URGENT HELP NEEDED.

coms159

Not sure where to post this so i posted it here. Sorry if wrong section. I have a Samsung Galaxy Note 2 LTE and i just dropped it into a bucket of water. It can turn on but the screen flickers and dies, which makes it useless. Also i have a cracked screen. Just wondering how much will it costs to get it repaired by samsung as this phone is just half a year old. I had it rooted and installed a custom firmware on it fyi.

Jurong640

Normally if u dropped into the water, do not on it immediately, it could fry the internals. Put it into a packet of rice for a few days to absorb moisture.

As for cracked screen, it should be around 200+.

Moreover, Samsung voids warranty when u root your phone, you need un-root before sending to service ctr

coms159

Oh... i turned it on just now. S*it. The thing is it wont turn on now so how can they check whether isit rooted or not?

p0is0n

U shld google what u shld do when u drop your phone into water. And yes, put inside a pail or packet of uncooked rice for a few days will save it, take out battery, sim card and stylus and let them all soak in uncooked rice separately.

As for sending to samsung, rooted phone wont void your warranty. They dun care. They will unroot it for you if I'm not wrong. But they charge a high price to repair your screen, think most ppl go to ah beng handphone shop to fix it.

Jurong640

Oh... i turned it on just now. S*it. The thing is it wont turn on now so how can they check whether isit rooted or not?

when u turn on phone, there is a yellow triangle right ? That should be the indicator for root.

Wah, your phone suffered double damage, screen crack and water bath.
maybe u should wait a few days and see if can turn on or not.

balzebub

Screen crack and water damage is a double whammy. Both not covered by Samsung warranty. I think you will be better off buying a new phone?

ah hui

I'm guessing the repairs cost is better off buying a new phone. :s22:

renfred89

Every single component needs to be changed. I dont see how you still want to repair it.

Get a new phone liao..

coms159

Will try and let samsung have a look, regarding the screen crack i was told that going to samsung would be cheaper. It cost around 300 when i checked with simlim.

coms159

Anw thanks guys for the help. Will head down to samsung service centres tmr. Hopefully i can geng something out

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.