upgrade to yosemite/mavericks?

ohmagi

HIHI

as you guys know, my macbook pro w retina display bought in late 2014 died on me this jan....... and i'm super upset la.. but bobian life goes on right...

[my mbp specs:
It's a mid - 2014 model. Got it on Aug 2014
Processor: 2.6(?) GHz Intel Core i5
Memory: 8 GB RAM
Software: Mavericks OS X
Storage: 256 GB SSD
13.3 / 13 " with retina display]

Right now currently, i'm using Macbook Air (old one la not new one, i got from my cousin, its lightly used so look like new one)

however, this macbook is.. quite old..... I wanna upgrade to Mavericks but cannot find in App store, apple.com says that unless i upgraded before, i can't get it (but my mbp came w mavericks so.....) means i cannot get right? ( I didn't know it was that old la 2011... if not i would have bought a new one, BUT, i m scare of spoiling it again choy 5 months only t_t)

I'm contemplating whether or not to update it to Yosemite but i'm afraid that this MbAir cannot handle????
But considering its a 2011 MBA, the specs quite ok??? my cousin did some upgrading when he bought it

[Macbook Air Specs - 13 inches - Mid 2011(!! walao 4 years)
Processor: 1.8 Ghz Intel Core i7
Memory: 4GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Graphics: Intel HD Graphics 3000 384MB
Software: Mac OS X Lion 10.7.5
Storage: 256 GB SSD
]

idk leh. t_t quite scare cause i wanna dota 2 then i think like cannot also....
but main point is do you guys think that i should update to yosemite??? I want to but if the performance is going to suck, then i don't want to risk it..

thank you guys!!!! :o

p/s pardon my broken english, as long as you understand what I'm saying!!

VodkaPear

I tot 2014 model macbook still have warranty? u bought urs on aug 14, warranty shld b till aug 15?

petetherock

OS Mavericks is no longer available online, and for an old model, Yosemite is not a good idea, especially with 4Gb ram.

Morugana

mid 2011 just leave the os as it is.
no more mavericks on app store liao

if you wanna try upgrading to yosemite also can.
don't like the performance then just do the reinstallation of mac os.
you will get back os x lion

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.