Tteok-bokki 辣年糕

Full_Cream_Milk

Still similar to Tok but with an emphasis on the "te" sound.

put more force into it :s13:

TT!ok
So I’m right.

Must forcefully pronounce the word.

“Can I have some TTTTTTtttttooook boki”?

john-candy-poop.gif

Jack_Chen

I ate this before, don't you find it a little plain, the sauce is the key. Reminds me of ketupat that has been squished and kept for a while.

PikaPika33

I ate this before, don't you find it a little plain, the sauce is the key. Reminds me of ketupat that has been squished and kept for a while.
ya the zhup is everything
else its just rice lor, same same as many rice base food.

can add veg and meat if you want

Atilas

The sauce is a bit sweet for moi. The rice cakes also have 2 types, and moi prefer the chewy type. Moi prefer to dip kimbap into the sauce than eating this snack by itself.

sPacEmAn_sPiFf

the South Korean author who wrote the book "I Want to Die But I Want to Eat Tteokbokki" passed away on October 16, 2025.

71EPew6p9mL.jpg

Cyborg

Well, I tried this rice cake with sweet and spicy sauces while touring in SK, however, I never seemed to like it.

Jack_Chen

You never eat before 年糕 meh
No leh, I am from Singapore, we are more Southern Chinese. The 年糕 I am familiar with, is the one with sugar, the round brown short cylindrical food.i.e. the sweet type.

Northern style is more savoury.

Like how they consume Tau Huey, sweet vs salty

You are a recent immigrant?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.