i just realised i might ahve a problem
i am landing at JFK T4 at 11am and need to transit to a delta flight to chicago at 1245pm.
thats 1hr 45 minutes connection time... not sure if i can make it.. any advice?
i am landing at JFK T4 at 11am and need to transit to a delta flight to chicago at 1245pm.
You're going to be extremely tight - you'll have to clear customs, grab your bag (possibly), and then get to your next flight. If you get picked up by customs or your bag gets delayed or anything you're going to blow your connection. I'd move your DL flight back by an hour if you can.
JFK gives this orange express ticket to passengers who can show that they have a connection within a certain time frame (not sure if its 1h, can't rmb) so you can skip to the front of all queues.yo all
I have just booked my tickets even though still got about 8 months away. my itinerary:
travel dates: 19th Dec 2014 - 3rd jan 2015
international
sin - jfk (via nrt)
las - nrt (via sfo)
nrt - sin
booked via united air, except for las - sfo, the rest of the flights are codeshare flights; operated by ana. cost is 2130sgd.
domestic
jfk - las
booked via aa, cost is abt 340sgd.
I got one qns, on my eticket for all the codeshare flight segments (international), there is a covering sentence that says "If this is an originating flight on your itinerary, please check in at the ana ticket counter."
does it simply mean I check in at ana counter at changi airport and narita?
and do u tink I can go ana office at robinson road and try to do advance seat selection? anyone done that in such similar situation?
thanks.
Yo all, now i planning my itinerary and budget allocation, would like some advice below.
Complusory spending = meals
7days in nyc.
I am planning - breakfast 20usd, lunch 30usd & dinner 50usd for one day. Perhaps some sandwich from pret a manger, some american food for lunch and dinner. Maybe one or two fancy rest if possible for the whole duration.
Is the above budget allocation ok?
I am going vegas as well, can i use the same budget as above?
In pret a manger or subway rest., do i still need to give tip? Or what kind of places do i need to tip? 15% is it ok?
And anyone know roughly the cost of groceries in nyc? Like the cost of litre of mineral water and a litre of juice? Thanks for advice!
Thats a lot of money for food! Lol
Depends on what u eat.
A subway sandiwch maybe $6?
Chinatown is cheaper, around say $8 for fried rice and $5 or porridge or wonton noodles.
Pizza slice is jsut a few dollars.
Vegas u can check out the buffets which they are famous for.
The $20+ buffets offer some great food.
There are cheaper ones too.
Dont need to give tips where there is no sitdown service.
Eg at subway, mcd
Sitdown restaurants where there is a server require tips but not buffet.
15% is ok.
Taxis expect some small tips.
At restaurants, u can ask for free water, dont have to pay.
I dun mind saving for other things but i like eat so dun mind spurge abit. I tot i was already being conservative in my meal budget already.
Anyway i dun mind eating sandwiches for breakfast but for lunch and dinner i would like to sit down and eat proper
I am travelling solo, so it make sense to stay near busy and rowdy intersection? Then is staying at times sq the best option? U all got any location to intro? Herald sq there ok mah?
Then i got a morning 0730hr flight from jfk to las, if trying not to take taxi, then it means tat i either have to take E line or LIRR depending where i am at around wee hours of 0300hr. Is it going to be dangerous at the subway in this hour ie like tio mugged or something like tat?
When i traveled to nyc, i usually used the shuttle bus service to/from airport.
It is a shared ride w other people and they pick u up at the hotel.
Cheaper than taxi.
Dinner at a nice restaurant can be expensive or u can sit at the bar if alone.
Maybe have dinner w other tourists u meet along the way!
Entree/main course at a restaurant is maybe $25 or so, depending.
Then u order a drink and add tips, so around $30 to $35.
Their sushi restaurants are nice but very pricey.
Breakfast, u can go to those diner places where they serve pancakes, eggs n toast type of place.
For around $10, u can eat a ton!
Btw, skip statue of liberty tour if u planned on it.
Not worth it and the queue can be super long.
I think your budget is v comfortable for meals unless u intend to go eat at the high end michelin restaurants or must have alcohol with all your meals. my lunches normally do not exceed USD10 per day. even if go to restaurants with colleagues, normally max is usd20 including tips etc. a lot of nice places have good lunch specials which are v reasonable. pret a manger should not cost you more than usd10 including drinks etc. if you come across them, you might also want to check out the many food trucks. some of them have v good food at reasonable prices. for tips, we normally just double the tax which works out to be about less than 18%. easier to calculate.7days in nyc.
I am planning - breakfast 20usd, lunch 30usd & dinner 50usd for one day. Perhaps some sandwich from pret a manger, some american food for lunch and dinner. Maybe one or two fancy rest if possible for the whole duration.
Is the above budget allocation ok?
I am going vegas as well, can i use the same budget as above?
In pret a manger or subway rest., do i still need to give tip? Or what kind of places do i need to tip? 15% is it ok?
And anyone know roughly the cost of groceries in nyc? Like the cost of litre of mineral water and a litre of juice? Thanks for advice!
agree. just take the free staten island ferry if you want to see the statue of liberty. better view in my opinion.Btw, skip statue of liberty tour if u planned on it.
Not worth it and the queue can be super long.
I used to use super shuttle but that was years ago.
Google and see if there are coupons available.
Quite common to have coupon discounts.
I think your budget is v comfortable for meals unless u intend to go eat at the high end michelin restaurants or must have alcohol with all your meals. my lunches normally do not exceed USD10 per day. even if go to restaurants with colleagues, normally max is usd20 including tips etc. a lot of nice places have good lunch specials which are v reasonable. pret a manger should not cost you more than usd10 including drinks etc. if you come across them, you might also want to check out the many food trucks. some of them have v good food at reasonable prices. for tips, we normally just double the tax which works out to be about less than 18%. easier to calculate.
cost of groceries depends on where you shop. prices in manhatten tends to be more expensive than in the other boroughs but a gallon of milk should not cost more than usd4 and a liter of juice usd3-5 depending on kind of juice n where u buy from. cvs is quite reasonable. duane reade tends to be more ex. supermarkets like whole foods n trader joe's are good. their house brands r v reasonable n quality is quite good.
actually you can eat quite cheaply in NY too. can look out for the $1 pizza slices which are filling and not too bad for the prices.
for airport transfer, I normally go private taxi. cheaper and they can advice on timing that is required to reach airport. we normally use golden horse. apparently its owned by a malaysian. New Golden Horse ???
agree. just take the free staten island ferry if you want to see the statue of liberty. better view in my opinion.
walgreens n duane reade are owned by same people actually. duane reade is a pharmacy but it also sells lots of groceries, makeup, skincare, household stuff etc etc. machiam guardian but bigger rangeok, maybe will just try one or two high end rest. during my whole duration.
thanks for advice, then I know now can safely use this food budget knowing I should have extra money in the end.
I only know got walgreens near times sq where I shd be staying. probably need to check any other nearby supermarts. I tot duane reade is pharmacy hahaha.
actualy I got intent to go v early morning to take the ferry to see the statue & ellis island; the standard touristy thingy. will check this staten island ferry
I joined EU Holidays to visit Vegas, will be staying at Monte Carlo. How much to take a taxi to visit North Outlet?
Tour agent wanna charge us US$12 per head sia, both ways...is it worth it?