Understanding Rights Issue

Perisher

https://www.fool.sg/2013/06/23/what-is-a-rights-issue/
A rights issue gives shareholders the right to buy more shares within a set time at a fixed price in proportion to their existing shareholding.

So, a two-for-one rights issue would give shareholders the right to buy two new shares for every share they already own. A one-for-two rights issue, on the other hand, would let shareholders buy one new share for every two that they already own. Generally, the new shares are priced at a discount to encourage shareholders to take up the rights.

Rights issues come in two distinct flavours: renounceable and non-renounceable. With a renounceable rights issue, shareholders can sell their rights on the market to someone else. But in the case of a non-renounceable rights issue, they can’t.

There are two things that you can do with a non-renounceable rights issue. You many take either up the rights to maintain your stake holding in the company or ignore it by allowing the rights to expire. If you don’t take up the rights, your stake in the company will be diluted.

With you a renounceable rights issue you have a couple of extra choices apart from taking up and ignoring the rights. You may transfer your rights to someone else by selling it. Interestingly, you may decide to sell a portion of your rights to raise just enough cash to take up the rights that you have kept. This is known as swallowing your tail.

Perisher

https://www.drwealth.com/what-is-a-rights-issue/

Companies can raise money in a few ways. They can borrow from the bank or raise money from existing shareholders through rights issues. They can also issue other debt securities like corporate bonds, warrants etc.

When a company issue rights, the announcement will be something like this, “1 rights share for every 2 ordinary shares at $1”. This means that every shareholder will be entitled 1 rights share for every 2 shares that they owned. The shareholder can choose to subscribe to the rights and pay $1 for each share. At the end of the rights issue, the company will use the proceeds to fund the activity that she has promised to do.

As one of my stocks (Blumont) was involved in a Rights Issue recently, I find it easier to explain the procedure using this example.

(Day 0) 22 Apr 13 – Rights Issue approved during Annual General Meeting (AGM)

The board of directors have to seek approval for the rights issue from the shareholders during the AGM. This is an opportunity for shareholders to ask the reasons for issuing rights and question if there are better funding options. Most importantly, figure out the management’s intent to issue rights. The rights issue was approved during Blumont’s AGM on 22 Apr 13.

(Day 98) 29 Jul 13 – Announcement of Rights Issue

Blumont announced and released the rights issue details. The company set the limit of 861,002,293 additional shares to be converted from the rights. Each rights share will cost $0.05 and each shareholder is entitled to 1 rights share for every two ordinary shares.

The company also added that this is a non-underwritten and renounceable rights issue.

Non-underwritten means that the company has not engaged an investment bank to structure this deal which most companies would do so.

Renounceable and non-renounceable rights

Renounceable rights will be listed on the SGX and shareholders can sell the rights to other investors. These rights will have a separate counter name. In Blumont’s case, they have Blumont R and Blumont R500 (in lots of 500 rights). Non-renounceable rights are not listed on the exchange and hence, these rights cannot be traded. The rights will be converted to ordinary shares and deposited in the CDP account after a certain date if the shareholder subscribes to the issue. Thereafter, the shareholder can choose to sell the additional shares.

(Day 119) 20 Aug 13 – SGX approval-in-principle for the listing of rights

Blumont have successfully sought approval from SGX to list the renounceable rights.

(Day 136) 6 Sep 13 – Announcing Book Closure Date

Blumont announced 23 Sep 13, 5pm, as the deadline for accounting the list of share holders for the rights issue.

(Day 149) 19 Sep 13 – Ex-Rights

Blumont went Ex-Rights on 19 Sep 13. New buyers of Blumont shares after this date will not be entitled any rights. Shareholders can sell Blumont shares after 19 Sep 13 and still receive the rights in their account.

(Day 155) 25 Sep 13 – Offer Information Sheet (OIS)

OIS will provide details on the trading of the rights shares. Shareholders should pay attention to the important dates like the trading period of the rights.

(Day 156) 26 Sep 13 – Listing of Rights and trading commences

Blumont R and Blumont R500 began trading on 26 Sep 13. These are known as ‘nil-paid’ rights because shareholders have yet to pay for them. Rights holders can sell these rights to other investors.

Usually the share price would drop after a rights issue because there are going to be more shares created. Blumont share price should be about $1.67 after the dilution of shares but it continued to go up to $2.43 on 27 Sep 13. Blumont rights also caught up with the price and listed at a price of $2.10. Considering the rights share only cost $0.05, 4,100% gain for the rights holders! This is an unusual scenario and investors should not take every rights issue as positive news. There must be something valuable about Blumont that shareholders are buying up the shares and the rights.

(Day 164) 4 Oct 13 – Trading of Rights ceases

Blumont R and Blumont R500 cease trading and rights holders are finalised.

(Day 170) 10 Oct 13 – Payment of rights shares

Rights holders to subscribe and pay for the rights shares.

(Day 182) 22 Oct 13 – Crediting and trading of rights shares commences

The rights are converted to shares and credited to the rights holders. The additional shares are traded over the exchange.

Perisher

http://www.sias.org.sg/beginnerguide/05_P3.php
What is a rights issue?

An entitlement to purchase new shares issued by a listed company at a predetermined price. It has a short shelf-life, usually transferable and issued in proportion to the number of shares you own.

A rights issue has a strong appeal, as it may offer existing shareholders the advantage of subscribing to new shares of the company, at a discount to its prevailing market price.

If you are entitled, you’ll receive detailed information, from the prospectus to the application forms from the company’s share registrar. If you fail to receive the above, call CDP at 6535 7511. Otherwise, approach any stockbroking firm, or the listed company’s share registrar. Another thing to remember is that you’ll need to register a Singapore or Rights mailing address, if you are not residing in Singapore. Rights documents will not be dispatched to any overseas address to avoid violation of any securities legislation of foreign countries. If you are overseas, you can appoint an agent or attorney in Singapore to subscribe to the entitlement on your behalf.

If you do not have a Singapore or Rights mailing address, the listed company will proceed to credit your entitlements into an omnibus sub-account with an appointed merchant bank. The bank will sell off your entitlements during the trading period and distribute the proceeds to you. Some companies, however, may reserve the right not to forward the proceeds if the amount is negligible for the processing to be cost-effective.

So, what do you do once you receive the documents? Should you subscribe or sell your entitlements – you decide:

Ÿ Subscribe via ATM or manually. The quicker and cheaper method would be to do it electronically via the ATM. If there are excess rights, you can subscribe in excess of the quantity you are entitled to. Once the exercise period is over, CDP will credit your securities account within 2 weeks.

Ÿ Sell your entitlements during the trading window of seven business days.

However, if you do not take any action by the closing date, your entitlements become useless.

How do I know if I will receive any of these entitlements?

Check with your broker if the shares are being traded on a "cum" (with) and "ex" (without) basis. These terms will be linked with one of the terms (such as cum-dividend or ex-rights) to tell you whether the shares come with or without these entitlements.

Perisher

Examples here.
can sum1 without the shares buy the renouncable rights?

tempted to buy in just for the rights issue.

Yes you can, there will be a counter created called CCT R, which you can buy to have that entitlement to subscribe for the rights.

So let's say a CCT shareholders with 1000 shares holds till Ex rights, he will get 166 CCT R which can be sold in the market if he doesn't wanna subscribe to the rights. If u buy from him, you are entitled to the rights.

what happens when u key in excess amount of rights you are entitled to in dbs atm?
my stocks are in cdp, i over key in my rights entitlement amount in DBS atm.

entitlement amt is 1050 rights for the shares, but i keyed in 1150 shares.

then i oversubscribe additional 850 shares.

what happens to the additional amount i paid for the 100 shares? do i need to call dbs for help or auto refunded back to me? pls advise
i recalled my mom over applied her entitlement. She got her original entitlement and the rest refunded.

she did not apply for excess rights seperately

Only the extra 100 will be refunded. But not sure when though. Probably after the entire rights application is closed.

Your original 1050 rights will still go through.

Excess rights of cos will depend on allocation.

Perisher

what about those using SRS/CPF-IS account?

This is ocbc's example
https://portal.iocbc.com/help-and-support/srs-trades.html

Rights entitlement
You can use your SRS funds for rights subscription provided that you have sufficient SRS funds and have not reached your SRS contribution cap if you are going to top up your SRS account. Kindly contact your SRS agent bank directly for more information.

If you are entitled to rights in your SRS Account and wish to sell off the rights entitlement, please take note to:
a) Provide us with your SRS Account number
b) Select “SRS” mode for your sell order

Paul Lee posted this,
http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.co...ices-92/cambridge-rights-issue-3138882-2.html
Yes. Wait for the letter. The instructions for using SRS to apply for rights should be in the OIS.

Quote:
Unitholders with SRS accounts must use, subject to applicable SRS rules and regulations, monies standing to the credit of their respective SRS accounts to pay for the acceptance of their Rights Entitlements and (if applicable) application for Excess Rights Units.

Such Unitholders who wish to accept their Rights Entitlements and (if applicable) apply for Excess Rights Units using SRS monies, must instruct the relevant banks in which they hold their SRS accounts to accept their Rights Entitlements and (if applicable) apply for Excess Rights Units on their behalf in accordance with this Offer Information Statement. Such Unitholders who have insufficient funds in their SRS accounts may, subject to the SRS contribution cap, deposit cash into their SRS accounts with their approved banks to enable them to subscribe for their Rights Entitlements and (if applicable) apply for Excess Rights Units.

Kinetic88

https://www.drwealth.com/what-is-a-rights-issue/
Companies can raise money in a few ways. They can borrow from the bank or raise money from existing shareholders through rights issues. They can also issue other debt securities like corporate bonds, warrants etc.

When a company issue rights, the announcement will be something like this, “1 rights share for every 2 ordinary shares at $1”. This means that every shareholder will be entitled 1 rights share for every 2 shares that they owned. The shareholder can choose to subscribe to the rights and pay $1 for each share. At the end of the rights issue, the company will use the proceeds to fund the activity that she has promised to do.

As one of my stocks (Blumont) was involved in a Rights Issue recently, I find it easier to explain the procedure using this example.

The board of directors have to seek approval for the rights issue from the shareholders during the AGM. This is an opportunity for shareholders to ask the reasons for issuing rights and question if there are better funding options. Most importantly, figure out the management’s intent to issue rights. The rights issue was approved during Blumont’s AGM on 22 Apr 13.

Investing_Your_First__20K
[Free Ebook] How should you invest your first $20,000?
We asked 14 Singapore finance bloggers to share what they would do if they could go back in time and invest their first $20,000. They can no longer rewind time, but you can learn from their experience and hopefully start with a better footing.

Learn Now
(Day 98) 29 Jul 13 – Announcement of Rights Issue

Blumont announced and released the rights issue details. The company set the limit of 861,002,293 additional shares to be converted from the rights. Each rights share will cost $0.05 and each shareholder is entitled to 1 rights share for every two ordinary shares.

The company also added that this is a non-underwritten and renounceable rights issue.

Non-underwritten means that the company has not engaged an investment bank to structure this deal which most companies would do so.

Renounceable and non-renounceable rights

Renounceable rights will be listed on the SGX and shareholders can sell the rights to other investors. These rights will have a separate counter name. In Blumont’s case, they have Blumont R and Blumont R500 (in lots of 500 rights). Non-renounceable rights are not listed on the exchange and hence, these rights cannot be traded. The rights will be converted to ordinary shares and deposited in the CDP account after a certain date if the shareholder subscribes to the issue. Thereafter, the shareholder can choose to sell the additional shares.

(Day 119) 20 Aug 13 – SGX approval-in-principle for the listing of rights

Blumont have successfully sought approval from SGX to list the renounceable rights.

(Day 136) 6 Sep 13 – Announcing Book Closure Date

Blumont announced 23 Sep 13, 5pm, as the deadline for accounting the list of share holders for the rights issue.

(Day 149) 19 Sep 13 – Ex-Rights

Blumont went Ex-Rights on 19 Sep 13. New buyers of Blumont shares after this date will not be entitled any rights. Shareholders can sell Blumont shares after 19 Sep 13 and still receive the rights in their account.

(Day 155) 25 Sep 13 – Offer Information Sheet (OIS)

OIS will provide details on the trading of the rights shares. Shareholders should pay attention to the important dates like the trading period of the rights.

(Day 156) 26 Sep 13 – Listing of Rights and trading commences

Blumont R and Blumont R500 began trading on 26 Sep 13. These are known as ‘nil-paid’ rights because shareholders have yet to pay for them. Rights holders can sell these rights to other investors.

Usually the share price would drop after a rights issue because there are going to be more shares created. Blumont share price should be about $1.67 after the dilution of shares but it continued to go up to $2.43 on 27 Sep 13. Blumont rights also caught up with the price and listed at a price of $2.10. Considering the rights share only cost $0.05, 4,100% gain for the rights holders! This is an unusual scenario and investors should not take every rights issue as positive news. There must be something valuable about Blumont that shareholders are buying up the shares and the rights.

(Day 164) 4 Oct 13 – Trading of Rights ceases

Blumont R and Blumont R500 cease trading and rights holders are finalised.

(Day 170) 10 Oct 13 – Payment of rights shares

Rights holders to subscribe and pay for the rights shares.

(Day 182) 22 Oct 13 – Crediting and trading of rights shares commences

The rights are converted to shares and credited to the rights holders. The additional shares are traded over the exchange.

tks mod for the free educational tutorial. :s12:

but hor, cut and paste duplicated. :D

homer123

If I am overseas and I cannot pay for my right via an ATM.. What is my option?

homer123

http://www.sias.org.sg/beginnerguide/05_P3.php
If you are overseas, you can appoint an agent or attorney in Singapore to subscribe to the entitlement on your behalf.

So I suppose, your agent bank/brokers can help you subscribe.
Can I appoint my broker as an agent ? If I don't have any option to exercise my right issue.. do you think it is better to sell first and then buy back when the right issue goes ex?

Perisher

Can I appoint my broker as an agent ? If I don't have any option to exercise my right issue.. do you think it is better to sell first and then buy back when the right issue goes ex?

Hard to say... usually XR, it will fall, but looking at manulife reits' recent rights example... Can only say decisions is up to you.

badsector

This is ocbc's example
https://portal.iocbc.com/help-and-support/srs-trades.html

Rights entitlement
You can use your SRS funds for rights subscription provided that you have sufficient SRS funds and have not reached your SRS contribution cap if you are going to top up your SRS account. Kindly contact your SRS agent bank directly for more information.

If you are entitled to rights in your SRS Account and wish to sell off the rights entitlement, please take note to:
a) Provide us with your SRS Account number
b) Select “SRS” mode for your sell order

Paul Lee posted this,
http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.co...ices-92/cambridge-rights-issue-3138882-2.html

what if you have reach annual SRS cap and can't top up more fund into SRS.
Can use cash?

Perisher

Can use cash?

I read somewhere, it's possible to use cash but you probably need to google or ask the agent you are using for more accurate information.
I don't use SRS or CPF for rights so far.

limchooc

Can use cash?

This is the reason why it is best NOT to use SRS fund for those potential stock or REIT that may raise fund through right issue later.

Layers

This is the reason why it is best NOT to use SRS fund for those potential stock or REIT that may raise fund through right issue later.
same for CPFIS

Sent from Samsung SM-N950F using GAGT

Perisher

Perisher, need your advice.. I have a reit CR today? Does that mean I can go to the ATM to press for right application?

I haven’t had rights issue for some time, here are some answers by a few members

“Need to do before 9pm at atm unless got posb(ibanking?)

Once it's xr then the share price will drop

There will be a time according to the rights time table to subscribe to the rights

XR then base on timeline go press

If renouncable rights can sell nil rights on market if dun want to take up”

homer123

I have not had a right issues for decades as well.. Just found out from SGX announcement on my right issue timeline. Still can't figure out when it is available for take up via ATM.. Guess , I might have to sell everything since I am going overseas long term again.

Event Date and Time

Notice of Rights Issue Books Closure Date to determine rights entitlements 15 November 2018

Last day of “cum-rights” trading for the Rights Issue
20 November 2018

First day of “ex-rights” trading for the Rights Issue
21 November 2018

Rights Issue Books Closure Date 23 November 2018 at 5.00 p.m.

Lodgement of the Offer Information Statement with
the MAS 23 November 2018

Despatch of Offer Information Statement (together with the Entitlement Letter) to Eligible Unitholders
28 November 2018

Commencement of trading of Rights Entitlements 28 November 2018 from 9.00 a.m.

Last day of trading of Rights Entitlements 6 December 2018 at 5.00 p.m.

Closing Date:
Last date and time for acceptance of the Rights Entitlements and payment for Rights Units 12 December 2018 at 9.30 p.m.

Last date and time for application and payment for excess Rights Units 12 December 2018 at 9.30 p.m.
I haven’t had rights issue for some time, here are some answers by a few members

“Need to do before 9pm at atm unless got posb(ibanking?)

Once it's xr then the share price will drop

There will be a time according to the rights time table to subscribe to the rights

XR then base on timeline go press

If renouncable rights can sell nil rights on market if dun want to take up”

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.