US help.

vernon_wmk

Actually most hotels (outside of vegas) allow you to book without deposit, and closer to the date you can review the prices again and see if you want to take on the prepaid rate.

In Vegas most hotels need a deposit for 1 night, but can be cancelled easily if book through their own website if you find better offers closer to the date.

Erwinlow

To add on, those traveling to Vegas, plan your trip in Vegas from a sunday night and check out on fri. Within those few days. Fri/sat the hotel rates can double or even triple.

Sian. Came back fron SF/Vegas/LA only 1month ago. Miss the place so much already!

ctloo13

Sian. Came back fron SF/Vegas/LA only 1month ago. Miss the place so much already![/QUOTE]

Me Too!!!!!!!!!

Erwinlow

Wah piang... Anyone familiar with US traffic laws? Need to set up some FasTrack account to travel on the express lane?!?

cormet

Woah how would I know which is the express lane so I could avoid it? Any clear indication?

fone

Aiya, like ERP thing, but their IU not compulsory in every vehicle. You see toll, then you go out to the cash lane and pay cash to the attendant and not drive through gantry like ERP.

I've never used Cali toll systems yet, used Illinois, tri-state area, NY ones before. Even if I first time go to that state, but with another state's transponder, I also play safe go ask the cash counter see what they say. If can then the next time I just drive through. I tot the fine is just the same as the toll, unlike in sg where you have to pay a fine on top of the ERP money?

patryn33

The fine is not the same as toll, I got fine 2 times in chicago and each charge is over us$100! Luckly for me company pay for them.

fone

I too long nv use toll liao, but nv tio fine before. I always tot if you go online and pay for it like within 10 days, u just get off without extra charges? Maybe different state different.

Erwinlow

Idk leh. There was no toll booths or anyone collecting cash whatsoever. Anyway I could appeal for it? Or should I even try appealing?

57.50usd if I pay by 30/5, pay after that becomes 87.50usd.

devilish_me

for florida....i think need to have the sunpass now. no more cash collection. some toll places....you just toss the coins into a "bin' so you'd require exact change if you wanna take those lanes. for me, before i travel...i always change like tonnes of quarters, dollar bills for tolls and parking.

fone

Ya, as mentioned by devilish_me, there should be at least a lane where you just throw coins into the bin. I used to keep many rolls of quarters in the car with many coins just for parking and tolls. Till I moved to LA, where parking becomes so expensive, I use credit cards and there are no tolls to places where I frequent.

patryn33

Idk leh. There was no toll booths or anyone collecting cash whatsoever. Anyway I could appeal for it? Or should I even try appealing?

57.50usd if I pay by 30/5, pay after that becomes 87.50usd.

when U get fine, the bill goes to rental car company. they just charge your CC.
U are in SG and wanna appeal? Do U mind flying back to show up in court?

patryn33

I too long nv use toll liao, but nv tio fine before. I always tot if you go online and pay for it like within 10 days, u just get off without extra charges? Maybe different state different.

with States so poor these days, they need such kind of money.
how to siam paying more money

alexljy

How easy is it to get city maps in US / Canada region.

Having been to various parts of asia, I know it's easily avaliable at hotel frontdesk etc, but will it be as easy to obtain the free city maps in US? Mainly Vancouver/Seattle/San Fran area.

Erwinlow

Having been to various parts of asia, I know it's easily avaliable at hotel frontdesk etc, but will it be as easy to obtain the free city maps in US? Mainly Vancouver/Seattle/San Fran area.
Can't speak for Vancouver/Seattle.

San Francisco yes. Got them at the airport and my hotel for free.

patryn33

U can get them easily at the airport.
the hotel front desk usually have them too.
else check out the tourist convention centre.

stormcontrol

Hi guys,

Just want to check something with you all. As I understand it, mobile carriers in US predominantly do not use GSM for their 3G networks, ie no sim cards. So how do they work actually? You have to buy a phone from a carrier and it’ll be registered with their network?

Asking because I may be going to Houston for a training stint and want to know if our local smartphones can work there if I purchase a plan from a US carrier =p

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.