toxic property agent pwning their competitors.......

uniqlo

Who is patrick?
This agent really exist or not?
1200px-Patrick_Star.svg.png

Tuckie

I don't think the issue here is the low rate that agent is charging. It's the fact that he uses low rates to market his services. Cea doesn't allow such practices.
So you can’t say you are charging xx dollars? What if he use high rates to market his services? Like that CEA allow? Or isit double standards because low rates.

I went to look at advertising guidelines by cea, does not mention that you cannot use low rates to market. What it does say is you cannot mislead (I try to paraphrase)

charliebrown

dunno wat this vid talking abt.
so Patrick is taking a fix amt commission instead of 1-2% to total property value other agents beh song?

trd_charlie

So you can’t say you are charging xx dollars? What if he use high rates to market his services? Like that CEA allow? Or isit double standards because low rates.
I don't think you're allowed to mention what comm you're charging. Everyone have received agent flyers in their mailbox before right? Have you ever seen a flyer whereby the agent state how much comm he's charging? No right.

wongminmin

$1999 is cheap sia.
i felt is fair market competition....nth wrong. just like simba forces other telco to drop their price.

whoever can offer the lowest price with good services = winner

Tuckie

I don't think you're allowed to mention what comm you're charging. Everyone have received agent flyers in their mailbox before right? Have you ever seen a flyer whereby the agent state how much comm he's charging? No right.
They want flexibility in determining rates mah, some agent see ur house hard to sell will have higher rate , then those easy to sell one, the normal rate.

but what I don’t see is the guideline that states explicitly you cannot show

FrontierX

in a way homeseller is setting the baseline for selling houses.

u pay peanuts, u get monkeys. homeseller is doing just that. low comm for lower marketing channels, the agent dun come nego or view houses with you, minimum advice and u get the discounts from all these.

alot of pple can live with it.

it is the 2-3% agents that need to justify why they are worth the premium.

wongminmin

don't think so.
if u look at all sort of flyer, they will never mention the actual price.

If u put pricing, some will scared away before they can call.
if u didn't put pricing, they will call and ask..... higher conversion rates.

Tuckie

Here

https://www.cea.gov.sg/docs/default-source/consumers/advertising-guidelines.pdf

You let me know which one.. in fact, a lot of agents are advertising themselves as specialist in xx area, which is kinda not allowed under the guideline? But then not complained?

charlieangel123

... Threatening the survival of home sellers...??? 😂 cannot survive because they are undercutting their fees too low.

Oh wait, homeseller is their own company. They are asking edmwers to not use norma agents and use them instead?

No. Edmwers logic is that all agents are bad and all should not be supported.
support

i see patrick face abit guai L talk like ah beng i will not patronise

trd_charlie

They want flexibility in determining rates mah, some agent see ur house hard to sell will have higher rate , then those easy to sell one, the normal rate.

but what I don’t see is the guideline that states explicitly you cannot show
I remember can't. You don't believe you try be an agent and test the water lor lol

Tuckie

don't think so.
if u look at all sort of flyer, they will never mention the actual price.

If u put pricing, some will scared away before they can call.
if u didn't put pricing, they will call and ask..... higher conversion rates.
Hence my reply to him is that it’s not that it cannot be done, but by doing so, agents are scared it leads to lower conversion. And not putting gives them flexibility to charge higher or lower.

but for fixed price agents, don’t see why they cannot put the amount charged if that’s indeed the nett amount charged. Not misleading customer in any way

yildun

All these 2% "market rate" are obvious price fixing and anti competition by the big players which the authorities are turning a blind eye on.

Agree that last time need to incur marketing cost for newspaper ad as it is really not cheap. Now put on portal so cheap many agents bluff chewren say marketing cost very high e.g. guru charge then a lot for posting.

Forever84

Market comm rates exist for a reason. If one is allowed to market whatever low fees he fancies, 1999, 2999, 3999 or whatever, what happens next? You'll see 999, 499, maybe even 199. The whole property transaction market becomes like a wet market.
Hahahaha

market rate is what people are willing to transact for. He show u can sell property using low cost model and consumers are willing to accept that model.

mewmew

All these 2% "market rate" are obvious price fixing and anti competition which the authorities are turning a blind eye on.
2% at 500k precovid still hokay but now price hitting close to 1m easily.

hu want to pay that much for agent?
might as well do moiself and save the 2%

hdb should digitalise this selling process via singpass and put these jokers agents out of job if they cannot provide value

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.