ppl there do not see us as "their" ppl.

the older gen see us as descendants of fair-weather self serving ppl who abandoned china at time of need despite our ancestors sent a lot of life savings back home.

the younger gen see us as western educated bananas who have inferior culture and language having no claim to chinese heritage as them.

of cos not saying all china ppl are hostile to us, definitely not, but most dont see us as inferior, this is definite.

needhelpbadlynow

jskm, this guy actually has beef with the china gov. lol

If life is ok who will want leave their homeland and lost everything there? :cry:

talk nice a bit every new government form is liberator. talk bad a bit every new government is same warlord or oppressor for a period of time.

If one day PAP lose power and WP rise to power and say all the landed properties including HDB must chong gong you happy or not? Then they demolish and redistribute everyone living 3 room flat as singapore standards you happy or not? then all your CPF chong gong as singapore standard you happy or not? Then they chong gong all the cars and motobikes and give you only bicycles you happy or not? Then doesn't matter how much you earn before 2k 3k 5k 10k they say everyone take home 2k max standardize you happy or not? Then you study accounting but they allocate you work as farmer you ok or not?

军阀滥权。欺压百姓。国破家亡。家破人亡。妻离子散。:oops:

Before anyone look up 中华人民共和国 as your ancestor land. Please ask your ancestor 托梦 to you what 中华人民共和国 gave them first. :ROFLMAO:

MageRav3

China is ancestral land but I do not recognise the current CCP as worthy to represent all Chinese. CCP erased Chinese culture and came out with the uncouth tiongs of today.

pieface

Ancestor land? Sure as it is factually correct.

However my Motherland is SIngapore. I am the fourth generation here and my grandparents, parents and myself are all born and bred here.

My great grandmother came from China but when she left it was under the Qing dynasty, it was before WW2. There was no such thing as PRC or communist China back then. Great grandfather not sure because he wasn't around already when I was born and I didn't ask back then as well.

So I have no feeling towards the current China as long as they don't try to force an association between me and them.

occifer

My relatives really go china dig out our ancestors roots. He say china will give land or something if can have proof. I don't really care lol :s13:

They mad ar lol.
This, u can bet your kkj lol

VEF888

Do you look up to China as your ancestor land - NOPE, NEVER.

Justicar

Singapore is my motherland

I will always be grateful to China for being the home of my ancestors, but it is not my home and I have no allegiance to it

ninjaghost

My ancestor's ancestor may come from China. But nothing to do with me though, I just proud that I know 漢字, able read, write and speak and etc.

The only thing can related is our cultural sense of identity.

Aunt Dino

China may be the land of our ancestors, but the China of the past is very different from the China of today. The culture and social norms have also changed greatly.

I find it easier to get along with people from our SEA neighbouring countries than Chinese nationals.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.