twinkle07 taiwan typhoon update thread

twinkle07

Typhoon, rain cause nearly NT$1.6 billion in agricultural losses​

07/09/2025 06:21 PM

1152x768_162531616180.jpg

Kaohsiung Mayor Chen Chi-mai (Second right) with several officials checks the loss of the crops in Kaohsiung. CNA photo July 9, 2025

Taipei, July 9 (CNA) Agricultural losses from Typhoon Danas and subsequent heavy rainfall have reached nearly NT$1.6 billion (US$49.2 million), according to the Ministry of Agriculture in a press release on Wednesday.
Chiayi County and Tainan were the hardest hit, with combined damage exceeding NT$1 billion -- accounting for over 65 percent of total losses -- the ministry said.
As of 11 a.m. Wednesday, total losses were estimated at NT$1.598 billion, covering crops, livestock, fisheries and private agricultural facilities.
Chiayi County reported losses of NT$603.6 million (38 percent), followed by Tainan with NT$471.3 million (29 percent). Yunlin County lost NT$301.3 million (19 percent), while Changhua County, Pingtung County, and Kaohsiung also reported damage.
Crop losses alone totaled NT$1.071 billion, with around 13,822 hectares affected, according to the ministry.
The most heavily damaged crop was pomelo, with 926 hectares impacted and a 77 percent damage rate, resulting in NT$210 million in losses. Other affected crops included bananas, bamboo shoots, oranges and tangerines.
Livestock losses were estimated at NT$30.4 million, mainly from the deaths of 346,000 chickens. Pigs, geese and cattle were also affected.
Fishery losses reached NT$183.8 million, mostly involving oysters. Forestry losses were minimal, at NT$300,000, mainly due to damaged bamboo shoots.
The ministry announced cash relief and low-interest loans for affected areas on Tuesday.
(By Wang Shu-fen and Lee Hsin-Yin)
Enditem/AW

https://focustaiwan.tw/society/202507090019

bighead9nn

Like that lor. Life still goes on. Not like the entire country in chaos. Only southern part affected but not very serious until need to declare emergency.

Haiyo. Why peoples in southern part so suay one. :(

papa71

Actually typhoon is different from hurricane is it?

Then what is a tonardo?

The only difference between a hurricane and a typhoon is the location where the storm occurs. They both the same.​

tornado is different altogether—it’s a funnel cloud that forms from a storm over land (sometimes as part of a hurricane). Tornadoes are much smaller in scale than hurricanes.

Hope that help,

enigmastar

The funny thing about this thread is someone trying to make a big fuzz about it. To Taiwanese typhoon is a common occurrence, its like Singapore encountering heavy rain during the monsoon season. Its no big deal to them. I wonder in taiwan forum/cyberspace do they have a discussion thread on Singapore "ponding" occurrence during heavy rain with someone is vigorously posting updates on taiwan typhoon here for a week liao.

tckrto

The funny thing about this thread is someone trying to make a big fuzz about it. To Taiwanese typhoon is a common occurrence, its like Singapore encountering heavy rain during the monsoon season. Its no big deal to them. I wonder in taiwan forum/cyberspace do they have a discussion thread on Singapore "ponding" occurrence during heavy rain with someone is vigorously posting updates on taiwan typhoon here for a week liao.

Precisely, so far only 2 death reported and like 200-300 injuries but a lot are exaggerating cases. I am in north side at taoyuan working and people are just continuing their daily life, don't see people calling out any volunteering exercise for helping out in the south. Life continue as normal.

Oxygenatedwater

Precisely, so far only 2 death reported and like 200-300 injuries but a lot are exaggerating cases. I am in north side at taoyuan working and people are just continuing their daily life, don't see people calling out any volunteering exercise for helping out in the south. Life continue as normal.
My Taiwan friends all tell me life as usual nothing going on only some affected areas are in the midst of cleaning up.

There is nothing to be afraid now.

twinkle07

taoyuan up north, of course not affected :s22:

ur stats not even accurate..

no volunteer exercise? what ish this then? paid actors?

twinkle07

their pig farm, pigs were alive, but when electricty resumed, all tio electrocuted to death

fish farm no electricity for 6 days, all start to uplorry
fish farmers depend on those for livelihood

your so-called damage very little...

photo.php

photo.php

photo.php

photo.php

5105557_1_1.jpg

5104692_4_1.jpg

032b2cc936860b03048302d991c3498f-13.jpg

tckrto

taoyuan up north, of course not affected :s22:

ur stats not even accurate..

no volunteer exercise? what ish this then? paid actors?

U can continue to watch such exaggerating news report and YouTube. But the fact is I am working in Taiwan and most of my Taiwanese colleagues don't seems be troubled and a lot of them are from 台中 台南。

Oxygenatedwater

U can continue to watch such exaggerating news report and YouTube. But the fact is I am working in Taiwan and most of my Taiwanese colleagues don't seems be troubled and a lot of them are from 台中 台南。
My friends too, they all are living life as normal even from day 1 also never panic

twinkle07

must be real...
read a map to see where you are located first before you talk.

tckrto

their pig farm, pigs were alive, but when electricty resumed, all tio electrocuted to death

fish farm no electricity for 6 days, all start to uplorry
fish farmers depend on those for livelihood

your so-called damage very little...

photo.php

photo.php

photo.php

photo.php

5105557_1_1.jpg

5104692_4_1.jpg

032b2cc936860b03048302d991c3498f-13.jpg

When u come work and live here, u will know Taiwanese are a bunch of special breed Chinese 😂

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.