Unique Melody Appreciation Thread

Rubick

Yeap, was there with Dennis28288. Then saw Weng, chatted a bit.
Also tried 3DD, Philips Fidelio S2 & Intruder.

3DD was unfortunately epic fail for me, perhaps I had too high hopes for it.
The timbre is quite off, to me it sounded unnatural and too echoy.
Mids sounded recessed and there is a V shaped frequency.
Merlin definitely sounds more refined and with a wider genre bandwith.

The Philip S2 is a huge surprise.
At $199, I felt it sounds way above its asking price.
Technicalities aside, the S2 sounded very musical, yet the clarity and details are good enough with audiophile recordings.
The metal body looks durable enough.
Definitely worth a look and listen if anyone is looking for a sub $200 IEM.

Finally, tried the Intruder with DX100 and my Miracle.
Personally felt that the Intruder is a slight departure from the usual RSA house signature.
It didn't sounded as dark and intimate as the usual RSA amps.
Imaging was good and overall, it added around 15% improvement to DX100.
But for me, 15% improvement for $900+ is still not sufficient.
Not to mention I'm not a double quarter pounder kinda guy.

All in all, pretty good visit.
And Elene's customer service is very good. Thumbs up!

i tink the most impt thing zhubajie will see from ur comment is the last line :s13::s13::s13:
tried the 3dd earlier also. don think it is worth the price also. u got try other filter?

Guan22

i tink the most impt thing zhubajie will see from ur comment is the last line :s13::s13::s13:
tried the 3dd earlier also. don think it is worth the price also. u got try other filter?

Tried bass & normal filter nia.
Buey sai. Cannot make it.
Mightily disappointed.

LOL. Just happened to be served by Elene nia.
Pure coincidence.

Rubick

Tried bass & normal filter nia.
Buey sai. Cannot make it.
Mightily disappointed.

LOL. Just happened to be served by Elene nia.
Pure coincidence.

Later u stab in the back we will know who did it lol.
The idea of those filter is interesting. But the sound is meh

weng

Yeap, was there with Dennis28288. Then saw Weng, chatted a bit.
Also tried 3DD, Philips Fidelio S2 & Intruder.

3DD was unfortunately epic fail for me, perhaps I had too high hopes for it.
The timbre is quite off, to me it sounded unnatural and too echoy.
Mids sounded recessed and there is a V shaped frequency.
Merlin definitely sounds more refined and with a wider genre bandwith.

The Philip S2 is a huge surprise.
At $199, I felt it sounds way above its asking price.
Technicalities aside, the S2 sounded very musical, yet the clarity and details are good enough with audiophile recordings.
The metal body looks durable enough.
Definitely worth a look and listen if anyone is looking for a sub $200 IEM.

Finally, tried the Intruder with DX100 and my Miracle.
Personally felt that the Intruder is a slight departure from the usual RSA house signature.
It didn't sounded as dark and intimate as the usual RSA amps.
Imaging was good and overall, it added around 15% improvement to DX100.
But for me, 15% improvement for $900+ is still not sufficient.
Not to mention I'm not a double quarter pounder kinda guy.

All in all, pretty good visit.
And Elene's customer service is very good. Thumbs up!

You forgot to mention ad2000x!

adequate

Nice, all the rich kor kor comes out to comment about 3dd. Not that bad lar, don't like also don't bash it until like that lar. haha

Guan22

Nice, all the rich kor kor comes out to comment about 3dd. Not that bad lar, don't like also don't bash it until like that lar. haha

Not rich. And not bashing. Just reporting as how I heard it.

Philips Fidelio S2 is $199, yet I enjoyed it more than the 3DD.
Go figure..

If a product is good, then its good.
If its not, I'll not sugarcoat my words.

Taeyeonie

Went to PS for dinner earlier today but no 3DD in stereo ps :( Wonder how it sounds like.

Phen8210

honestly speaking hor, i think the sound is not so problematic la.
But because its from UM and its priced @ $599, people expect alot more xD.
And frankly speaking $599 is pretty ex for this type of SQ.
It's pretty unique, but i won't say its unnatural cos i've not really heard any weird peaks and stuff.

Maybe someone that has a different taste will like it although it really sucks =P.

weng

honestly speaking hor, i think the sound is not so problematic la.
But because its from UM and its priced @ $599, people expect alot more xD.
And frankly speaking $599 is pretty ex for this type of SQ.
It's pretty unique, but i won't say its unnatural cos i've not really heard any weird peaks and stuff.

Maybe someone that has a different taste will like it although it really sucks =P.

Lol.. Yala sound is still subjective after all. When i was there the girl beside me was testing beats, a few models somemore. I so feel like suggesting to her what better cans she can get for that kind of money. But i never la. Maybe she really like the sound leh? :D.

Anyway no la not the peaks and stuff. Everything is actually quite smooth. It's how the sound sounds, eg the drums don't sound the same, the whatever instruments sound different from other iems this sort of thing :D

Phen8210

maybe my expectations not so high :/, cos i've heard really unnatural stuff xD.

weng

i always try all my fren earphones when they get new one, so i happen to hear a few lor.
Can say it's worst then beats LOL..
literally ear bleed ..
lol... worse than beats... that i'll really be interested to know what they are :s13:

Phen8210

i think something like that not 100% sure , didn't last 10 sec in my ears.
SENN-CX-310-2.jpg

doki81

i think something like that not 100% sure , didn't last 10 sec in my ears.
SENN-CX-310-2.jpg

wah..nice one le...this one for hardcore adidas supporter :)

may i know the UM Merlin can do universal fit one or not?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.