Touring Shanghai, please recommend?

aarontansp

Will be making a trip to Shanghai for a week. Can someone recommend me must visit places and things to buy/shop over there?
What needs to be took note of as well? Thanks!

coyote

Bring your tripod and DSLR to The Bund at night to take night shot.

On touch down, buy a HSR rail using your foreigner passport to experience 430300+km/hr to reach Loong Yang station...
Correction: it was 430Km/hr in the year 2011. I understand it's only 300+Km/hr nowadays as it was too expensive to maintain the rails to keep it flat for the higher speed.
Mp5wghk.jpg

People's square

Pudong and their shopping mall owned by the tycoon.

gI9Ndq5.jpg

The expensive 紫荆山 hotel & its indoor warm water swimming pool for guests to swim during winter.
I think it was like S$200+ or was it $500+ per night excluding breakfast. Breakfast was RMB188 and we all ran out to eat outside. You'll have buy a swimming cap to swim there to minimize hairs clogging up the pool I think.
DLq1NLX.jpg

Natural history museum to see dinosaurs and it's replicas...
6h9gWud.jpg

Zoo to see panda?

Go to the Raffles city at People's square to see Singapore's styled shopping mall...

The rest all forgotten...

The rest forgotten...

vbhelper

Bring your tripod and DSLR to The Bund at night to take night shot.

On touch down, buy a HSR rail using your foreigner passport to experience 300+km/hr to reach Loong Yang station...

People's square

Natural history museum to see dinosaurs and it's replicas...

Zoo to see panda?

Go to the Raffles city at People's square to see Singapore's as type shopping mall...

The rest all forgotten...

The rest forgotten...
Just take didi to hotel
Cheaper and convenient

kennysme

Will be spending few days at the convention centre near Hongqiao airport for conference - seems like quite far from downtown :( - is there any high speed rail to travel from there to the bund etc?
And is Shanghai disney worth a visit?

cosycatus

Will be making a trip to Shanghai for a week. Can someone recommend me must visit places and things to buy/shop over there?
What needs to be took note of as well? Thanks!

Granted I was there for a week and with a young whimpering kid in tow, I didn't like shanghai one bit.

Food is meh compared to Beijing.
The bund is just a very long concrete walkway. Even at night it was meh. My kid called 东方明珠 'ball...big ball ' which was a very apt description.

A lot of shopping malls. Tooo many. You see one, U see all.

豫园 ..haha. forget it. U go by the front door they will up sell U some performance package and help U book some dining inside. its boring. Don't bother. When i was there , the local peasant was literally washing clothes on the commemorative tablet of the person who built 豫园. See liao also sian.

There is an area near 武康大厦. That one is not bad. Very old shanghai and full of large houses built prior to world war 2. Worth to spend time there. Area quite bohemian.

Other than that..the high light of my trip was actually my 5 star hotel at 200 bucks sgd a night with a very good international buffet. Lol.

I wouldn't go back.

xllms

if first time to SH, go to the usual touristy places.
if already already been to all the touristy places, do share what you enjoy as leisure and what kind of environment you like. Far too many to recommend
eg.
coffee culture
retail malls (too many different kinds as compare to sg. cannot say u see one you see all. really depends if one can detect the nuances and differences, eg. GateM西岸梦中心,前滩太古里,比斯特上海购物村精品奥特莱斯)
public parks
running routes
cycling routes
museums
leisure F&B places renovated from old buildings (上生新所,EKA天物,ICCF Garden)
water villages
bookstores
libraries

buffybuffy

Just remember when you are at Nan Jing rd walking towards the bund and if you are alone, there will be female approach you ask you for direction or buy her a drink.

Also if you are eating alone, remember to keep the menu with you after ordering. I kena the trick where during ordering my fish was $50, vege was $20 and meat was $30. Nice $100 and they as usual collected the manual back. Then after meal, making payment, my bill was 3 times the amount and naturally the cashier took out the menu and show me and the price indicate are all 3 times from the one I saw during ordering. LL and don’t wish to ask for trouble, so I pay. Heng is business trip so can claim from company

coyote

go korea or japan take rah

Japan Shinkansian is expensive. One trip is equivalent to almost an air ticket.

The Shanghai maglev cost RMB100 if I recalled for tourist, but that was too long ago. I have not got chance to try the other HSR in China...but those are not maglev.

vbhelper

Japan Shinkansian is expensive. One trip is equivalent to almost an air ticket.

The Shanghai maglev cost RMB100 if I recalled for tourist, but that was too long ago. I have not got chance to try the other HSR in China...but those are not maglev.
then go taiwan rah

buffybuffy

Will be spending few days at the convention centre near Hongqiao airport for conference - seems like quite far from downtown :( - is there any high speed rail to travel from there to the bund etc?
And is Shanghai disney worth a visit?
Wai huan aka outside of town. Town in nei huan. Driving now scary. But the jam when approaching the town. Just avoid peak period like 5-7. The jam can be 45-60min.
Shanghai Disney?? Think thrice bah. You do know you are in China hor?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.