U-Turn

jamstart

We jolly know well that if there is a no "U-Turn" sign, we are not allowed or supposed to u-turn. What if there is no such sign at a junction or an opening in between a divider? Is this consider an offence?
Anyone got a ticket for this before?

Dragon

Administrator
If I recall correctly, in SG we can only U-turn at places with U-turn sign. :)

tazzi80

Can only U-turn when there's a sign. Anything else is do at your own risk.

skyman1

I think many drivers don't know this rule. My malaysian friends converted license so they don't know about this rule too.

IGNITI

Yup, can only U-turn at junction with U-Turn signs. Was warned by a TP before when i did a U-Turn at a junction without any sign. But that time was i juz gotten my license a few years back. So i act blur. Heng Heng.

sunsetbay

excerpts from sim wong hoo's Chaotic Thoughts from the Old Millenium~ :s22:

In the US, when there is no sign on the road, it means that you can make a U-turn. When the authority do not want people to make U-turns, they will put up signs to tell you not to make U-turns.

In Singapore, it is the reverse. When there is no sign on the road, you are not allowed to make U-turns. When the authority allow you to make U-turns, then they will put up signs to give you that right. The two different systems serve the same purpose – to better manage the traffic. They may look quite similar, just coming from different direction, but the social repercussion is significant.

In Singapore, the no U-turn without sign culture has permeated every level of our thinking and every segment of our life. This no U-turn has created a way of life that is based on rules. When there is a U-turn sign or when there is a rule, we can U-turn. When there is no sign, we cannot U-turn. When there is no rule, we cannot do anything. We become paralyzed.

I call this “no-rule = no-do” phenomenon – the “No U-Turn Syndrome” or NUTS.

ZhuTou!

I've seen before people do U-turn at the U-turn divider meant for traffic from the other side lor. :eek:

Sho dangerous :s31:
I have seen some people drive opp traffic
At first i still thought i go to the wrong direction :s13:

NovJoe

Wah Lau eh... Simple analogy question here. What do you do when you are approaching a traffice junction? Look out for the traffic lights or just do whatever you want ignoring the signals indicated? Naturally, you would know to slow down a little and take note of what color the light is when approaching a junction, right? Now here comes the next question, if the light is green, do you go or stop? Likewise, if the light is red, do you go or stop? The only time you will be hesitating is amber but it still signals you to be prepared to stop at the junction, rather than risking the pedestrians.

All these are in the theory books leh. If you are unsure of signs and driving rules of SG, please don't step into the driver seat! Go back and read the books until you are clear of what to do at which point of time then drive, provided you have a driving license in the first place.

tatsit

there is something more funny, we all know u-turn on roads when there is no u-turn sign is illegal and chargeable offence... then there IS a no u-turning sign in Singapore, and it says there Reminder.

drive to IMM, the road in between of the upcoming hospital and IMM, there used to be a turn into IMM but is now converted into a junction linked to the main road near the expressway and a big no u-turning reminder sign is there. if you drive by there, take note of how many drivers do u-turn there.. you'll be shocked that no one bothers about the sign

jamstart

If no sign, that means cannot U-turn. But why I still see sign that telling "No U-turn"? Why the "extra"? Waste of material. :p
Does that mean if you make an u-turn on a no u-turn sign, you will get a fine and if there is no sign and you get caught, you are just given a warning?
Well, I happened to see many such sign in Toa Payoh area and that is why I started this thread. :)

sagiluck

some -insert-nasty-name- u-turn and opening at yellow box meant for car to turn out.

writetodonkey

If no sign, that means cannot U-turn. But why I still see sign that telling "No U-turn"? Why the "extra"? Waste of material. :p
Does that mean if you make an u-turn on a no u-turn sign, you will get a fine and if there is no sign and you get caught, you are just given a warning?
Well, I happened to see many such sign in Toa Payoh area and that is why I started this thread. :)

U turn w/o u turn sign = wrong
U turn with no u turn sign = wrong also
Why? Becos it is not wrong for them to remind you not to u turn but it is wrong for you to u turn w/o u turn sign or disregard the reminder not to u turn.

So Got sign is as good as no sign = LPPL :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.