Unnecessary thread digging and spamming

KiraX_19

Hi all admins and mods, pls look into this matter as per thread topic.

L7rDOBD.jpg

elg1Gyu.jpg

(some of his posts, in CONTINUOUS form!!)

TTrsVWO.png

(look at how many threads he digged in the morning!!)

many of these threads that this user "up" as seen from the above pictures have zero activities in them or dead in another word...mostly are a few spamming "good morning" etc as a masquerade to '+1' to their post counts

for example the picture above that i highlighted, clearly a dead thread but being 'thread digged' every day for 3 times, user articated has 1169 posts and the next highest poster helix17 is only 201
1st and 2nd poster almost 600% difference, where did they go to? not discussion or whatsoever chatting, only redundant and recurring "good ....." posts!!

therefore in my eyes i see this user articated is akin to thread diggers like kingpin999 etc with a standard ':s12::s12::s12::s12:' to dig certain threads.
im sure this user articated had simply evaded the mods and admins eyes as his replies seemed harmless. but after reading into it in detail i reckon its a tad bit excessive....very excessive in fact to an alarming point that i need to raise this issue here as i believe this behavior is a disease. user articated is not the only one doing it but he's clearly leading the pack.

mods and admins pls address into this matter and would like to know if this posting behavior is tolerated in the forum or not. thank you and more good years ahead.

hwzadmin

Dear Member,

We appreciate your report. The thread [Official h3lix17 Fan Club] - www.hardwarezone.com.sg was started by the member articated and it is his prerogative to bump it. The following screenshot shows that the reported member does contribute to the forums on the whole.
rlkhut.jpg

Actions are not required to be taken against the reported member for these reasons.

KiraX_19

Dear Member,

We appreciate your report. The thread [Official h3lix17 Fan Club] - www.hardwarezone.com.sg was started by the member articated and it is his prerogative to bump it. The following screenshot shows that the reported member does contribute to the forums on the whole.
rlkhut.jpg

Actions are not required to be taken against the reported member for these reasons.

[Official h3lix17 Fan Club] - www.hardwarezone.com.sg is only an example, one of the many threads that he bump up...as shown in the picture he bumped up many threads in the morning. thats his bookmarked list.
mostly have little to zero recent activities in them.

so do you mean if hes the threadstarter he's free to bump dead thread everyday 3 times to increase his post counts? if he starts 1000 threads but nobody replies and he bump it up 3 times a day, thats 3000 post counts of "good morning" per day, 90,000 post counts per month of redundant posts in the forum...is tolerated?

i'm not complaining that he is not contributing at all but simply(your screenshot has 5 normal posts, but mine has 3 pages(60 posts) of "good mornings":s8:) his "good morning" is simply too excessive, if you even bother to browse through his posting history. i would say more than 50% of his posts can actually "good morning" "good evening" rather than actual discussion and talking.

so in your terms, if i substitute "good morning" with ":s12::s12::s12:", is that tolerated? he has 70k post counts, 35k of it which are ":s12::s12::s12:", is OK? is this the moderating standard of HWZ? so why is user like kingpin999 banned?

i plead dr.vijay to look into this. thank u

hwzadmin

Dear Member,

If you were to compare posts made by kingpin999

30cu0ex.jpg

and articated,
rlkhut.jpg

The first screenshot indicates an indiscriminate spamming reported by several members: :s12::s12::s12: replies posted across a variety of threads.

However, member articated has not done that across different threads. We have nonetheless taken your report into consideration and have closed the thread [Official h3lix17 Fan Club] - www.hardwarezone.com.sg with immediate effect to prevent members from bumping it.

hwzadmin

Dear Member,

We appreciate the effort you have taken to capture the member's postings and meticulously reported them in this thread.

However, we also need to inform you that there are members in the thread {GSSGT}If i get 50 likes i will go feedback section and BK this edmwer articated!! - Page 6 - www.hardwarezone.com.sg who do not share identical sentiments with you

like this also wanna bk...

Let it go la. He didnt hurt or harm you in any way did he?

Hello threadstarter,

There's nothing wrong for "articated" to post greetings in his frequently visited or popular threads.

Why are you complaining ?

jin boliao, like that also want dig.

like that also want to bk. Eat too full liao :(

i'm not the only one who has felt this way.

{GSSGT}If i get 50 likes i will go feedback section and BK this edmwer articated!! - www.hardwarezone.com.sg

in this thread i have garnered more than 10 people's likes sharing their same sentiment with me.

thank u for you time

KiraX_19

Dear Member,

If you were to compare posts made by kingpin999

30cu0ex.jpg

and articated,
rlkhut.jpg

The first screenshot indicates an indiscriminate spamming reported by several members: :s12::s12: replies posted across a variety of threads.

However, member articated has not done that across different threads. We have nonetheless taken your report into consideration and have closed the thread [Official h3lix17 Fan Club] - www.hardwarezone.com.sg with immediate effect to prevent members from bumping it.

good start good start, i will easily find more threads other than [Official h3lix17 Fan Club] - www.hardwarezone.com.sg, there are plenty more.

from my understand, bumper like kingpin usually target a certain group of threads, example keyword with 'taiwan' etc.
for me, articated is no different, he usually bumps thread that are 'fan club' etc, many of which are close to zero activities for many many days, if you bother to look into it, you will see it. there are more 10 other users agree with me as shown in my thread.

with all due respect, hwzadmin, it seem you have not address whats the difference with ":s12::s12:" versus "good morning" "good evening"
as we see in my screenshot almost not 5 posts but 60posts of CONTINUOUS "good morning"..if its not akin to spamming i do not know what does it mean. and 60posts is just a few pages that i browsed, there are definitely more than 60 posts maybe 20k is a rough estimate, 20k posts worth of "good mornings" dont sound joke to you?
how many of his posts are senseless "good mornings"? you are the admin you should know, dont you?

Does it do justice to other contributors, high supremacy members, honorary members, putting in effort and thoughts in their posts.
for example LxIxVxE, provided TV screenshots, how much effort was put it
-a considerable well size HDD to record TV drama
-upon request, LxIxVxE searches his database and find exact timing of show to screenshot
-upload image to website and share
compared to simply posting "good mornings" in his BOOKMARKED LIST
-type 'good morning' and post
-wait 15s copy and paste
-bump 20 threads, 3 times per day..+60 post counts by doing nothing: profit!!!
even a ordinary post, people do put in even their slightest intellect into it. "good morning" is simply a "+1"

Pls show some consistency in moderating,
-i feel this is some grey area that this user is exploiting
-this is too excessive post count whoring to a point of spamming. nobody put in any discussion for many many days or weeks. simply an avenue '+1'
-unnecessary thread digging
-unknown figure of his posts are "good morning", good estimate is 20K(would inquire admin for this answer)

if this behvior is condoned in the forums, i foresee more and more people doing it and abusing this grey area to increase post counts. to me its dead right spamming.

dear admin, have you miss this picture that i posted?
elg1Gyu.jpg

KiraX_19

Dear Hwzadmin,

from you reply above, can you give me a guarantee, your final word here if i do the same i will be protected by you.
you give me your word i will do exactly like user articated in the future to Post count *****.
elg1Gyu.jpg

what is the threshold for this? if you can absolutely give your word that THIS IS ALLOWED, i will screenshot, i will do the same and i will rest my case forever.
also please give us a figure how many of user articated posts are "good morning" etc, there are more than 10 users behind me on this.

with all due respect, thank you for your hard work.

hwzadmin

Dear Member,

Please post the urls of the threads and the posts that the articated has spammed in here and we will take necessary action. Apologies for missing this picture.

elg1Gyu.jpg

KiraX_19

Dear Member,

Please post the urls of the threads and the posts that the articated has spammed in here and we will take necessary action. Apologies for missing this picture.

Dear admin,

i have found this threads to have excessive spamming.

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...ut-all-ur-r-s-problems-part-12-a-3880488.html
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/michtionary-alto-sexplained-3831041.html
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...20-30-years-old-chit-chat-thread-4103453.html
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/sexpose-ur-fb-c-here-4163318.html
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...chen-show-mao-analysis-part-17-a-4187709.html
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/[fan-club]-lchf-lifestyle-4131414.html
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...ingles-[l]onely-[r]ant-part-11-a-4127871.html
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/nmnhnlm-ppl-lip-lai-part-13-a-4138190.html
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...-chat-me-*red-ice-pooh*-part-2-a-3988644.html
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/[official-gua-chia-club-k-gcc]-4005712.html
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...our-life-fitness-thread-part-2-a-4148838.html
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/[official]-articated-fan-club-3911112.html

next i did a simple posts search

20PavTj.jpg

1) using keyword "morning" posted by user "articated"
2) last page of search result(LIMIT OF 500 RESULTS ONLY)
3) Date 05-04-2013

from this we can draw out a simple math calculations
if we combine "morning" + "afternoon" + "evening"
we have 1500 posts (500 x 3) since 05-04-2013
that is about 1 month ago. conservatively put it this way, if he has been doing this for one year. 1500 X 12 = 18000
18k worth of "good morning" akin to "+1" that has evaded the eyes of all mods.
and that is a conservative timeframe, what if its 2 years, 3 years?

would be fantastic if the search result has no limit, then we can clearly see the true number.

also there is a way to bump thread as a rebuttal to your statement of bumping his own thread up.
I will bump it but delete my previous post, as the same i do for any marketplace thread. when i deem it excessive for example i post "up for more views" more than 3 times.
i post a new "up for more view" and simply delete away the previous one that is dated, replacing it becos the purpose it only to bump up the thread and not PCWing.
i reckon all his dated "good morning" posts has to be deleted. it will definitely serve as a stern warning to other members following his footsteps too.

thank you for reading

KiraX_19

Member articated has been banned with immediate effect.
Dear Member,

Thank You for your valuable feedback and posting on behalf of articated. We received a comprehensive report about the member here: Unnecessary thread digging and spamming - www.hardwarezone.com.sg while we do not doubt the veracity of your claims, we cannot condone the member's action- which by definition is spamming.

His ban is temporary and will last another 2 days. Following which, further actions will be taken against him if he continues to do so.

Dear Admin,

thank for the swift action and hard work,
but im disheartened and disappointed upon hearing it is a temporary ban.

the main issue i'm reporting this is because there is a high injustice towards all hardwarezone members/contributors done by this user 'articated', for the fact that his nonchalant attitude and disregard to other forummers by excessively Post-count-whoring using "good morning" "good night" etc to 'plus one'.

as posted above, this user articated "good mornings" postings could go as high as 20K post counts if not beyond.

therefore with all due respect, i highly urge the Admins here could delete his postcounts by half or more. if i remember correctly, there was a similar case that happened few years back involving user UnforgivenVengeance, and due to similar spamming and reports, his post counts was slashed by half by the admin then.
another case involving user Geforce03, in the end his postcounts were resetted to zero by dr.vijay or the admin at edmw.

A 3 day ban would ultimately be unfair and injust to all contributors who put in effort and serious considerations in their postings.

thank you for reading and have a great weekend

YouYongku

Dear Member,

rlkhut.jpg

so you mean TS can bump it without getting infractions?
then when I bump my thread previously because I didnt want to create another thread and I was give 3 points for thread digging :s39:

KiraX_19

Dear Admin,

thank for the swift action and hard work,
but im disheartened and disappointed upon hearing it is a temporary ban.

the main issue i'm reporting this is because there is a high injustice towards all hardwarezone members/contributors done by this user 'articated', for the fact that his nonchalant attitude and disregard to other forummers by excessively Post-count-whoring using "good morning" "good night" etc to 'plus one'.

as posted above, this user articated "good mornings" postings could go as high as 20K post counts if not beyond.

therefore with all due respect, i highly urge the Admins here could delete his postcounts by half or more. if i remember correctly, there was a similar case that happened few years back involving user UnforgivenVengeance, and due to similar spamming and reports, his post counts was slashed by half by the admin then.
another case involving user Geforce03, in the end his postcounts were resetted to zero by dr.vijay or the admin at edmw.

A 3 day ban would ultimately be unfair and injust to all contributors who put in effort and serious considerations in their postings.

thank you for reading and have a great weekend

Up for Admin's reply on this post. thanks for taking time on this, as i understand moderating is free volunteering service for the forums. much appreciated!

hwzadmin

Dear Member,

Please provide further evidence that the reported member has continued making such posts after his ban and new infractions will be issued against him.

Forummers sharing the same sentiment,

MODS WAN SUI! articated the forum pest finally ban liao! - www.hardwarezone.com.sg

the above mentioned threadstarter is not my clone nor are we related.

PFM705E.jpg

personal support by a Great supremacy member through PM, identity protected. able to provide uncensored version if any mod or admin want to see it.

thanks for reading

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.