Tradepac or PC Theme?

blockynosey

I was once a newbie before my current rig, 4 days old only. from my knowledge tradepac is the cheapest around when I look at the pricelist as well as going shop to shop for quotations. Though you must know what you need exactly.

Basic components: (and things to consider)
Motherboard (form size, pcie/pci slots, usb3.0, RAM aka DIMM slots)
Processors (K-overclock, heavy video editing etc = i7)
Power supply (Bronze, Gold, Wattage, brand)
RAM (dual channel or not)
Graphic cards (Nvidia versus AMD, VRAMs)
Storage (HDD, SSD)
Optical Drive (Blu-ray or just a basic DVD)
Internet connection (Cable, PCI-e/PCI wireless card, USB wireless dongle)
Casing (forms= iTX mATX ATX, available fan placements)

Hope those basic list helped you. Building your rig, and researching yourself gave me immense joy and pride, hope you will enjoy it too. Ask you expert friends in regard to details, I had a expert friend and his advice was valuable. And now I'm enjoying games at high-ultra settings with a 23" monitor.

Goodluck!

viktOzzz

my vote as followed, as i know the staffs personally, but not in order or preference, more of alphabetically orders

1. Fuwell: Alex or Kelvin
2. Infinity: WenXie
3. PC Themes: Yee Long

all 3 can give u good pricing for a DIY gaming rig within a budget.

however, if u looking for fanciful stuff, including custom watercooling kit, then go to Scorpia.

shadow84

Isnt it Yi Long, iirc?

As for WC, scorpia charges quite high. You are better off ordering the parts urself and ownself build. If can self diy, wc shouldnt be a problem.

viktOzzz

Isnt it Yi Long, iirc?

As for WC, scorpia charges quite high. You are better off ordering the parts urself and ownself build. If can self diy, wc shouldnt be a problem.
spelling shouldn't be much of an issue if can pronounce name properly. :p

Ark Law

You all spell wrong, his name is Yan Dao. Simi Long here, Yeeyee there :s13:

shawntyq

I went fuwell, they will match for u the price if theirs is higher than other shops.

But this one u must tell them why certain things more expensive than other shops.

shadow84

I went fuwell, they will match for u the price if theirs is higher than other shops.

But this one u must tell them why certain things more expensive than other shops.

Wah, want discounts still must give reasons to them.... shld jus tell them, if pct can do it, can you do it as well?

Ark Law

Beng service, boycott liao

viktOzzz

I think this is staff dependant. For my case, I dun even have to tell them the reasons. Just ask if can match or not, and usually I got a match and such. Usually is dependant weather u are a regular or not with them. For me, I get from whoever have ready stocks for what I need. If all 3 have, then of cos is best pricing.

I won't negotiate too much, as margins are pretty thin, and they still need consumers like us to support them for many years to come. Like wise, when got issues, we need their help too.

shadow84

I think this is staff dependant. For my case, I dun even have to tell them the reasons. Just ask if can match or not, and usually I got a match and such. Usually is dependant weather u are a regular or not with them. For me, I get from whoever have ready stocks for what I need. If all 3 have, then of cos is best pricing.

I won't negotiate too much, as margins are pretty thin, and they still need consumers like us to support them for many years to come. Like wise, when got issues, we need their help too.

When u have issues, they will push u to distro for warranty purposes... they wun help u much de...Shops cant RMA or fix your issues after 7 days. So, they are useless in that aspect. Only thing gd is that they can recommend more ex pc components to help solve ur problems lor..

shawntyq

Cos got once the gfx difference like 50bucks, so I just ask how come so much difference, then they call up distro and say Nv update the list. Then added he will match all the prices loh.

Lol u guys so aggressive lol, can see fuwell not so popular in hwc. But overall the price more or less the same.

viktOzzz

Well, if it is due to lack of price list updates, it's totally acceptable. Sometimes is ok to ask and most importantly, to share the correct information on the forums, else, might lead to misunderstanding.

I also experience my fair share of old price list at higher prices, and have yet to conform to distro new pricing.

Just wondering why can't go paperless. Sometime I come across price list that is more than 3 weeks old, and of cos, pricing is not competitive. Imagine if the shops are to invest into a large LCD panel, and allows u to view real time pricing, just like those big display outside some cold storage nowadays, and have their price list uploaded to hwz at the same time, it does save quite abit of paper and pricing mistakes.

With that being said, I dun think it is gonna happen any sooner for the local IT scene

enenyi

Planning to build rig but which shop to buy components from?

Need to build entire rig from 1 place: PCThemes.

Buy component parts (everything unopened) and assemble yourself: Tradepac.

Need hands-on demo for monitors and keyboards: Cybermind.

This pretty sums it up. Maybe u can visit Fuwell, Best Price/Video Pro, Bizgram, Best Bargain etc for window shopping. Or just save the hassle: buy a laptop and mod it. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.