US Dividends Aristocrats thread

Mr. Wood

Seems like the dividends all are very Low, after 30% WHT it become even lower!

u are very right if your investment horizon is within the next 1 or2 yr.
now S&P500 PE 23. expensive.

but consider the largest dividend aristocrat JNJ, 2008 div $1.93 now is $3.54.
http://financials.morningstar.com/ratios/r.html?t=JNJ&region=usa&culture=en-US
and price up frm ard $60 to now ard $130

not yr FB GOOG TSLA type. but 10 yrs not bad lah.

Mr. Wood

I focus on US and SGX stocks becoz of lower commissions.
there are no custodian fees since I use CDP and TD Ameritrade.

If I use other brokers such as saxo philip and the likes, there is a high broker commission and I hav to trade frequently or hav a min balance to get the custodian fees waived.

not my type.

if anyone knows of broker with very low fees, or any other markets with no tax on dividends or capital gains. pls let me know.
will be happy to search for free stocks analysis and share.

Belle69

I wish I had a thread like this 1 year ago.

Made so many costly mistakes.

Mr. Wood

I wish I had a thread like this 1 year ago.

Made so many costly mistakes.

remember to position size and diversify.
dun anyhow listen to course sellers and show hand.

even these dividends blue chips i will slowly buy. now is expensive.

choosemyusernameforme

buy and hold

Hi Mr Wood,

Chanced upon this thread after reading Get Rich With Dividends by Marc Litchenfeld and learning about aristocrats stocks.

I am interested in how you build a US dividend portfolio in sg as the 30% withholding tax and Forex risks makes it unappealing. Do you mind sharing how long have you invested and how are the yields so far?

Do you enroll in the dividend reinvestment programme for your US stocks as well?

Mr. Wood

PROSPECTUS SUPPLEMENT
(To Prospectus dated September 23, 2019)
Up to $1,500,000,000 Common Stock

Nov. 8, 2019

The Offering
Issuer Duke Energy Corporation

Shares of Common Stock Offered From Time to Time
Shares of our common stock, par value $0.001 per share, having an aggregate sales price of up to $1,500,000,000.

Use of Proceeds
We currently intend to use the net proceeds that we receive upon the issuance and sale of shares of our common stock by us to or through the sales agents for general corporate purposes.

in this era where banks can loan at low interest, why wud they want to issue shares to raise money? :s22:

Mr. Wood

EU Stops the Clock on Review of Boeing Deal With Embraer
November 11, 2019

The European Commission has been investigating the venture, warning that the deal could remove Embraer as the third-largest global competitor to both Boeing and Airbus SE, which “may therefore result in higher prices and less choice.” The commission, one of the world’s toughest merger regulators, said Monday that it “stopped the clock” and a review can only be restarted once it gets the answers it needs.

democracy is not perfect. at least it has some measures to protect pple (politics aside).
communist rely on one man rule. but it has power to push through policies (corruption aside)

Mr. Wood

Hi Mr Wood,

Chanced upon this thread after reading Get Rich With Dividends by Marc Litchenfeld and learning about aristocrats stocks.

I am interested in how you build a US dividend portfolio in sg as the 30% withholding tax and Forex risks makes it unappealing. Do you mind sharing how long have you invested and how are the yields so far?

Do you enroll in the dividend reinvestment programme for your US stocks as well?

hi there,

i wanted to diversify anyway. so forex is not a concern. whether i buy unit trusts, ETF, or property, there will be forex risk anyway.
my main concern is whether the broker charge custodian and inactivity fees anot. sometimes i can dun trade in months if there are no opportunities.

started ard 2017. had not calculate the overall yield. estimate maybe 2-3%.
currently is abt 2% DY. which is nothing compared to SG riets.
but my game is long term 10-20-30 yrs. so even with 30% tax, i will wait to get more divys in future. SG reits dunno nxt time will delist or not.

not in their reinvestment program. i prefer to take the money and invest in the best yielding stock at the time. but oso i think not all stocks hav this. dunno. hav to check with yr broker.

Mr. Wood

Advance Auto Parts Reports Third Quarter 2019 Results
November 12, 2019

Net Sales Increased 1.6% to $2.3B; Comparable Store Sales Increased 1.2%
Operating Income Increased 11.7% to $172.3M; Adjusted Operating Income Increased 5.9% to $205.1M
Diluted EPS Increased 12.2% to $1.75; Adjusted Diluted EPS Increased 11.1% to $2.10
Announces Additional $700.0M Share Repurchase Authorization

"The Advance team, including our network of Independent Partners, delivered our sixth consecutive quarter of net sales
growth in the third quarter as a result of our unrelenting focus on the Customer. We also expanded margins and remained
highly disciplined in our approach to cost reduction," said Tom Greco, President and Chief Executive Officer. "In addition to our performance improvements and margin expansion, we continue to invest in critical information technology and supply chain initiatives that are expected to unlock significant productivity over the next several years. Notably, our working capital improvements were driven by our focus on cash management across the board. I am confident in our teams’ ability to drive additional sales and margin progress. We are on track to deliver record free cash flow, resulting in a substantial year over year increase in 2019 versus the prior year. Consistent with our commitment to drive significant value growth for our shareholders, I am also pleased to announce an additional $700.0 million share repurchase authorization."

almost everyone doing share repurchase.

Mr. Wood

Mr. Wood

T. Rowe Price Group Reports Preliminary Month-End Assets Under Management For October 2019
Nov 12, 2019

T. Rowe Price Group, Inc. (NASDAQ-GS: TROW) today reported preliminary month-end assets under management of $1.15 trillion as of October 31, 2019. Client transfers from mutual funds to other portfolios, including trusts and separate accounts, were $1.1 billion in October 2019 and $20.6 billion for the year-to-date period ended October 31, 2019.

smart money moving away frm equities?
:s22:

Mr. Wood

Invesco Ltd. Announces October 31, 2019 Assets Under Management
Nov 11, 2019

Invesco Ltd. (NYSE: IVZ) today reported preliminary month-end assets under management (AUM) of $1,195.2 billion, an increase of 0.9% versus previous month-end. The increase was driven by favorable market returns, foreign exchange, and reinvested distributions, partially offset by outflows in long-term AUM, money market, and non-management fee earning AUM. FX increased AUM by $5.0 billion. Preliminary average total AUM for the quarter through October 31 were $1,184.2 billion, and preliminary average active AUM for the quarter through October 31 were $906.1 billion.

net outflow

Mr. Wood

Mr. Wood

Abbott Announces Robert B. Ford to Succeed Miles D. White as Chief Executive Officer on March 31, 2020
Nov 13, 2019
Mr. Ford will become the 13th CEO of Abbott in its 131-year history, all having been appointed from within the Company, a testament to Abbott's strong management philosophy and succession-planning discipline. Mr. Ford originally joined Abbott in the Company's Diabetes Care business in 1996. He was appointed President and Chief Operating Officer in October 2018.

this kind of strong management culture can hold for another 100yrs.

Mr. Wood

U.S. Bancorp Receives Approval from Federal Reserve Board of Governors for Additional Capital Distribution
November 12, 2019
As a result, the company’s board of directors has approved an authorization, effective immediately, to repurchase up to $2.5 billion of its outstanding common stock, which is incremental to its current authorization of up to $3 billion. The stock may be repurchased in the open market or in privately negotiated transactions through June 30, 2020. The acquired shares will be held as treasury shares and may be reissued for various corporate purposes.

“This capital distribution reflects our ability to prudently manage capital as we respond to changes in the regulatory landscape, while continuing to invest in our future,” said Andy Cecere, chairman, president and CEO of U.S. Bancorp.

Mr. Wood

Nike breaks up with Amazon
Nov. 13, 2019

Retail unease? Signals suggest the company is going even more aggressively after e-commerce sales following the hiring of ex-eBay chief executive officer John Donahoe as its next CEO.

online selling? unless it is collectables. still prefer to wear and test before buying.
but this is me old unker. new gen maybe diff :s22:

Mr. Wood

RH shares surge after Warren Buffett’s Berkshire Hathaway reveals new stake in furniture retailer
NOV 14 2019

KEY POINTS

Berkshire Hathaway reveals a new stake in RH, formerly known as Restoration Hardware.

Warren Buffett’s conglomerate also added a new investment in Occidental Petroleum worth around $332 million.

Berkshire decreased its stake in Wells Fargo by 7.7% to about 378 million shares.

Unless u can sit in front of the computer every day, scroll through the news everyday, like a pro, u will probly like me oso miss out on this news and boat alrdy left.

but it is ok for me. I look at long term and wait for another boat. if all boats left until I retire, then at least i did not lose money in the market.

Mr. Wood

NVIDIA Announces Financial Results for Third Quarter Fiscal 2020

November 14, 2019

“Our gaming business and demand from hyperscale customers powered Q3’s results,“ said Jensen Huang, founder and CEO of NVIDIA. “The realism of computer graphics is taking a giant leap forward with NVIDIA RTX.

“This quarter, we have laid the foundation for where AI will ultimately make the greatest impact. We extended our reach beyond the cloud, to the edge, where GPU-accelerated 5G, AI and IoT will revolutionize the world’s largest industries. We see strong data center growth ahead, driven by the rise of conversational AI and inference.”

The company will return to repurchasing its stock after closing the acquisition of Mellanox Technologies, Ltd. Although discussions with the European Union and China regulatory bodies are progressing and closing the acquisition is possible by the end of this calendar year, the company believes the closing will likely occur in the early part of calendar 2020.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.