Uber rides within JB

attitude-Ness

Hi all, i am thinking of going to jb 2d1n, thinking if i should rent a driver and car or if i should take uber instead. is uber feasible and safe in jb? any one tried before?

AS1

Depends which part of Johor as johor is very very large.

Habrosus

Hi all, i am thinking of going to jb 2d1n, thinking if i should rent a driver and car or if i should take uber instead. is uber feasible and safe in jb? any one tried before?

For travelling from one point to another around the regular JB shopping malls and such, Grab works for me.

Rent or cab depends on what you want to do with the transport mode. 2D1N doing what?

attitude-Ness

For travelling from one point to another around the regular JB shopping malls and such, Grab works for me.

Rent or cab depends on what you want to do with the transport mode. 2D1N doing what?
Mostly will be shop, eat, massage etc. Will be like visiting cafes and stuff like that. 2d1n because dont wanna rush to come out back to sg. And maybe thinking to go legoland next day.

Sent from Samsung SM-N910G using GAGT

Jestiing

If you want rent car with driver I can recommend you the driver i always booked. Cheap and good service.

This is the contact number 86829698

Habrosus

Mostly will be shop, eat, massage etc. Will be like visiting cafes and stuff like that. 2d1n because dont wanna rush to come out back to sg. And maybe thinking to go legoland next day.

IMO, cabs aren't that difficult to get in JB, so I'd just use them for these sort of activities. If you've already got the places/addresses in mind, you can more or less calculate if it's worth renting a car with driver or just cab around.

I personally use Grab Taxi and the experiences have been good so far.

dad

I always use grabcar in KL, but I pay cash instead of card to make things easier. Choose hotel lobby or some fast food entrance and put short remarks like "outside KFC"

oakley_870

anyone had experiences of booking in advance for GrabTaxi in JB ?

Need to get a cab out of nusajaya to gelang patah bus terminal at 6am. worry no cab respond leh.

invisible999

Feedback on Uber rides in JB

Yesterday used Uber twice at JB - first to get from Senai Airport to Johor Premium Outlets and then to get from JPO to JB Sentral.

Both rides were excellent, but the first one was the most fun and exotic Uber ride I ever got - the guy was driving new Porsche Cayenne. Yes, you CAN get Porsche as UberX and pay SGD $2.60 for the ride. Well, at least in Johor.

Second ride was great as well, especially considering the price - when once I took taxi from Sentral to Senai, it was RM 50. It is clear that Uber is way cheaper than taxi (note - unless you stuck in traffic, in this case Uber becomes more expensive) and considering in what conditions taxis are, not even talking about 'broken meter' - from now on Uber will be the only choice of transport if I need to get to Senai or move within JB.

Considering that Causeway Bus ride to Senai from Sentral costs RM8, if you are travelling 2 or more people Uber would start to make way more economical sense. Not even talking about comfort level.

JB-Uber.jpg

MsDreamy

May I know if I need to download another Uber Malaysia app if I were to use Uber in Malaysia? or can I use the same uber app that I use in Singapore?

invisible999

May I know if I need to download another Uber Malaysia app if I were to use Uber in Malaysia? or can I use the same uber app that I use in Singapore?

The same app. I also have US phone number registered with Uber and it was fine as well.

MsDreamy

The same app. I also have US phone number registered with Uber and it was fine as well.

Thanks! Is there any risk if my payment mode is credit card? I tried to change payment to cash but cannot find the option, only can change to paypal. If the driver never press the "ride ended" button after I reach destination, will the meter still run?

And must I have internet access from start to end of the uber ride? Was thinking if I can use the shopping centre's wifi to book the uber but will not have internet access durinh the ride..

figo16

Yesterday used Uber twice at JB - first to get from Senai Airport to Johor Premium Outlets and then to get from JPO to JB Sentral.

Both rides were excellent, but the first one was the most fun and exotic Uber ride I ever got - the guy was driving new Porsche Cayenne. Yes, you CAN get Porsche as UberX and pay SGD $2.60 for the ride. Well, at least in Johor.

JB-Uber.jpg

you so lucky sia. i always kena hatchback like hyundai getz, nissan micra in singapore

invisible999

Thanks! Is there any risk if my payment mode is credit card? I tried to change payment to cash but cannot find the option, only can change to paypal. If the driver never press the "ride ended" button after I reach destination, will the meter still run?
I personally prefer to have card instead of cash - it is safer I think knowing that you do not carry bunch of cash with you.

Secondly, I do not think that case you describe above is possible to pull - when you book the ride you set beginning and the end. And if driver took off towards the other place after you have arrived - Uber app and backend is (I assume) smart enough to recognise it. At the very end - you can always submit case at Uber telling your story.

And must I have internet access from start to end of the uber ride? Was thinking if I can use the shopping centre's wifi to book the uber but will not have internet access durinh the ride..
No, just at the beginning. Once the driver appears and ride starts you can close the app.

you so lucky sia. i always kena hatchback like hyundai getz, nissan micra in singapore

I absolutely do not care what car looks like as long as it does not smell (with cigarette smoke or something else) and is clean.

Surprisingly, it was only in Singapore where I had problems with drivers smoking in their cars while waiting for passenger - once it was with Uber and several times it was with taxis. For every such case I reported it - wrote to taxi company and put one star at Uber review. There are certain things I am not willing to tolerate.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.