Touring Shanghai, please recommend?

buffybuffy

Japan Shinkansian is expensive. One trip is equivalent to almost an air ticket.

The Shanghai maglev cost RMB100 if I recalled for tourist, but that was too long ago. I have not got chance to try the other HSR in China...but those are not maglev.
I used to travel between SHA and Wuxi. Used to take meglev. Then I opted for company driver to drive me from Pudong airport straight to Wuxi. Reason? Hate to pass through the security and crowd. Rather sit inside the car and see the scenery outside or check emails or edmw.

Also better to kill time if I’m bring my customer with me. So then can smoke along the way

lordofshanghai

Yu Garden / Yuyuan Market (Yuyuan Bazaar)
Old City God Temple
Huangpu River Cruise, to cruise over to the opposite site is 2RMB
The Bund Waitan, Huangpu,
Sinar Mas Center
Shanghai Museum
Xintiandi
Jiag'an Temple
Starbucks Reserve Roastery
Nanjing Lu
Shanghai Natural History Musuem
Oriental Pearl Tower
Zhujiajiao Water Town
Shanghai Wild Animal Park

All this not bad...

Mebeater

Knn, this was not the case for me when I was in Shanghai last mth

I was there for 2 weeks. So on Saturday
I was nursing a hangover so my female friend suggested we go massage. (my friend was at shanghai for business trip, so I tot we can 'hang out' over the weekend, if u know wat I mean )

The place was clean type, well my friend chose the place, and she said she treat me, it was cheap. Only 198rmb for 2 hours

We changed and waited in the room
Her massuer was an aunty and mine a uncles in his 50s, speaks abit gayish
Then halfway thru the massage, I noticed the the uncle keep massage my privates. Nbz I tot massage abit
Sua.

As our package was 1hr full body massage, 1 hr foot massage. My friend left the room
Then knn, the uncle massage my privates even more, with his hands
Then he keep going on n on, then he look at my kkj and and commented and said '哇, 还比我的大'
Then he went full on to pcc.then I said uncles, have to come anot ?
He said '快点'
After a while, I pew, uncle still say '这个颜色健康'
Wah knn, I feel sibeh er man

After massage, already sian 1/2, nightmare Liao, no happy ending with friend at night back at hotel, lagi dulan

Spike

Knn, this was not the case for me when I was in Shanghai last mth

I was there for 2 weeks. So on Saturday
I was nursing a hangover so my female friend suggested we go massage. (my friend was at shanghai for business trip, so I tot we can 'hang out' over the weekend, if u know wat I mean )

The place was clean type, well my friend chose the place, and she said she treat me, it was cheap. Only 198rmb for 2 hours

We changed and waited in the room
Her massuer was an aunty and mine a uncles in his 50s, speaks abit gayish
Then halfway thru the massage, I noticed the the uncle keep massage my privates. Nbz I tot massage abit
Sua.

As our package was 1hr full body massage, 1 hr foot massage. My friend left the room
Then knn, the uncle massage my privates even more, with his hands
Then he keep going on n on, then he look at my kkj and and commented and said '哇, 还比我的大'
Then he went full on to pcc.then I said uncles, have to come anot ?
He said '快点'
After a while, I pew, uncle still say '这个颜色健康'
Wah knn, I feel sibeh er man

After massage, already sian 1/2, nightmare Liao, no happy ending with friend at night back at hotel, lagi dulan
This story has been plagiarised until cannot plagiarised.. :rolleyes:

Courage

新天地,思南公馆,外滩,朱家角,武康路

ricekek

Will be spending few days at the convention centre near Hongqiao airport for conference - seems like quite far from downtown :( - is there any high speed rail to travel from there to the bund etc?
And is Shanghai disney worth a visit?
HSR not along the way , suggest to take DIDI to the bund 40 - 50 mins IIRC.
7 - 8 pm set off, siam the peak and siam the heat, see some good night lights.

AndreFLo

Can also go to Tianzifang and also hang around at the French Concession. If you are not keen to do a day trip out to 1 of the water towns then you can also visit Qibao or Nanxiang, both of which are easily accessible by the Shanghai metro.

Stayed in Shanghai for about 6 months for work and it was 1 of the highlights of my career.

PikaPika33

been awhile since I go sh

remember i go to bunk, some gardens

eat dim sum and go visit a big city temple

Pandal

Will be spending few days at the convention centre near Hongqiao airport for conference - seems like quite far from downtown :( - is there any high speed rail to travel from there to the bund etc?
And is Shanghai disney worth a visit?
Just take Didi... there's no point squeezing through the overwhelming crowds. Shanghai Disney is packed, and it can get really hot. People there love taking photos to the point of obsession, and you'll inevitably photobomb someone. Most people are ok, but if you kenna this couple, you might have a fight on your hands. LOL.

https://mothership.sg/2025/06/shanghai-disneyland-fight-police-investigating/

Oh and the air quality in SH isn't gonna be great coz smokers are everywhere.

lampano

Granted I was there for a week and with a young whimpering kid in tow, I didn't like shanghai one bit.

Food is meh compared to Beijing.
The bund is just a very long concrete walkway. Even at night it was meh. My kid called 东方明珠 'ball...big ball ' which was a very apt description.

A lot of shopping malls. Tooo many. You see one, U see all.

豫园 ..haha. forget it. U go by the front door they will up sell U some performance package and help U book some dining inside. its boring. Don't bother. When i was there , the local peasant was literally washing clothes on the commemorative tablet of the person who built 豫园. See liao also sian.

There is an area near 武康大厦. That one is not bad. Very old shanghai and full of large houses built prior to world war 2. Worth to spend time there. Area quite bohemian.

Other than that..the high light of my trip was actually my 5 star hotel at 200 bucks sgd a night with a very good international buffet. Lol.

I wouldn't go back.
shanghai is just a city like HK, Spore , KL.
just malls and malls

AuraKUPO

Just remember when you are at Nan Jing rd walking towards the bund and if you are alone, there will be female approach you ask you for direction or buy her a drink.

Also if you are eating alone, remember to keep the menu with you after ordering. I kena the trick where during ordering my fish was $50, vege was $20 and meat was $30. Nice $100 and they as usual collected the manual back. Then after meal, making payment, my bill was 3 times the amount and naturally the cashier took out the menu and show me and the price indicate are all 3 times from the one I saw during ordering. LL and don’t wish to ask for trouble, so I pay. Heng is business trip so can claim from company
Wow all restaurants in SH like this scammy?

The girls do what one? Can nego price with them?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.